We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?”
Review of Breken Guest House

Breken Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breken Guest House
Ranked #12 of 18 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed for two nights. A big room. A large clean and spotless bathroom. A TV that works. Tea, coffee, biscuits, breakfast, everything is just very good. I've stayed in two larger hotels - twice the price, well less than half the accommodation. All this and the sea is only 400 yards away in either direction.
Is it perfect? No. There are tiny and minor imperfections. A door catches slightly on the lino. One worktop isn't immaculately smooth. Am I picky - well, these are things that I tried to find, but that frankly didn't matter. I'd find perfection somewhat irritating, so this is just very very good.
Tonya put herself out to be helpful... So if you're coming to Exmouth stay here. Great value. A comfy bed. Lots of pillows. Clean towels and linen. I even found myself being OK with the pictures and decor...how good is that? Lots of sockets, a small desk, double glazed windows. Make no mistake about it, this isn't perfection but it's a well-run, thoughtfully professional B&B that's well-managed and well-planned. It sets a very high standard, and I'd endorse the other positive reviews.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2. No view to speak of. But a spacious and airy room. BUT...I suspect they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
28
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copster Green Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked all but their 2 single rooms for 13 members of our family to attend a wedding in Emouth, Jess was really helpful when booking, there was a slight hiccup when we arrived and the 2 single beds were not in the family rooms, we sorted ourselves out. The b&b was ideal for us, there isn't a lounge but Jess agreed that we could use the dining room to all get together after going out to eat. Breakfast was good, location is close to beach & town, rooms were clean, we had 5 children in our group and they were all made welcome, thanks Jess & family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Tonia provides an unforgettable atmosphere to one's stay. She is the ultimate hostess, welcoming, friendly, going out of her way to help, maintaining a wonderful decor and spotless rooms. The location is excellent and it wasn't as difficult as I had thought to get a car park! I would, however, have preferred a more firm, hard mattress.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed here with my wife in November. Since I write reviews on places to eat and stay I thought it was fitting to use and try a guest house. This guest house is a delightful place to stay, clean, warm, friendly, some people maybe not be used to such friendliness but its genuine and warm. The room was airy and comfortable, one small job that needs to be attended to is the door which needs adjusting to stop it scraping on the floor, which will eventually scar the floor surface and the toilet seat is loose. these are just minor suggestions. I thought the location adjacent to town center and the sea front was very desirable. Breakfast was good a full English breakfast was offered with cereals and fruit and juices in addition.,
yes I would recommend anyone to a comfortable stay here. Like may small hotels there are stairs to climb so those less able to climb stairs should bear this in mind when making reservations here. Other wise stay and enjoy. if you enjoy clock that chime then you will really enjoy the clocks here,and they don't disturb you at night

Room Tip: I think i stayed in room 2 this was a good room for two really confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Breken House. Situated close to lovely sandy beach. Friendly owners. Very nice breakfast. Pleasant decor. Rooms clean. Would definately visit again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Tonia (originally from Malta) brings a kind of sunny Med atmosphere to her B&B - her attention to detail is impressive and the rooms and entire property is very clean and fresh smelling

Room Tip: Talk with Tonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibiza34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

a very horrible woman who runs this place. i booked this place for a two night stay , but due to a change in circumstances i was forced to cancel one night 2 days before my stay , when i phoned the woman to explain this she gave me so much grief even phoning me the next morning at 7.30am to give me more grief and told me if i did not pay for both nights i was not welcome to stay there and to not bother coming so she still took my £60 deposit and i was forced to find somewhere else , we would never advise anyone to stay here never had such rude , unacceptable customer service in all my life

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breken Guest House

Property: Breken Guest House
Address: 13 Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breken Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Breken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breken Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing