We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for my needs”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Fairwater while I did the four day cookery school at the nearby River Cottage. I was in a room in the main house, which was very clean and I was made to feel very welcome. The wifi worked perfectly, and the gardens were lovely. The showers did take a bit of working out, but compared to the rest of my stay this was nothing. I loved it. Staff were friendly, and very accommodating, and even though I could hear dogs barking next door a few times (a dog friendly hotel) I was never woken my any noises, dogs included, during my five night stay. If I were to return to River Cottage I daresay I would stay here again. Special thanks to Chris, who helped me with my laundry and my sore throat :)

Room Tip: I did hear from other guests the wifi didn't work in their rooms, so I recommend a room in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    77
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
177
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A charming hotel with an appealing quirkiness. Our room in the East Wing was adequate - lovely big bed, very clean, quiet and comfortable. Bathroom very clean but with hopelessly weak shower. Maybe the plumbing is better in the main house. Chris was lovely, chatty and very helpful. Food fantastic quality and beautifully cooked - I was too full to have a proper pud so opted for coffee and chocolate ice cream - amazing! Truly some of the best I have tasted - I even looked up the website of the producers in Somerset and told them so. Our waitress was efficient and knowledgeable. The hotel had a large party of River Cottage students staying who I imagine would have appreciated the quality of the food. Excellent scrambled eggs at breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A lady in reception greeted us very nicely and made us feel welcome, however we were served a poor lunch in the restaurant by a young lady who would very much benefit from training in how to smile, serve wine and wait on tables......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniLymeRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our second stay.

The first time was in the East Wing which was a little drab and suffered from condensation and slow showers etc as stated by others. Nevertheless the welcome and especially the superb dinner more than compensated. More recently we stayed in the main hotel building in a gorgeous room and once again the dinner was amazing - way beyond what you would expect. The hotel has a mildly Fawlty Towers feel to it, Chris included, burt the sheer warmth of the welcome, the situation of the hotel and that FOOD makes this a treasure to discover. Go, forgive a little, and love a lot!

Room Tip: Main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a well run hotel with a pleasing view to the valley below and genuinely good standards of customer service. The food is of a high (and consistent) standard. It is set in a rural situation and there is adequate car parking. The hotel is dog-friendly. We would return if visiting the area again. The rooms are okay but would benefit from a certain amount of upgrading: somewhat sparse bathroom with weakish shower, carpets a little tired and a dressing table with no electrical socket in sight. With attention to such detail and investment, this would be an all round five out of five establishment. It has many more strengths than weaknesses.

Room Tip: Head for Main building or East Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights last weekend. What a fantastic place! Lovely bedrooms, fantastic food and superb service, we were so impressed that we want to go back again. Samantha was very efficient in taking our booking... she gave us a tour of the hotel when we arrived. Chris the restaurant manager was very attentive and all staff members were very friendly and welcoming. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The 2 ladies covering reception could not have done been more helpful, although the offer of a pot of tea or coffee on arrival would have added to their great customer service. The waitresses were also very polite, friendly and efficient.
I stayed with my husband in the East Wing's room 12 for 2 nights, on a great value Groupon deal for £99 in early spring 2013 The room had a lovely view of the garden and beautiful surrounding countryside.
The weather was very cold and the room's heating was inadequate - luckily I had a hot water bottle with me. Bad condensation formed on the bedroom and bathroom windows, and also on the bathroom tiles, as our time spent in the room that day went on.
The headwaiter/head barman, Chris, was v polite and chatty, but I felt he was arrogant at times, similar to the owner, Adam. The evening restaurant service was very slow; it was as if there was not enough staff in the kitchen to help the chef.
The meal was the best thing about the break; I had not tasted food this good for 20 years, although it was quite expensive. Also, we got a free 1/2 bottle of house wine with the Groupon deal, if 2 courses each were ordered.
The hotel also has gluten-free bread and you can also ask the chef to do a gluten-free option to the meals, if available. Soya milk is also available at all meals. Their dietary options need to be pre-ordered to guarantee availability.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms at the far end of the East Wing, on both floors. They sound proofing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetBrucieBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWHH, Owner at Fairwater Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Our chef is always happy where possible to adjust our menu to cater for dietary needs and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We promote a very relaxed atmosphere at the hotel and that includes allowing guests to take their time when dining in the restaurant and why we only have one sitting. Although there may have been an impression of being understaffed there are members of staff behind the scenes which the guests do not necessarily see and our staffing levels are adjusted to easily manage the numbers of guests.

We apologise for the condensation in the room, however the weather was extremely cold and we feel the effect of the blow heater being used without ventilation, naturally caused the condensation. When the rooms are unoccupied we keep a window slightly open in the bedrooms which helps ventilate the airflow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
751 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing