We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for four nights on a special winter offer which included two dinners. As a large comfortable bed is important to us, I spoke to reception and we were fortunate to have been given the room Gardenia which was both spacious and very comfortable (I cannot understand the comments of a previous guest.) We did overhear another couple who were not so pleased with their room which was small and up two flights of stairs. We found the service to be very good and the food was good but not exceptional. We were recommended a good Indian restaurant in Kingsbridge for one of the evenings. We enjoyed our stay enormously and would definitely return .

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotswoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 519 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

Had a lovely 2 night break - lovely welcoming hotel (although down a very narrow lane and not easy to find without a satnav!). Staff very friendly and professional. Bedroom was refurbished to a high standard with lots of space (we had the Orchid room). Restaurant for beakfast and dinner was excellent - 2 coursedinner was £29.50 but high quality however not much choice. Overall an excellent place to stay - well positioned for Dartmouth and Salcombe. Only negative was that the bedroom could have been warmer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

The location is lovely, however be aware that access from the main roads is along several miles of single track lanes with high banks and few passing places.
The contemporary room we had requested was disappointingly small, located in the attic approached up the side stairs, with a small window above head height which was closed making the room hot and stuffy. The bathroom was so small that the washhandbasin was in the bedroom, and there was no shower.
We were offered a Superior traditional room, at an additional cost, at the back of the hotel, the decor of which seemed rather tired. We were told that the only rooms with a view at the front were suites that were not available.
20 minutes before dinner both dining rooms were still in pitch darkness, and not at all inviting.
We were so disappointed we put our cases back in the car and drove off.
The receptionist was pleasant and tried to be helpful, but there was noone available to assist with our cases, and there seemed to be hardly any staff on duty.
The room rates quoted over a couple of phone calls varied considerably, and I needed to draw their attention to the special rate advertised on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dumbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now which is why we held our wedding there recently. The rooms are spacious and inviting, the staff are excellent and the food is outstanding. Their attention to detail makes their customer service one of the best I've experienced in the UK. Nothing is too much trouble and the memories are always positive.

I may be biased having held our wedding there but can honestly say we had absolutely no problems on our special day. We are truly grateful.

I'd recommend this hotel for a romantic relaxing weekend away and for a special wedding experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pgiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Bit of a mixed review to be honest - the building itself is beautiful, set in a lovely wooded valley, gardens excellent. Bit of a hairy drive through incredibly narrow country lanes - SatNav came in handy.

Our room (Gardenia) was large and tidy, huge bed, good size but (hot and steamy) bathroom - not much of a view, just above the kitchens and the bins. The 2 dining rooms were impressive as was the oak panelled bar fitted with comfortable leather sofas and chairs - well stocked bar, friendly bar man. The first night we decided to eat out, came back and had late drink in the bar - service a bit slow but not a problem, went to bed looking forward to a good night's sleep, unfortunately didn't happen, woken up at 12.30am by family moving in to the room above, noise went on for ages, including children running around - we complained to the night staff and it went quiet, for about 5 minutes, noise continued until about 1.30 - managed to get about 5 hours sleep until 6.30am when children running around above started again.

We naturally complained when we went down for breakfast (good by the way) we were told we would be moved to another room while we were out for the day - came back later in the day and yes they had found us another room - Begonia, tucked around the back (still above the kitchen) dark, smaller than our previous room and no where near as good - I couldn't be bothered to complain again, we were only staying for one more night - oh and we were woken at 6.45 with the bins being moved ready for collection.

We had dinner at the hotel that night, it was ok, nothing special, the starter was strange to say the least, crab meat topped with avocado and coriander ice-cream, plus a strange red sauce, the main meal (beef) was a lot better. We were offered a complimentary bottle of wine which we appreciated but when you think of the hassle a £17 bottle of Chilean plonk isn't great compensation - and then, it got worse - I took a final swig out of my glass and felt something in my mouth, cork? No, sediment, No, South American bug with legs and antennae? Yes. Needless to say the late night brandies and coffee were also complimentary...

OK so the problems weren't directly caused by the hotel, the bug was clearly in the bottle already and it wasn't their fault that kids were running around at 1 in the morning, but in all honesty this type of country hotel isn't the sort of place where families should stay anyway, so was surprised they were there in the first place - bit like the bug really, but I do feel the hotel could have offered a bit more on the compensation front - and to rub salt into the wounds, the family who had been above us were also moved - into our old room (I guess because it was above the kitchens with no one below them - pity the poor kitchen staff).

So, you might be lucky and get one of the decent rooms - either way it's a creaky, old hotel, probably worth taking ear plugs - and your credit cards - it's not cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed at this hotel last weekend for a wedding and had a wonderful time. Our room, Orchid, was one of the attic rooms which seem to disappoint some other reviewers, but we thought it was charming. Really comfy bed, stunning views, mineral water and fruit in room. The bathroom was very small, and the shower of the hand-held variety, but that didn't bother us. The wash basin is in the main bedroom - again, no problem. Some other guests on our floor did mention lack of headroom in the bathroom but ours was fine.

The garden and terrace is a lovely space to relax in and enjoy a cream tea or something stronger. You can even play croquet on the lawn.

Hospitality was faultless - staff were efficient and friendly producing drinks, snacks, whatever we wanted with remarkable efficiency. Food was excellent. I had to confess to the manageress that my fake tan had spattered across the duvet when I flipped the lid (also across my evening dress and wrap!) - I was horror struck, and just stood there looking at the mess while my ever helpful husband quipped "well you can't blame this one on me". My first thought was of Alan Partridge and the chocolate mousse episode when he said "They'll think it's some kind of dirty protest". Fortunately they were very understanding, refusing my offer of paying for any damage. They were more concerned for my dress. We did run an errand for them into Dartmouth the next morning, so I didn't feel quite so bad.

Access is a little tricky if you are not used to single track lanes- fortunately we didn't encounter many cars coming the other way (most traffic is hotel staff anyway, who are well used to meeting guests in the lane).

My only suggestion would be to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, and the carpets on the main staircase could really do with a clean, otherwise this is a charming place, perfect for a tranquil weekend, romantic getaway or indeed a summer wedding!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Got to hotel with no problem sat nav spot on
Very nice position and great views from entrance we were should to are room and it was very small with no view as the window was so small.
The bathroom was so small with only a bath no seperate shower and when i stood up in the bath my head hit the ceiling i am 6`3.
We could hear every word that was said in the next room and when in the bath room could have talked to the couple next door.
Not very good for the price we paid.
The restaurant was very good and the food was faultless and also the service.
I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN BUT NOT IN THE ATTIC ROOMS
AS THE OTHER ROOMS IN THE OLDER PART WERE VERY BIG.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolSkuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goveton
4.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
678 reviews
15.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
892 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,427 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range: $110 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing