We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Amazing secret escape. Couldn't wait to go back. The only slight disappointment was the unavailability of our previous room-Gardenia! Well pleased with Petunia, though. Plenty of space, clean, and the enthusiastic staff couldn't do enough for us. A couple of very minor hiccups, but we are all human. Dining experience was almost perfect and the breakfast (The Buckland Grill) was to die for!! Will certainly return.

Room Tip: It's staying a secret, sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsrwill98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 519 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel. Booking was made in June but from reading various reviews on Trip Adviser were concerned about allocation of bedrooms for those on special deals We were told we were in the attic. Very concerned as my husband was recovering from a broken ankle and asked to be moved to a room on a lower level but informed everything reserved. To get to the room (40 steps later!) was fairly exhausting. The location of the hotel was remote and you have to have nerves of steel to tackle the single track roads with oncoming traffic driving at speed (luckily we escaped any accidents but it came close!). Not a lot of choice for the evening meal (boring menu and expensive) so ate out on day 2 in Kingsbridge. Breakfast very good, lots of choice and excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful but unfortunately we won't be considering returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Check which room has been allocated if its in the attic - good luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very characteristic small country hotel with 16 rooms , a little dated in places but great staff and a very nice restaurant . Free wi-fi which you require as both my wife and I could not get any service on our mobiles ( Three and O2 ). Excellent breakfast . Getting the last 2 miles from the main roads is an experience , single track road with few passing places and steep hills , also be aware the main drive is poor with big potholes. We where disappointed that after booking for our 30th wedding anniversary and advising the hotel of this ,it was not recognised in any way , we were not expecting a bottle of champagne or anything but it would not have cost them anything to at least congratulate us . However the staff were very willing to help and were all very nice .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We set off in anticipation of a famous cream tea,and endured a white knuckle ride through some of the worst narrow lanes Devon has to offer and I've experienced a few! However to be fair we did see the most spectacular scenery This country pile has almost rendered itself inaccessible.However when we arrived it was something else. A beautiful place full of oak panels and a fantastic view. It was such a lovely day that we decided to go al fresco but alas we were forced in by a gang of wasps that didn't find the place as difficult to get to as we did.The scones were light and fluffy, the jam was out of this world and the clotted cream was plentiful. The Earl Grey for her Ladyship and my coffee was poured from bottomless pots.The service could not be bettered. The hotel itself offers wedding facilities and from the outstanding,yet intrusive attention we received for just a cream tea, I cannot imagine how wonderful this location would be for a wedding reception. I will return with guide and driver.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a 2 night stay with dinner on the first night as part of a living social deal. Really beautiful location with great views - mind the narrow roads getting there! Room was on the 2nd floor - not great views, but was double aspect and was huge! Large 4 poster bed, sitting area with tv, changing area and very large bathroom. Service was very good. Had the guinea foul for dinner - amazing. Breakfasts were really good. Great place to go and spend some time in Salcombe. Use the park and ride just before you get to Salcombe. All in all a really enjoyable 2 days - great value for money. Very much a country hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilko202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The gardenia room was a great size with comfortable couch and two large draped windows with a dressing area and great ensuite.
The reception staff were pleasant and extremely efficient.
The dining experience food wise was excellent but the panelled dining room with limited natural light and fair service could be improved upon.

Room Tip: Pick the gardenia room as ideally located behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Much thought has gone into this hotel and the way it is presented to guests. It is remote and peaceful. A 7 minute drive from the A38 along single track lanes brings you to the hotel. A lovely old building. Breakfast was a delight. Freshly prepared fruits, including poached pears and segments of grapefruit. Our room was at the side away from the sun. The windows opened wide, unlike some hotels, keeping the room cool enough to be comfortable in the very hot weather.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goveton
4.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
672 reviews
15.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
891 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,424 reviews
6.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range: $114 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing