We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel stands in a beautiful and quiet country setting with lovely gardens and wonderful views over the Axe valley. The main house was built in 1900 and has an interesting history. There are later extensions and we stayed upstairs in the East Wing, added in the early 70s. The room was bright, clean and of a good size with views over the garden, it was nicely furnished with a comfortable firm king size bed, small table and two club chairs, also a dressing table and chair. The bathroom was fine but I was glad to read that the carpet there is due to be replaced with hard flooring, so much more hygienic, gone also are the paper bath mats I was reading about in other reviews, we had a thick white cotton bathmat! Everybody at the hotel was very friendly, in fact, the receptionist was most welcoming and took us to our room and even offered to help with carrying the luggage. Breakfast was good, the only thing I missed was fruit salad. We had our evening meal at the hotel but were not overly impressed. My husband's fish and chips was excellent but my vegetable strudel was more like a spring roll, it looked deep fried and was very greasy, and small, I really didn't enjoy that. We overheard the people at the table next to us saying that their catch of the day dish was not exactly plentiful. We thought the food was overpriced for what it was. Overall though we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    77
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
180
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in October. Reception was very welcoming in a professional, friendly manner.

Our room was nice with a good, firm bed but the bathroom seemed to have a bit of a damp-problem (funny smell) and carpeted bathroom floors are in my opinion just plain wrong, they should be tiled.

Food at the restaurant was good but our evening was slightly let down by a bossy little waitress who was more interested in moaning to the bar manager (who was very nice) about her problematic TV reception than paying attention to her guests let alone make them feel welcome. She needs to either take some lessons in basic customer service with a smile or change jobs altogether.

All in all a nice hotel but some staff need to get their act together.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 211000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The service was impeccable from the moment we stepped in to reception. Everyone was friendly, happy to help and always available when you needed them. Not too far away from the village, and if you're up for the walk, only 3 miles out of Axminster. Lovely views from the rooms, although it'd be hard to find an ugly spot in such a beautiful part of the country! The bar and restaraunt are both very comfortable and set out well; they make sure that each room gets a window seat whilst staying there which was a lovely touch. The food was amazing, worth the 4 stars! Would definitely go again; was the perfect place to relax and enjoy each other's company. Recommended to anyone needing to get away from the stresses of work and monotonous routines; peaceful, pretty, welcoming and overall just a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay there. Room was good, food was very good but was let down by the service. Some of the staff were lovely and helpful but the there were occasions when us or our friends were patronised.. I am not entirely sure I would stay again in all honestly but it was perfectly ok otherwise

Room Tip: Rooms in the east wing are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthExplorer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were very good, as was the dining area where we ate.
We were on a Groupon offer; as such we were in one of the Garden rooms. By their own admittance these rooms are a little dated and tired. However, they are a very good size, and clean but would benefit from “freshening up”.
The bed was very comfortable and must say we had the best few nights’ sleep we have had for a long time.
We looked at some of the other rooms in the main Hotel before we left, and these are very nicely decorated, unfortunately these were not on the Groupon offer.
Set in the country with pleasant gronds, which must take some maintaining.Even the trees have their name placques on them!
I would have no hesitation of recommending this Hotel as a base for exploring the Jurassic coast and visiting the Hive Café which is a must do.

Room Tip: Choose the main hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fletcher22Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed on the watcher deal price for two nights and upgraded to a room with jacuzzi bath. it was such a relaxing stay we ended up staying a third night. the staff were most welcoming and the food was excellent although some of the main course dishes are more suited to bar snacks (lamb burger and fish and chips) despite this all dishes were very tasty. generous portions couldn't manage more then 2 courses. excellent wine list and good selection by the glass although we were offered the opportunity to have any wine left in our bottle kept for the next night. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suse3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here recently in a superior room and loved it.

The hotel has a grand air about it, and is friendly and welcoming. Our room had a four poster bed (not sure if every room has one) and had a jacuzzi bath. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and had all the facilities.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was of a high quality. I had chicken supreme with gnocci and it was delicious! Husband had juicy steak and chips. The treacle tart is recommended as a dessert. Drinks are pricey with G&T costing £7.

The grounds of the hotel are well kept and this would be a wonderful place for a wedding. The gardens would look amazing in the photos.

The negative about this hotel was it could be viewed as a little outdated with some of the room fittings and furnishings but the hotel proprietors have given a schedule of planned works with an explanation of the finances and scope of work involved. When you read this interesting piece you realise how much work is involved in running a hotel.

The nearest seaside resort is Lyme Regis.

I would recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main hotel rather than the added on rooms. The hotel rooms are much more traditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meow25116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
284 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing