We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight to visit - a favourite with the whole family.”
Review of The Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wayfarer Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Instow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There is always a consistently warm caring welcome at the Wayfarer. We as a family love to visit. A great success to appeal to three generations! We are also a mixture of fish lovers and vegetarians and carnivores and we all love the food on offer. Vera is a wonder, nothing misses her gimlet eye!
One has to book, understandably the place is very, very popular both with holidaymakers and locals. Winter by the fire or running in from the sand dunes in the summer - it is just a great place to visit. Very laid back atmosphere, nothing is too much trouble for the staff - even bringing in a candlelit birthday cake when they have every table full!
Cannot fault it - nor would I want to.
Would recommend to every age group, coffee during the day with loads of newspapers, to delicious evening meals - the place to be in North Devon
I have never stayed as I am local that is why no rating for rooms etc.

Room Tip: I would ask Vera, the eyes and ears of the Wayfarer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank at_devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice to find a restaurant (pub/inn?!) that is dog friendly ....had a t bone steak first time which was fantastic ...we had 2 meals both great ...try the salt and pepper squid..as a starter ...beer was good as well ...you have to book ..its always busy ..we can see why ...service friendly and attentive

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean10h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights to have a day off since we are travelling over an extended period.
The view over the estuary from our top room, watching the tide go a long way out and return, was just what we needed.
After some time in UK, The Wayfarer's breakfast was the most beautifully cooked yet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2012walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Returned once again for 6 wonderful nights stay at this excellent Inn. We are always made very welcome here, "just like being at home". The food here is unbeleivable and there is no such thing as "small portions" even though you might ask for one. With Vera sat in the 'captains' chair, nothing goes unnoticed when it comes to getting served. The rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated with specatular views from the windows looking out to sea.
As the Inn is only 20yards from the beach, this is the ideal retreat to take a wonderful stroll along the sea front or chill out in the well presented beer garden that even has it's own flat screen television.
We will certainly be staying here for more wonderful holidays in the forseeable future.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms on the front of the inn have magnificent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam_and_Kev-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Wayfarer Inn is a great choice, although not on the beach it is situated up a little lane. There is no parking as such and the whole area is subjected to a 2 hour parking limit. We were very fortunate and found a parking space right outside. I think the only alternative is the local car park which charges £4.00 a day and is about a five minutes walk away. There was some noise from the shower room taps etc but once everyone was asleep there wasn't a sound. Everyone was very kind and helpfull especially the breakfast Chef who served the magnificent breakfast, we also had dinner there which was excellent. Instow is a beautifull village right onto the beach and looks across the river to Appledore. Our room which was at the front of the Inn had the most wonderfull view across the estuary to Lundy Island. We will return, thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just stayed here, the Wayfarer is situated really close to the beach, our room was spotless, and well furnished and dog friendly.

The owners and the staff were very friendly, and our breakfast was fantastic.

Every table was booked on Saturday night, and we ate elsewhere, we had a family Sunday dinner which was absolutely fantastic, service was quick and pleasant.

Would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank 24,356,699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After a 13-mile hike on the Southwest Coast Path, we were a absolutely delighted when we arrived at the Wayfarer. We VERY much appreciated the signs they posted on the path, as we were able to locate the inn easily. Our room was large, bright, and very well-appointed. We had drinks in the pub, followed by a walk around town, and then dinner again at the pub. The food was terrific. I had broiled scallops and my husband had a steak. It was nice to have something more elegant than the usual fish and chips we had been getting at many pubs. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEVSIMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
609 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
2.0 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
216 reviews
14.4 mi away
West Country Inn
West Country Inn
#31 of 36 in Bideford
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seagate Hotel
The Seagate Hotel
#1 of 4 in Appledore
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Inn

Address: Lane End | Instow, Instow, Bideford EX39 4LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Instow
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wayfarer Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Inn Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing