We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 Star hotel”
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my first time at this hotel and will certainly not be my last. For a three star hotel the food and service are above ones expectations. The bedrooms are very clean and simple and the views over the estuary are wonderful (not all rooms have a view but it is worth having a room that does).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_A_at_St_Ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Last minute decision to spend a few days in our favourite hotel was a great one! Even the weather was kind - though we didn't partake in our usual hikes over the hills, we were there for the relaxation - some short strolls were energising enough!. Service as good as ever and the food...... even after the Christmas feasts we couldn't resist it. Spoiled by the luxury Marine Room - will now HAVE to have one on every visit :-)

April is but a short time away - hope the weather is kind too as we wend our way back south for another dose of 'our Devon haven'.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although we have stayed at this hotel a great deal over the years my last two reports have been slightly negative. Recently we have been here very regularly and I am very pleased to report only positive news. A warm welcome was received from Mr Garry Woolaway, service from all the staff was excellent, the food much improved and generally a good all round performance.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, as were the rooms taken by other members of the party. On the second day of our stay we had asked the hotel to provide a buffet for between thirty and fifty people andthisthey did very efficiently. Good marks all round

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank AndyStorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived on a Friday afternoon to find the hotel almost empty. This has happened twice out of the last three occasions we have stayed. Our bedroom was small and the double bed very tiny. However this was rectified the next day very efficiently and we were installed in one of the larger suites at no extra cost. Service could be better but the hotel does not seem to attract much evening local trade which it used to. Food quality five out of ten.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AndyStorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Only the one night but very agreeable stay. Friendly welcome on arrival; tea and biscuits served in the residents lounge. The rooms fine with quite spectacular views with a terrace area (ok, it was October, but in the summer would be fantastic).

Dinner and breakfast included in the rate. Both were very good. The service could not have been better.

One thing though not seen in a long time: the bathroom in one of the rooms had carpet; just feels a little bit unclean and musty. However, a minor point and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Front rooms worth the extra (rear rooms smaller, no terrance, overlook the carpark and a flat roof)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslingtonLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our second short break stay here in 5 months as we couldn't wait to return!
This time we paid extra for the estuary view, well worth it even at this time of year.
Ideal location for some stunning autumn walks. The Tarka Trail is easy walking but there are also some more testing walks nearby.
The Hotel, once again, did not disappoint. Couldn't fault it in any way.Food, cleanliness, service and all round hospitality. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break. I believe it is for adults and older children only, but please check this if it is important to you.

Room Tip: Worth paying the bit extra for a view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregory9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is very good, just across the road from a lovely beach with views over the Torridge to Appledore the other side. There is a frequent bus service between Barnstaple and Bideford, which means getting there and going on excursions is do-able without a car.

The hospitality was excellent, friendly greeting, help with bags, a clean, comfortable room with sea views, all meals were excellent, with a very good balance between simpler and more adventurous items, to cater for all tastes, and service in the restaurant and bar efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a bit more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandRCrystalPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
516 reviews
1.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,686 reviews
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,878 reviews
5.1 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing