We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of heaven”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent all round, full marks. I didnt know places like this existed in England. Great scenery, food, service and a HUGE range of activities, way more than a weekends worth. I can imagine this place really buzzing in the Summer months, but there is plenty to occupy yourselves with during winter.
The HydroSpa is a must, be sure to check that out before you leave, its worth it on it own! Really enjoyed the archery and craft making.
On the negative there arent many, but the gym was a little small, and one of the receptionists was a little testy, and the bedroom walls are a little thin so you can hear alot of door banging, but im really glad i went down anyway.
HIGHLY recommended. a fantastic weekend for me and my family :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 674 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

we have just returned from our 3rd visit to the manor, last time there was 16 of us and it was brilliant, the food is amazing ,there isnt enough time to do every thing, we always try to get there early on arrival day to get our names down for activities as they do get booked up sometimes the manor will add xtra times if its full, everything is so relaxed cant wait till next time, the decor does need a update but its clean which is more important!

Room Tip: ask for the main house some rooms are a way to go!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue177618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a brilliant family three night holiday over half term. Children made lots of friends and we had no problem getting onto all the activities we wanted to. Food was really nice - quality cooked breakfast and wide variety of choices at lunch (buffet) and dinner (served from menu). Lovely family double room overlooking the moor, couldn't fault the decor, it's certainly not basic in the A class rooms (and we think Artex on the bedroom walls is just fine!). Always plenty of space in the public areas and armchairs to chill out in as well; even though the hotel was full, it never felt busy. Free wifi worked well throughout the very long lounge area for me. 3G was more elusive, it does show up sometimes but not reliably. A great break, we will be back and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ukfamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a great week here with my sister and her 2 children, aged 4&7, great staff, friendly and helpful.
Activities are great and good across all ages. The swimming pools are fab, lovely and warm and the kids loved the flames and the jacuzzi.
Evening entertainment is not bad, nothing special but after a long day ok.
The only complaint I have is the Hotel in General is cold, from the kids play area to the bar in the evenings, we sat in big fleeces as it was cold, hardly any of the radiators around the hotel were switched on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendaskerratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Manor House - ignore those reviews which state that the food is poor - this is everything you could expect and more for the price.

meals are always freshly prepared and you have a choice between 2 main meals every night ( plus a vegetarian option)

what made this hotel for me, were the fellow guests - not a single arrogant person around, everyone is there to have a good time, and enjoy the facilities, but there is no pushing and shoving, with everyone respecting the booking systems in place.

get involved in the tournaments, and you will certainly make friends which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

my only complaint was with regards to the rooms - despite being told we had an upgraded room - the room was tiny, (room 123) and had paper-thin walls - I was woken up by the snoring of our neighbours.

My in-laws were also on the trip with us- paid exactly the same for the room ( I know, I did the booking and paid) and had a room 3 times the size ( room 128) - I cannot work out how these 2 rooms were the same rate.

Room Tip: try and find out which rooms you are assigned prior to travel - and just hope you're not next to...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Manor House hotel is far from a 5 star stay, but then I don't recall it ever claiming to be. If you want 5 star accommodation and decor, then it's centre parcs you are looking for (but be prepared to pay 5 times the amount you pay for manor house once you include activities).

What manor house hotel offers you is a break for the family of any age and gender where you only have yourself to blame if you go bored or hungry. The array of activities available there is amazing and our two kids (as well as us big kids) never found a moment where we didn't know what to do... and for a 6 and 3 year old.. that is a rarity! The accommodation is dated with bedding, decor and tv entertainment comparable to the 70's/80's (12" tv with channels 1-5 and no connectivity!) but to be fair, by the time we got to our rooms, we were so worn out from all the activities, all we wanted to do was go to sleep in the more than comfortable enough bed.

The food was relatively basic but there was a lot of choice and we were never stuck as a family of what to have. The staff were friendly and helpful. The New spa was very nice and the treatments available were great value for money (quite cheap compared to most spa's around an about).

All in all a fantastic family holiday which left the kids not wanting to leave, so gets our seal of approval and hoping to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Such a fantastic hotel. Never a moment to get bored. Something for all ages. Such good value and food was fantastic. Staff were so friendly and even though the rooms and hotel decoration was a little dated, the hotel was very clean. We have already booked to go back again in October. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 159 which was at the end of the building in a quiet area. Book a class A room for...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleJim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
421 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,355 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Fowley Cross, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing