We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restored my faith in Guest houses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breken Guest House

Breken Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restored my faith in Guest houses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I only stayed for one night, but it has changed my view on Guest Houses. Previous stays in other Guest Houses have been usually regretted due to poor accommodation, Service and Food. But my one night at the Breken has completely reversed my opinion. The house was spotlessly clean, my room was too. The Bed linen and Towels were faultless and it made my stay very pleasurable. I cannot stand anything that is worn out, threadbare or old, it makes me cringe. But this place was obviously run by someone who had standards that were similar to mine and it showed.
The accommodation was immaculate and the Breakfast was just as I like it. There was a good selection of Breakfast Cereals on offer, pots of coffee or tea, Orange juice or milk. Plenty of preserves and more Toast than I could eat. This was followed by a full English breakfast with complete choice of what you would like on the plate. It seemed each time I wished to omit an item, I was offered an alternative!! Just perfect.
The Lady who seemed to be in charge (Tonia) was a splendid Host and made my stay so enjoyable. Good humoured chat that was pleasant, she was talkative but got on with the business too. The price I paid gave me a great felling of having had my monies worth while at the same time not having been ripped off. A great place, great staff, great food and a very reasonable price. I would recommend this place to anyone. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and had far less value for money. Even with the money aside, this stay was excellent.

Room Tip: I had a look at the room next to mine as it was being vacated also that morning and the standard was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
27
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

have just spent 3 nights at this B & B, Tonia is a welcoming host, the rooms was immaculate with a comfortable bed complimented by a kettle etc. The breakfast was good. Parking is hard around the house but Tonia had a free pass for a car park approx 5 mins away from house. walk to seafront about 10 mins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed for two nights. A big room. A large clean and spotless bathroom. A TV that works. Tea, coffee, biscuits, breakfast, everything is just very good. I've stayed in two larger hotels - twice the price, well less than half the accommodation. All this and the sea is only 400 yards away in either direction.
Is it perfect? No. There are tiny and minor imperfections. A door catches slightly on the lino. One worktop isn't immaculately smooth. Am I picky - well, these are things that I tried to find, but that frankly didn't matter. I'd find perfection somewhat irritating, so this is just very very good.
Tonya put herself out to be helpful... So if you're coming to Exmouth stay here. Great value. A comfy bed. Lots of pillows. Clean towels and linen. I even found myself being OK with the pictures and decor...how good is that? Lots of sockets, a small desk, double glazed windows. Make no mistake about it, this isn't perfection but it's a well-run, thoughtfully professional B&B that's well-managed and well-planned. It sets a very high standard, and I'd endorse the other positive reviews.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2. No view to speak of. But a spacious and airy room. BUT...I suspect they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copster Green Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked all but their 2 single rooms for 13 members of our family to attend a wedding in Emouth, Jess was really helpful when booking, there was a slight hiccup when we arrived and the 2 single beds were not in the family rooms, we sorted ourselves out. The b&b was ideal for us, there isn't a lounge but Jess agreed that we could use the dining room to all get together after going out to eat. Breakfast was good, location is close to beach & town, rooms were clean, we had 5 children in our group and they were all made welcome, thanks Jess & family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Tonia provides an unforgettable atmosphere to one's stay. She is the ultimate hostess, welcoming, friendly, going out of her way to help, maintaining a wonderful decor and spotless rooms. The location is excellent and it wasn't as difficult as I had thought to get a car park! I would, however, have preferred a more firm, hard mattress.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed here with my wife in November. Since I write reviews on places to eat and stay I thought it was fitting to use and try a guest house. This guest house is a delightful place to stay, clean, warm, friendly, some people maybe not be used to such friendliness but its genuine and warm. The room was airy and comfortable, one small job that needs to be attended to is the door which needs adjusting to stop it scraping on the floor, which will eventually scar the floor surface and the toilet seat is loose. these are just minor suggestions. I thought the location adjacent to town center and the sea front was very desirable. Breakfast was good a full English breakfast was offered with cereals and fruit and juices in addition.,
yes I would recommend anyone to a comfortable stay here. Like may small hotels there are stairs to climb so those less able to climb stairs should bear this in mind when making reservations here. Other wise stay and enjoy. if you enjoy clock that chime then you will really enjoy the clocks here,and they don't disturb you at night

Room Tip: I think i stayed in room 2 this was a good room for two really confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Breken House. Situated close to lovely sandy beach. Friendly owners. Very nice breakfast. Pleasant decor. Rooms clean. Would definately visit again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Rohaven Guest House
Rohaven Guest House
#1 of 19 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breken Guest House

Property: Breken Guest House
Address: 13 Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breken Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Breken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breken Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing