We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly and cosy place close to the moor and Plymouth, best choice we made in years”
Review of Overcombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overcombe House
Ranked #1 of 3 Horrabridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at many places over the years on dartmoor but after staying with David & John at Overcombe in Sept 11 we finally found a place we could return to. Stayed again in Feb 12 and booked to stay again. Food is great, rooms are clean and spacious and location is perfect Cant fault it for anything so far. If there were any problems it would be sorted promptly.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy007h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

My friend and I were in the area for a family wedding so Overcombe was our "home" for a week. And it really did feel that way. David and John were very engaging hosts. Since we were there so long, we had the same window table for breakfast daily, and we really enjoyed the delicious meals each morning. The rooms were meticulously clean and toiletries of high quality. Lots of attention to detail. Location is good for walking on the moors. We didn't have a car, so the convenience of a bus stop nearby was invaluable. Overcombe is a wonderful memory and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent a week at Overcombe. The service was very good and David & John did all they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay. I can't fault them on attention to detail.

My wife and I did find that our room had insufficient drawers for our clothing, so that we often had to place clothing on whatever available space we could find on the floor. Room 9 is perhaps a bit small and it might be difficult to find space therein for a bit more furniture for clothing.

One morning I was talking to David and he mentioned that at times the room occupancy percentage was a bit worrying. I wonder if a lot of people don't return because of the smallness of some of the rooms. Would a better room occupancy percentage be achieved if 11 rooms were reduced to say 9? Just a thought.

Not really a negative, but the northern exit from Old Station Road is very dangerous. It is definitely safer emerging at the southern junction. I was given this information by a local man walking along Old Station Road. David & John would know this. A prominent notice at Overcombe would probably be appreciated by their guests, and be seen as being very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was my 3rd trip to Dartmoor and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! David & John are really friendly and make you so welcome. The rooms are well maintained, comfortable and spotlessly clean with lovely views. Lots of extras in the rooms such as toiletries and bottled water. They are also strong on recycling and caring for the environment. Breakfast is fantastic, all local produce and plenty of it! I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the "Moor" rooms have lovely views of Dartmoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were comfortable, and the availability of a room with a flat-floored shower was a real benefit to one of us. Excellent breakfast too, with a choice of various dishes. The hosts really made an effort to help us enjoy our stay in this lovely area, and we really appreciated the little extra things such as providing us with ideas for trips and even borrowing us a map of the environment.

Room Tip: There's a very good ground floor twin room for people who are less mobile - great view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_de_Wandelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is not the first time I have stayed at Overcome House. When I was a child I lived in Yelverton and, sixty years on, I love returning to this part of the world. I hope to come back soon with my partner with whom I can enjoy not just the excellent Overcome hospitality but also the matchless beauty of Dartmoor. There could be no better base than Overcome House and no better hosts than David and John.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

A trip for business, what a loverly stay, never had such a up market breakfast before in a B and B.

Will be coming back here again soon
Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Overcombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overcombe House

Address: Old Station Road, Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Horrabridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horrabridge
Price Range: $117 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overcombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Overcombe House' an award winning guest accommodation that can be your sanctuary in Devon's delightful Dartmoor National Park. Our most popular Classic rooms & our spacious breakfast room have stunning views over Dartmoor towards North Hessary Tor & Leather Tor. We are just a short distance from the historic market town of Tavistock & there is easy access to the ancient maritime city of Plymouth; whilst having all the benefits and amenities of Dartmoor National Park & the adjacent Tamar Valley area of outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Overcombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing