We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful break in the country, if you can find it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We finally found our way to this delightful hotel (16 bedrooms only) tucked away in the Devon countryside - you have to have faith in your satnav as it is very rural. We were there for 2 nights for a wedding and apart from a few niggles, could find nothing fault with our stay and at 120.00 B&B per night for the two of us this was just about reasonable. The building is old and almost original and our room was charming. Down side was the plumbing from the room upstairs gushing through pipes in our room periodically, the room was ridiculously hot and we had to open a window overnight, and the door frame let in light from the landing outside, but we stuffed towels in the gaps and that sufficed. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The staff were pleasant and friendly but tended to make mistakes when asked to do something - One waiter took 3 attempts to serve the correct cooked breakfast, the receptionist forgot to have the pre-ordered newspapers delivered, the bar staff twice gave me the wrong drink and our bill, which we asked for before breakfast as we were leaving early, was wrong. All little things but could so easily be avoided. All in all it was a lovely break and the wedding reception was excellent and professionally delivered. One word of warning, our room - No 6 - was above the room where the reception was and the band was ridiculously loud until quite late. I know this was not the hotel's fault, but if you are there for a wedding and not one for staying up dancing to loud music, avoid this room.

Room Tip: Avoid No 6 if you are there for a wedding party as it is very noisy, also no curtains in the bathroo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 509 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked a two night package on their winter specials rate. We were upgraded on arrival and had a lovely room all very clean and well laid out. Bathroom was a bit dated but spotlessly clean. We ate in the first night and had a delicious 2 course meal, we shared a pudding a chocolate fondant - but it unfortunately it was over cooked and a little dissapointing not to have oodles of chocolate goo , especially for £9! I could not fault the staffs excellent customer service. Helen the receptionist recommended a lovely coastal walk and nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. Farewell biscuits a lovely touch. We have already been recommending it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a 2nd stay at this fab hotel but a few standards have dropped since our last visit, which were mainly with the waiting service. Check in was smooth and the reception staff are very polite and helpful. When entering our room which was very well equipped except for the huge tear with threads hanging right down the side of the duvet cover, this had obviously been ripped along time and never repaired due to the amount of threads hanging, not what I would expect from this type of hotel. However the bathroom and room were very clean and comfortable. I felt the standards had slipped in the restaurant with the waiting staff, they mixed up our friends bottle of wine with someone elses, I asked a question which was not understood, and we had dead flowers on our table. Breakfast was another let down, asked for Earl Grey tea and got normal, we had to ask for toast, waited about 20 mins for it and it was so hard and thin you could not eat it, so we went to the table to get a croissant and none were lef,t so again we asked the waiter and he said there are no top-ups but if we didn't mind waiting 20 mins he could ask chef to do some, I feel you pay good money (and we travelled 5.5 hours to get there) this should be topped up as it is all factured into the price. Apart from the toast all the food we had was excellent and nicely cooked. The driveway has been resurfaced since our last visit, so no potential damage to cars. Ideally located for Dartmouth and Salcombe and set in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staff, food, venue amazing !!! We attended a family wedding march 1st. The lanes to reach the Venue were like nothing we had never seen.. so please be aware the venue is secluded and very tucked away. the lanes seem scary but their are regular spots for your vechile to pull over etc ... this from the main road last 4/5 minutes ?? but the you reach the venue ... The venue blew us away, it was very traditional and idyllic but so relaxing and welcoming. The staff were polite , professional, attentive but non intrusive. The food was possibly the best I have ever tasted and extremely filling ( which is what we all want ) the bedroom was a beautiful surprise . It was so spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless. The bathroom was gleaming and welcoming. Possibly the best hotel me and my family have ever stayed in and I only hope we make the journey again and enjoy it all over again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Staff are all extremely friendly, polite and professional from reception to waiting staff.Setting is idyllic in itself and gives access to such gems as Burgh Island with its miles of golden beaches and dramatic cliffs. The food was outstanding. Breakfasts have plenty of fresh friut and juices and a selection of delicious hot food locally sourced and served in one of the two characterful antique filled dining rooms. The lounge has a log fire, cosy seating and board games. What's more, you are made to feel it really is ok to sit in it! We were shown around the hotel on arrival. Sounds basic but most places don't bother and this small gesture made us feel so welcome. The only drawback was our room, which was in the roof space. The top flight of stairs had a "servants' quarters "feel about it, with shabby carpeting and narrow corridors.The bedroom decor was drab and the view limited by the high position of the window.The bedlinen,robes and bed were good but the bathroom, reached by a short stairway in the room, was less than good in many ways. If you are taller than about 5'6" you have to bend down when getting in and out of the bath or hit your head on the ceiling. There is no shower- only a hand held attachment.The metal bath has been refinished in some slightly coarse stuff that makes it feel odd and look dirty after each bath.More storage space is needed in the bathroom, though wardrobe space in the room is pretty good. In conclusion, highly recommended for service, food and public areas but at least one bedroom needs attention.

Room Tip: Avoid the roof space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. All the facilities you'd expect. I didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked lovely.

Great location, very picturesque and peaceful. Great value for money hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Neenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at around 6.30pm on Valentine's evening after a grueling drive down from London in the storms. We received a warm welcome but were then warned that dinner may be a bit tricky as they were experiences power cuts, not the news we hoped for but we had seen villages in darkness along the way and Western Power were out in force in the rain trying to get things fixed up. The power was on when we first went up to the room and we managed to shower but as we enjoyed our champagne and were getting ready it went off!! We headed down to the bar area, which was nicely lit by candle light, and ordered wine and were once again informed that unless the power came back on that the dinner may be difficult, I jokingly said that if we missed a course or two then perhaps we could have cheese! The canapes, amuse bouche and cold starter were served by candlelight ok but they were unable due to health and safety (No power) to prepare and cook the main course of duck so everyone was offered sandwiches, and the dessert and cheese! We opted just for the dessert and cheese which was lovely and we finished with coffee and petit fours in the lounge area. We turned in shortly after and they brought us 6 candles for the room, a very romantic evening indeed. The following morning the water was just lukewarm, problems with the boiler due to the power outages, but this was fixed by time we returned. Breakfast at the hotel is lovely, a small continental and then an English breakfast or combinations of fish and eggs, yummy!

We arrived back late afternoon to find not one but two bottles of complimentary champagne, one for our anniversary and one as an apology for the valentine's meal. Dinner was lovely on our second night, all courses were able to be served!

Our room was really nice, a little cosy but really well kitted out and with a very comfortable bed.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, this was our second stay and we would come again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goveton
4.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
632 reviews
8.7 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
870 reviews
6.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
792 reviews
15.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range: $119 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing