We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We decided to go last year after seeing extensive TV adverts. As we live in Devon we paid them a visit and they were amazingly helpful. They showed us a dozen different rooms and we paid the 5% premium for an upgraded room. It was a way from reception and had a door to the patio which meant we could take our luggage directly to the car park. The room was excellent, very clean and comfortable.

After reading reviews we didn't expect much from the food but it was very good and plenty of fruit or cheese if you don't eat puds. Breakfast was a bit like supermarket but that's OK.

You can't fault the location, Dartmoor is beautiful and we had nice views.

The lounge is a bit dated but who cares? It didn't detract from the enjoyment.

If I had a minor gripe it would be that although they will provide a packed lunch they charge extra.

2 tips then. Book a premium room. If you fancy seeing the scenery have a drive round Dartmoor. There are some excellent tea shops in Moretonhampstead.

As a retired couple we have a very tight budget and really is value for money.

We are going again on Monday, can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 680 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

should have stayed here may bank holiday week checked in sunday at 3pm at the manor and by 4pm we was transfered to the ashbury which was much better. as when we got to our rooms we was greeted with cobwebs, dust mould and mildew on curtains cracked light above bed bedding with holes in it was terrible hence the move if the ashbury had not been better rooms would have gone elsewhere. will not ever go there again

Room Tip: all excellents are for the ashbury hotel not the manor when we was at the ashbury we was in moorview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank racheal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is generally used by an older clientele outside the school holidays, but we went in the Easter Break with the whole family plus Grandparents. On arrival the place looked pretty tatty, very like the type of place children go for residential trips, the reception staff were pretty curt, just told my husband 'You can't check nit 'til 3.00.' No welcome, no explanation of how things work. It turned out that all the activities are put out on paper lists, you sign up, there were no spaces for anything we wanted to do, but you can ask the staff to make spaces. The staff will make more spaces by tippexing out the crossed out sections, but don't tell you when they will do that, just that you will have to keep an eye on the lists. Computerised booking? Just throwing it out there, I mean it's not like we're living in the 21 st Century or anything...
The food was buffet style at breakfast and lunch, pretty low quality, no fresh fruit. Dinner was al la carte, it was a little better but a bit like good school dinners, or maybe good retirement home food. Mass catering. We did have some good wine at a good price.
Our room was comfortable if a little over furnished, if we had known we were going to have a tv video player combined we could have brought some VHS films, if we hadn't given them to charity 10 years ago. It seemed clean enough until I made the mistake of dropping my earring on the pub style patterned carpet, it was disgusting, it could not have been hoovered in weeks.
Over all We made the best of the experience but we won't be going back there. There was no outside space, some of the activities like jewellery making were a bit lack lustre, the place was tatty and the reception staff quite rude. On the plus side the guys had a good golf session and the instructor for the enamelling session was excellent and not to forget the restaurant staff who were really lovely and helpful.
You get what you pay for, this was pretty good value, 3 nights for 6 people, golf, activities and food included for about £1500. However, I would prefer smarter surroundings, nicer food, waiter service not grabby buffets, a bit of pampering and pay more for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yumscrumdiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just returned from our second visit. This is a perfect place for families with active children of all ages.
Rooms basic but clean. Food is ok at breakfast and lunch but actually quite good in the evenings - service is excellent. There is also an ok wine list which is very reasonably priced.
Loads to do and no problems booking with plenty of availability. All very relaxed, informal and friendly.
Played golf one day - busy but plenty of buggies mean rounds are pretty quick. Courses not great for the discerning golfer but fine for casual play and in decent condition considering.
Great atmosphere in the evenings with discos, quizzes etc and a nice bar.
Used to go regularly to Center Parcs but far prefer Manor House which has more to do, a nicer vibe, less crowded and far better value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here 16 times in the last 25 years with the golf society my father runs . Every year we have a vote where were going for the annual holiday .Every couple of years we end up going somewhere else for a Change but as you can see 16 times out of 25 to the manor house ,speaks for its self ,in my opinion we should go there every year it's excellent value for money and you won't find better food or facilities anywhere in this country . If I've got to have a little moan it's on behalf of the older disabled gentlemen in our society , I feel a little sorry for them when they look forward to it each year and depending what mood there in in the pro shop depends whether you get a flag or not , there no consistency with it , it's all to do with what mood there in well that's how it appears anyway .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sh52stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to The Manor House. Food was really good as far as we were concerned, in fact it seemed even better than when we were last here! Plenty of choice and faultless service at evening meal time. We participated in as many activities as we could fit in and are now thoroughly shattered, but have many lovely shared experiences! The new Hydro spa was great. It is great value for money - and what's wrong with a bit of retro 80's room décor? If you spend too much time in your room, you are wasting all the great stuff on offer elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had a family room above the reception and did get a bit of 'kitchen smell'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Manor House and on the whole we were not disappointed. The facilities are extensive which make up for the rather dated accommodation. However, it's clean, warm and comfortable and most people are happy with it. The food isn't as good as previous years unfortunately but there's plenty of it and the drinks prices are very reasonable. The only complaint we had was that a family in our group with two very small children were put on the first floor which obviously wasn't ideal. This unfortunately led to the 'removal/theft?' of the pram chassey which had to be left at the bottom of the staircase while the baby was being fed. It turned up later in someone else's room but the management were very helpful in sorting this out! If the Manor House wants to attract more families then they need to have more ground floor suites suitable for people with small children.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,387 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
22.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Fowley Cross, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing