We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous peaceful retreat.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sandford Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawkchurch, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Louis...
2 reviews
“Gorgeous peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I booked this cottage very much last-minute for a quiet peaceful retreat and we were not disappointed.
We arrived at the farm, which is beutiful, to a very warm welcome from Bev and Pete. Pete then took us down to the cottage which is totally secluded from the farm itself. The grounds of the cottage is kept to a very high standard which includes a lovely pond. There are loungers in the garden if the weather is good, which we managed to do on the evenings and watched the sun set. You can also feed the fish in the adjacent field with food provided. A very pleasant and very tame pheasant and hen pop over every day to be fed. They were just so lovely and tame and we loved watching them wondering about the garden but they didn't bother us at all.
Pete showed us all around the cottage and gave us lots of information, There are instructions too. After an informal chat he said 'we're here if you need anything and we'll see you next week'and that was it, he went and we didn't see him or Bev again.
The cottage is delightful. Very clean and everything you need for a comfortable stay. We also had a bottle of wine, eggs, chocolates, milk and beautiful flowers. There was also tea coffee sugar and a selection of condiments. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of storage for clothes and lots of hangers too!! Peace and tranquillity is what you will get with this cottage and I can't recommend it enough.
It's a short drive away from Lyme Regis which is a very pretty town. We visited lots of places, including Ottery st Mary, Burleigh Salterton, Beer, Seaton. Sidmouth and Exmouth, where we had a meal in the Rockfish restaurant, lovely meal.
There are also lots of lovely coastal walks with stunning views. One of them being Beer to Branscomb which is a lovely walk.
Thanks Bev and Pete we will be returning to your beautiful farm and cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAM B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful cottage”
Reviewed June 25, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Super location for a restful holiday. on the Dorset Devon border, close to several delightful beaches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tupps1664...
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful Peaceful Escape!”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Wow this cottage was just what we needed to escape from the daily pressures of life. On arrival at the farm we were met by Peter & Bev who are such lovely approachable hosts with a friendly helpful nature. We then followed Peter in his 4x4 to the cottage where we were going to stay for the week. On approaching the cottage it was breathtaking and looked so very picturesque and peaceful. Peter gave us a few pointers around the cottage and said "see you next saturday", and we really didn't see Peter or Bev during the week and was left alone to enjoy the tranquility of the cottage and its natural environment. The cottage itself has everything you need to enjoy your stay. There is an electricity meter in the kitchen and we probably spend about £12 in the week we were there, but we cooked alot and did not leave the cottage all week (so take some pound coins). The woodburner was already prepped for our first fire, with kindling, coal, and logs already cut to size for you and all stock in the garden shed for our use. The shed also contained the lounger covers for the garden furniture as well wellington boots for us to use for the country walks.

The kitchen had absolutely everything you need and our hosts had left us milk, eggs, bowl of chocolates and some lovely wine for us to enjoy on arrival. The cottage comes with a comfy sofa and freeview tv as well as good selection of DVDs for us to relax to in the evening. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept like babies all week. The bedroom was en suite which was large again with soap, shower gel, toilet rolls, hairdryer and towels all provided. There is another tv in the bedroom as well as wardrobe, chester draws and availability of a dongal if you wanted wifi (which we chose not to as it sort of defeats the object of a sense of escape if you can't switch off totally).

This cottage is so beautifully quaint and its certainly all about the environment when staying here. The countryside is stunning. We fed badgers at the stable door every night and hand fed pheasants in the mornings who called for their food. When walking through the woods of the estate we came across some deer and to see all this wildlife in its natural environment really is a treat. Peter and Bev also keep a large lake with fish in and you can feed these when you like. Just sitting around the lake is just a perfect spot. Immediately in the garden to the cottage is a lovely large pond decorated with white lillies, a brick BBQ (everything you need for the BBQ is in the shed), garden seating, umbrellas and two lovely loungers are all provided.

The lovely touches around the cottage and the environment really made this perfect. Flowers in cottage on the window sills, the garden areas mowed for your to walk around and a beautiful sunset view in the adjacent field where we would pitch up our garden chairs in the evening to watch the sun go down. An area of the field had also been mowed for this pleasure. These little considerations made this holiday for us even more perfect as we were very aware that our hosts cared about our experience and wanted us to enjoy every moment.

I would recommend this holiday cottage to anyone wanting to enjoy the isolation of a beautiful cottage in an amazing environment to really take in the solitude of country life in the most peaceful place I have ever had the pleasure to experience. We will be returning to this cottage and will keep in touch with Peter & Bev to book up dates for next year. We were very sad to leave the cottage as it had such an impact on us and cannot wait to return. Sooner rather than later!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joctay
2 reviews
“Brilliant country retreat”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our stay at this cottage was so great, we returned for a second stay, 4 years later and it didn't disappoint. All the below reviews say it all. Would highly recommend. Perfect little cottage for a couple wanting the ideal country escape. The hosts are so friendly, helpful and kind, but leave you in peace to get on with your holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing cottage in the most peaceful setting possible. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly want and more for a holiday. The pheasant that appears daily is amusing, although best not to leave the cottage door open if you don't want him visiting!! Seeing the badgers in the evening was an amazing treat. The only noises heard were wildlife and occasionally the odd tractor. We had an extra surprise of the Red Arrows flying over twice information due to them appearing at Weymouth that day. The cottage is most comfortable for two and would highly recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet. The owners most welcoming and the chocolate treats and fresh eggs and milk left most appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelliethe...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in tranquil valley with wildlife on the doorstep”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location. Devon,Somerset, Dorset border makes it ideal for holiday. Lots of NT properties within easy reach. Property hosts wonderful. Cottage has everything you need. Walk on hosts land. Feed fish in lake. Badgers, pheasant come right up to door (and pheasant will come in if you leave the door open!) great for wildlife photography. Peaceful location. Pub in village serves good food (booking recommended). Axminster good for grocery shopping and eating out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total seclusion and privacy
Liked least: The gravel dirve down to the cottage (although this is being rectified I beleive)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing