We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ashbury Hotel(Fowley Cross)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Hatherleigh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
298
272
78
39
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
298
272
78
39
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsten pin bowlinghydro spasports facilitiescraft activitiestable tenniscraft centreadventure golfcenter parcsfree bottle of winerooms are basicrifle shootingice skatingbeauty treatmentsbuffet styledecor is datedmeal timescrazy golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 726 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Yes the decor is dated but the staff were very friendly, the food was lovely - plentiful and lots of choice and our 2 night stay brilliant value when all the activities were taken into account. It was our first visit after a personal recommendation and we will be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

As others have stated, all walls and ceilings throughout the hotel are painted artex. Whilst such decor gives the impression of stepping back 40 or more years it does make it easy to keep clean and repainted.

Our group, which ranged in age from 72 years down to 13 months, had 7 rooms including single, double and family en-suites and although dated and tired, all were clean and adequate. A problem of access in the bedroom for a disabled member was quickly remedied by a room change. An electric scooter was provided for her and was much appreciated as this is a very large complex.

All staff we had contact with were pleasant and helpful.

The food was far better than anticipated and none of us felt the need to pay the a la carte supplement. Considering the hundreds of guests in the dining rooms at the same time the catering staff should be complimented for providing such quality within the affordable full board package price. A well priced variety of wines were also on offer.

The choice of activities is excellent and there is no reason why you can't be on the go from breakfast until bed time. However, because these are mostly included in the basic price many guests put there name down for everything and then don't attend some of them. If an activity you are interested in appears to be fully booked turn up anyway and you may find that absentees mean you can participate. I'm not sure if outside of the school/college holiday periods there would be sufficient people interested in team sports such a 5 a side football so this could be worth inquiring about when booking.

Yes, we could have paid considerably more for a superior hotel with an up market restaurant but we would not have had the benefit of all the additional activities that made this stay so good. Overall this has been a very enjoyable family break at a brilliant price and all of us would happily return.

Room Tip: If stairs are not a problem request an upstairs room as floors do creak a lot.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

From reading some of the earlier reviews, I do feel that many reviewers are not comparing like with like. The Manor House hotel is not a 4* establishment and it doesn't profess to be. It is a good value 2* hotel to which guests return year after year so they must be doing something right! This was our second visit. We thoroughly enjoyed participating in the various activities on offer, most of which were free of charge. Admittedly the rooms were dated and in need of refurbishment and tv reception is largely reliant on the weather! Additionally having VERY limited areas for wifi can be frustrating in our world where modern technology is so important to us. However, on the plus side, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food, considering it is mass catering, is of good quality. There is certainly plenty of it. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Some of the people on here that review this hotel based on the mobile signal, decor and food are totally missing the point of the Manor House hotel and they seem surprised by all these things despite it being pretty clear on the reviews and in the brochures too. Ignore these people. The rooms are dated but perfectly comfortable and if you go here to spend a long time in your room you are an idiot. The food is plentiful, varied (as long as you don't stay more than 4-5 nights) and of a decent quality, you can order additional a la carte items at additional cost too. The variety of FREE activities is excellent, especially during holiday periods, overall it works out good value for money. Most importantly for us there is something for everyone except the most boring of people hence why you see lots of groups and families there. The staff are almost always friendly and helpful too.

There are one or two niggles. Too many 'no shows' at booked activities, not the hotel's fault per se, but they need to do something about it, FREE does not come without COST, the cost being that some people can miss out of some activities due to ignorant abusers of the system. If you are organised from the start as we are it is less of a problem. Also as people do not turn up all the time it is worth sometimes going 'on spec' to full sessions, as you often get in. The bedding could do with updating and the cleanliness of the new pool needs improving. Overall though it was a great break doing things as varied as dancing, glass engraving and air rifles. I love Center Parcs and 4/5 star hotels too but you can't compare them to the Manor House it's pretty much unique. If you want posh food and posh rooms there are plenty of other Hotels to go to, so please go there instead,

Room Tip: If wanting a double room, ask for the rooms with zip and link beds as they become 6ft King beds. The rooms along the corridor to the badminton/archery etc tend to be the noisiest and due to creaking floorboards get a 1st floor room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having had the hotel recommended by friends we already had an idea of what we might be getting. On arrival we were greeted with friendly staff and we went straight to booking our activities for the New Years break.

Everything was easy to find, and plenty to keep you busy. But if you in to your crafts remember to take a box and wrapping to take everything home.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great, plenty of choice and plenty of food. New Year eve dinner was very good and the party until 1am was very enjoyable.

I would recommend at any time of the year.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews