We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we booked”
Review of Springfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springfield House
Ranked #1 of 3 Instow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not what we booked”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Arrived mid afternoon after 6 days on the coastal path. We had booked a room in the main house (4 months previously) but were shown to the self-catering cottage behind the main house. It felt cold but were told "the heating would come on soon". "Soon" turned out to be 2 and 1/2 hours later - we did go in search of the owner sooner but she couldn't be found. Canopy bed on a mezzanine floor up a bare wooden staircase, which could be a problem for the less mobile.
Breakfast around a communal table (but other guests very convivial). Cooked breakfast OK but bacon overcooked. Altogether a bit disappointing. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night in Springfield House on our SWCP walk. If you like perfectly decorated old houses you will like this place. I little bit off the "centre" of Instow but still only a short walk to pubs and restaurants. Our room (the Linwood Room) was really spacious with two big windows, a big bed and perfectly decorated as the whole house. The bathroom just opposite the corridor definitely deserved the characterisation "room" as it was very spacious as well. The very welcoming hosts, the perfectly cooked breakfast and the WiFi make this B&B a perfect place to stay. I can absolutely recommend Springfield House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely setting and amazing views; the room was so comfortable and everything we needed provided (including the fluffiest bathrobes ever!. Edward and Lucinda were terrific hosts and very helpful. We would love to come back again and cannot recommend Springfield House enough. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom flat at the top of the house and it was fantastic. The flat was beautifully decorated and it had everything you could want or need. A shower and a bath, a fully equipped kitchen, a comfy lounge, all topped off with amazing views. The owners, Edward and Lucinda, were brilliant hosts and we'll definitely be staying here again next time we go to Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bed apartment above the main house. It's a very well done loft conversion with bags of room for a family of 4.we booked with cottages 4 you,2 days before arrival, the photos on the website don't do this place justice. The owners Edward and Lucinda are really nice people and can't do enough for you. We highly recommend a stay at the Springfield apartment,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a fab B &B, we stayed in the converted old school house- the Cottage.
This had its own kitchen so you can self cater if wanted but we chose b&b. The bathroom is spacious with an amazing relaxing roll top bath and lovely soft towels. The bedroom was spacious with a beautiful bed, soft fluffy robes were provided.
The stairs leading up to the bedroom are solid oak, the cottage is beautifully decorated and well thought about. We also had our own private garden, perfect to relax in with a drink or two. The gardens of the hOuse which we also had access to had some beautiful views. Spoilt for choice at breakfast and Lucinda and Edward very welcoming and friendly hosts. Lovely cake and tea when we arrived on our first day. Will definitely recommend this treasure of a place as it is in a fab location, 5 minute walk to the beautiful Instow beach and not far rom the Tarka Trail.

Room Tip: The cottage is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandMrsJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. Staying at Springfield House made our holiday. It was simply a great place to stay with fantastic views and a lovely home cooked breakfast every morning. Edward and Lucinda were perfect hosts. They couldn't do enough for us. If you do decide to stay please make sure you taste Lucinda's award winning lemon curd. I normally don't like lemon curd but I really liked it. We bought 2 jars at the local shop and Wilma made a delicious sponge cake with lemon curd filling with Lucinda's curd mmmmmm. Springfield House is in an ideal location and was central for us to explore the area. We had a really really nice time. This B&B made our holiday and have great memories forever. Fred & Wilma

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
5.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer Inn
The Wayfarer Inn
#3 of 3 in Instow
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House

Property: Springfield House
Address: Springfield New Road, Instow, Bideford EX39 4LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Instow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Springfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield House Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing