We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views, rooms but some questionable service.... Good wine though!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairwater Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice views, rooms but some questionable service.... Good wine though!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as a last minute deal in August. Even though the location is remote, it's great in terms of access to all of the sights ie Lyme Regis etc. it's worth noting that if you do like to be able to walk to local pubs and restaurants, then this place isnt for you. The only local pub is a good 15 mins walk away and the food was very basic. Overall the hotel itself was a good at standard three star. Dinner on the first night was of a good quality. The second night wasn't great. It seems that if the restaurant is full, they can't cope. We were greeted with a roll of the eyes when we asked if we could change our food arrival from 8 to 830. The restaurant manager seemed to exude stress under a facade of calm and over politeness. But when we ever asked for anything outside his remit we always felt that it was a bit too much for him...ie as guests we werent made to feel like nothing was too much trouble. It seems like they have a policy in terms of evening meals, to let tables go to external diners before residents are offered tables. After a lot of huffing and puffing we did get a table on the second night, but it would be better if the hotel informed residents that bookings must be made to guarantee tables.
Overall the hotel tried hard to provide a good service. And in terms of reception staff it did. But it galled short in terms of staff wearing their stresses on their sleeves which meant that the atmosphere had a stressful edge.
A final note... Breakfast was well below par (even though the standard of food was very good). We were told that buffet option instead of a la carte was easier with the volume of covers. A poor excuse I think and the low quality breakfast was another bad note.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowles_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    76
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
24
175
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a 5* hotel pretending to be a 3*. It is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. If like me you have cealiac disease you are literally in heaven. The food is superb and they understand our diet.
The staff are warm and friendly, the hotel is very clean but also very homely. The grounds are lovely. Just sit on the terrace with a delicious cream tea and enjoy the wonderful views.
Ideal for couples and families. Lots to do in the area if you can drag yourself away from the hotel.
We came away rested, well fed and have recommended this hotel to everyone we know. Visit and you will do the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking the front of the property. It was very quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked direct with the hotel for two nights after seeing the offer on Woucher. No problems finding the place, helped by the sat-nav and the sign posts once within a couple of miles. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to our room in the garden wing. The room was clean, tidy and the views across the countryside simply stunning. Our dog also appreciated the biscuits that were left on the table!!! We did not eat at the restaurant in the evening but could not fault the breakfast. Even though it was self service the cooked food was delicious and tasty and lastly should also add that the staff were very polite and friendly.

The hotel is handy for the coastline of east Devon and west Dorset with Lyme Regis being only about six miles away.

Would recommend the hotel to friends and family and would happily stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allroads1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Greeted with a very warm welcome by the owners and their beautiful dogs . The hotel itself is a lovely treat set in the amazing Dorset/Devon country side . It has two quiet Cosy lounge rooms a great bar and a very modern restaurant . The food was amazing as was the wine choice . The service in the hotel from start to Finnish was first class . We were with our 17 week old puppy so had mentioned we would eat in our room . To our surprise the owners sat us in the bar , we ordered and then taken to one of the lounges for our own private dinning experience . A lovely touch which was more than we expected . This place really is dog friendly but also looks after guest that don't want to be disturbed by us dog lovers .
So in summary , beautiful hotel , amazing grounds , top food , large rooms , most of all outstanding care of guests . THANK YOU SO MUCH .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived after a hot and tiring day, it's not easy to find at first and the narrow country roads are pretty but you don't want to meet a tractor in the dark.
I was told we didn't need to book a table for dinner since it was quiet, but when we arrived we were told it was full and we'd have to go elsewhere -(where?) OK, Hugh F-Whittingstalls place is "down the road" but on a Saturday night it's full to overflowing. We had to drive to Lyme Regis for fish and chips. I always say: NEVER EVER send your clients away for dinner, for two people, make a table out of driftwood or sit on the lawn with cheese and biscuits! To go on another journey in the dark after a four hour drive! For that reason alone we'd never go back. There are signs of stress on the staff, and that's the two of them. You can see the signs of a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, but it's the little things that count, and repeat business will keep them in business.
Oh and if it's hot, sleep in the garden or your car.

Room Tip: Ask in advance what room you'll be given, don't take a room on the ground floor overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dallamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We enjoyed a short break at this excellent location on a Groupon deal. Probably one of the best welcomes we have ever had when booking in with the young lady showing us to our and providing all the information we needed on the hotel whilst en route. The views from the restauarant are sipmly quite stunning . The food was a very good standard and we were extremely pleased with our room and the service provided . The gardens are extremely pleasant and once agian the views over the Dorset countryside are quite stunning. The location is just a short drive to the Dorset coast where we visited Charmouth and found a lovely secluded beach at Eype. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santana1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was our first stay in the Fairwater Head hotel and some what of a last minute one on route from the west coast. Our room was very pleasent with everything you would expect. The hotel receptionist was very welcoming. We decided to have dinner in the resturant. What a fantastic decision that was as the service and food where amongst the best I have ever tasted. (One minor point was the inconsistancy between the room/internet/evening menu they were all different and my wife is a fussy eater) Very pleased with our stay here and we will recommend this hotel to friends and be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceagle_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
3.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
#4 of 5 in Hawkchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing