We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the manor born.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“To the manor born.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel I knew we were in for a treat.
We approached the elegant hotel along a leafy drive The beautiful William and Mary house was bathed in sunlight.The fountain was trickling peacefully in the midst of the garden.
Our room was spacious and equipped with a large cage complete with a clean comfy pad inside for our three Cavalier King Charles Spaniel dogs to sleep in. Sensibly, the hotel supplies
a "doggy information pack" so that canine needs can be addressed without causing any problems to other guests.
Breakfast was delicious. Cooked breakfast was made to order, the scrambled egg was perfect
and tasted as though it had only been laid an hour before.
The evening meals were equally special with locally sourced ingredients, expertly cooked and presented with care.
The friendly staff give excellent service and create a warm ambience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    108
    45
    19
    5
See reviews for
66
345
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We've just spent a splendid couple of nights at this small gem of an hotel which is set in a beautiful rolling, rural setting. As it's located off the beaten track the overall feeling of peace and tranquility was wonderful. We had a standard room at the back of the hotel which was quiet and well equipped and although small had all we needed for our stay (including fresh milk for the hospitality tray).

The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and cannot be faulted we both had the bream which was fresh and beautifully cooked. Breakfast was also a culinary treat. Special thanks to Lianne in reception who, when we had a potential problem, acted quickly to diffuse and solve the issue. All the staff were friendly, polite and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

It's as wonderful as it looks with a service to match ! We had a lovely room, with room for our daughter and our one year old puppy Bramble a short haired German pointer. This fantastic hotel & staff are happy for well behaved dogs to stay and supply a large cage in the room, saving car space and time! Service was above expectation and the team at Buckland ensured our every need was met. Breakfast was delightful and a wide choice of options, allowing a relaxing breakfast un-rushed. We opted for evening dinner one night and wasn't disappointed, the menu of the day was reasonably priced and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. Great central point for Dartmouth, Dittisham, Salcombe, etc... Thank you to all the staff for such a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

"Darling, did you actually bring your hearing aid with you this holiday?" the attractive older lady asked her husband patiently as his responses became audible to the rest of us over the quiet and discreet hum of conversation over dinner. It was mid week in April and many of the guests, like us, were in the enviable position of being able to take advantage of a few days of glorious sunshine to enjoy an early holiday in the Salcombe area before Easter.

On entering this wonderful William and Mary house I was struck by the sheer splendour of the interior. Skilful interior designers have left all the beautiful wood floors exposed, a very practical move, and kept ornamentation to a minimum. Apart from elegant chandeliers and some glorious fabrics at the windows, nothing detracts from the period features such as fine wood carving , dog tooth cornicing and moulded ceilings to which the eye is drawn. Furniture in the lounge and bar areas is traditional but not fragile or imposing: it has been selected for the comfort of the guests so that there is no inhibition about settling down with a newspaper or a few drinks. This is a beautiful house but it is certainly not a museum. It is fulfilling its original function as a home for entertaining guests in style and the Eden Group managers have ensured that all guests are treated to a special dining experience. At the start of the evening, the electric lights were dimmed in the lounge and dining room before the candles were lit, providing an appealing and relaxing setting. When we were ready to eat, we were shown to our table in a beautifully appointed room and served a three course meal from the set menu. On the first evening, we chose the crab starter, roast lamb ( absolutely wonderful!) and the orange posset. On our second night we sampled the home made chicken pasta, the fish and cheesecake. Each dish was beautiful presented and simply delicious. Earlier in our stay we had been offered a cream tea with scones as part of our package and this too was so good I threw caution ( and my diet) to the wind and ate the lot. The wine list was interesting with prices in line with those in other country house hotels: they have not been cynically inflated. However, you don't need to buy the most expensive to get a good accompaniment to your meal: we paid about £22 or £23 for a Montelpulciano to go with the lamb and a French Savignon Blanc for the fish and were very pleased with both.

Service at all times was excellent, with a very warm welcome on arrival. A waitress came running after my husband to return his jumper which he had left on the chair and we were offered very cheerful assistance with bags and drinks. I left with the impression that the staff take pride in their work and enjoy working there.

On our last evening, as we sat in front of the glowing fire in the drawing room, nursing glasses of port, I asked my husband if the hotel had come up to expectations. "It has exceeded them," he replied and I agree with him. We were looking for a country house experience, with good food and the chance to savour country life and we found it! This hotel ticked all the boxes and had a wonderful ambiance. I would love to return at some time in the future and would certainly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel before you choose your room, especially if you have mobility problems.Our room, 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked a five night break at Tout-Saints Hotel from the 9th to the 15th March on a half board basis and it was excellent.
The hotel appears to be in a very rural position, but is ideally located for visits to Kingsbridge. Totnes, Dartmouth and Salcombe, Dartmoor and the SW coastal path.
The house was a delight and our bedroom and the public rooms were very comfortable and maintained to an exceptionally high standard.
Dinners and breakfasts were all delicious and wherever possible the ingredients were sourced locally.
From the moment we arrived, until our departure, the welcome and service we received could not be faulted. All of the staff were professionally attentive and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble in response to our queries or requests.
This hotel is distinguished by its warmth, efficiency and commitment to high standards.For us it will set a benchmark by which we will evaluate other hotels in the UK.
To the staff at Tout-Saints our thanks. We look forward to our next visit in the near future.
K & VW

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Attended my sister wedding at the weekend. Beautiful venue and location. Lovely food, really friendly staff and super rooms... got to see a few as my whole family stayed the night! x One of the ladies on reception even lent me her own buggy as we had forgotton to bring ours, I was also offered milk for my little one too! xx

Room Tip: All beautiful rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBond2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We finally found our way to this delightful hotel (16 bedrooms only) tucked away in the Devon countryside - you have to have faith in your satnav as it is very rural. We were there for 2 nights for a wedding and apart from a few niggles, could find nothing fault with our stay and at 120.00 B&B per night for the two of us this was just about reasonable. The building is old and almost original and our room was charming. Down side was the plumbing from the room upstairs gushing through pipes in our room periodically, the room was ridiculously hot and we had to open a window overnight, and the door frame let in light from the landing outside, but we stuffed towels in the gaps and that sufficed. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The staff were pleasant and friendly but tended to make mistakes when asked to do something - One waiter took 3 attempts to serve the correct cooked breakfast, the receptionist forgot to have the pre-ordered newspapers delivered, the bar staff twice gave me the wrong drink and our bill, which we asked for before breakfast as we were leaving early, was wrong. All little things but could so easily be avoided. All in all it was a lovely break and the wedding reception was excellent and professionally delivered. One word of warning, our room - No 6 - was above the room where the reception was and the band was ridiculously loud until quite late. I know this was not the hotel's fault, but if you are there for a wedding and not one for staying up dancing to loud music, avoid this room.

Room Tip: Avoid No 6 if you are there for a wedding party as it is very noisy, also no curtains in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goveton
4.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
571 reviews
6.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
8.7 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Property: Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing