We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a cheap getaway here and didn't really know what to expect but loved it. On arrival we were checked in by friendly and helpful staff, picked our linen up and found our caravan with the map provided and signs. The site is beautiful and always clean, there are people out cleaning throughout the day. The caravan was better than what I was expecting and was comfortable. The private beach is lovely and gave the kids plenty of fun. The swimming pool is brilliant and it was difficult getting the kids to leave it each day as they loved the slides and jacuzzi. We didn't eat at the souh beach cafe so can't comment on it. We did eat at the mash and barrel and it was reasonably priced and the food is what you would get at somewhere like a wheatsheaf or wetherspoons. Due to the kids being tired we never stayed out late enough to watch the live acts but the entertainers put on early shows for kids and our children loved it. The entertainment staff even remembered their names which I thought was a nice personal touch. All staff here were helpful and I was massively surprised at how good this place is as I went not really expecting much having been on an all inclusive to ibiza only a few months previous. We loved it and are already looking at possibly going back next summer.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi Darren S,

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay. We are really pleased to hear your loved your visit and we are really looking forward to sharing your review with the whole team here at the park.

Its great to hear that from your arrival, to checking in and your accommodation all met your expectations. And we are please your children loved the pool.

Thank you once again for all your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back here to Devon Cliffs in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,176)
There are newer reviews for Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,300 - 2,306 of 3,176 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a four-day weekend at Devon Cliffs. We shared our two-bedroomed caravan with my wife's elderly parents. We had a really enjoyable weekend and the surrounding area is beautiful. We stayed in Beech Walk.

Our view was excellent. We were about as close to the sea as you could be and our large window faced out into the Channel. Check-In was very efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful. We knew we would not want to use the leisure facilities on-site but from what I observed there was plenty for families to do. The so-called 'amusement arcade' was huge and must be a nightmare for parents whose children spot it and then want to spend a fortune in there. The Spar supermarket sold everything you could need but, as always, at a price.

We did not see or hear any rowdy behaviour. The park is very family-orientated and parties of young people looking to spend a few days as drunk as skunks were nowhere to be seen.

We had upgraded to a top-of -the -range caravan having learned our lesson last year in Brixham !! So, at a total cost of £144 for the hire of the caravan, shared between four adults, it seemed a pretty good deal. We were very disappointed not to have a veranda on which to sit and enjoy the view. The caravan equipment was about as poor as one could have and another disappointment. Just about enough cups, plates and glasses etc. No toaster ! Why ? No salt and pepper pots ! Are they that expensive ? The beds were very poor. Lumpy old, worn-out mattresses and pillows that were like flacid pancakes.

The tv reception was not good at times. However, the maintenance man who came to check it out told us it was because of the effect of the incoming tide on the signal !!! I think he was being straight with us but I have a lingering doubt about the effect of tides on tv reception !

Access to the caravan was across a rough, humpy-bumpy grassed area which is not very good for pushing an elderly gent in a wheelchair. I would have liked wi-fi access without having to go and sit in Starbucks. We have camped in France and had free wi-fi on the camp site in our tent.

So....... to sum up. We had a great time but the caravan was a huge disappointment. However, I would return with children and grand children next year. I'd take The Oldies too, if they are still with us !

Room Tip: Make sure you get a veranda and chairs to sit on.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lay-By-Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi Lay-By-Lil

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear your feedback about your stay, and we have noted about any improvements we make in future.

We are glad your location and view from the caravan was ideal. Verandas only come on Platinum caravans, so for any future bookings maybe worth noting. We do not provide our caravans with toasters as they trip the electrics and cause more of a hindrance than a help. And salt and pepper pots are not part of our standard inventory.

We monitor and check items such as mattresses and pillows constantly and where they are no longer fit for use we will replace them. However we only supply the basic standard in these items, and are not of comparison with any extra luxury items you may be used to having at home. We are sorry for any discomfort.

It may sound strange but the TV signal can be affected by the weather, and recently with the Harvest moon which as a consequence causes really high tides for us can cause issues with the incoming signal and can be intermittent. Our team member was not incorrect in explaining this to you.

Wi-Fi is available from your caravan. There is 15mins free per device per day, and if you require anything extra this is payable by following the instructions on your phone or device settings and paying with a debit or credit card. We are sorry if you were not aware of this facility.

We are sorry for any inconvenience these issues may have had on your holiday, and we do hope that despite these you will return to us in the near future where we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You will see that a previous review praises this site. The site itself remains very good and offers a lot for families but we will never return here.
We booked a so called upgrade to Prestige caravan, stated as a luxury choice with stylish décor. It is not.
We spent a whole afternoon trying to get a caravan of a decent standard and it was a waste of time, the staff are more than happy to take the money and pack you off to wherever. We suffered broken and dangerous decking, a caravan that had not been cleaned with no linen, dated caravans, and areas cluttered with owners personal belongings so the 'early' check in was spent in reception.
All of this has been reported, in writing, to several 'customer care' employees but the bottom line is that they could not care less.
Will never return and will never use Haven, not that they care!

Room Tip: Pay for a platinum or stay at home!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
12  Thank lovethesunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi lovethesunshineDevon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the spec of your accommodation, and the service that you received.

We would like to assure you that cleanliness and customer service are of paramount importance and at the time of you dealing with our team everything possible would have been done to rectify the situation.

We are glad that you have contacted our Guest Relations team, who we can assure you will be in contact if they have not done so already, as we do care about all our customers and their experiences.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just arrived back from
Devon clifts with my family. This park is a really good park & the facilities are extremely good however there are a few bad points that mean I can't give it 5 stars. To start with I booked a 2 bed deluxe caravan just before we arrived I rang to ask if they could remove the beds in the second bedroom (or at least one of them) as I needed room to put a travel cot, I was quite rudely informed that they couldnt do that & that the travel cot isn't really allowed in the bedrooms & that they should be kept in the living room, however they ALLOW this as it makes it easier for the guest!! I have stayed in many holiday parks all if which were able to remove at least one of the beds to allow room for a cot! Anyway we informed haven that our arrival wouldn't be until 8pm to which we were told that our keys would either be at reception or at the gates, when we arrived there wasn't anyone on the gates so we went to reception & that was shut too, the times on the door stated open until 6pm, surely when we called and stated the time they could of told us that they shut at 6, anyway it meant we had to drive back to the gates and wait for a guard, again this isn't a major issues but why they couldn't of told us the reception shut at 6 we would of just waited at the gates! Well our caravan was really nice however it was literally within spitting distance of the military firing range which shoot for most if the day, and on the dog walking path so we constantly had people walking past our caravan, why a young family without a dog needed to be there I don't know, plus our little one wasn't too keen on the firing noise so we asked if we could be moved away from the firing range & was informed it would cost me £25 to move caravan! I had already paid for a deluxe van so being made to pay more was abit insulting & the park was no where near full so to be moved would only really inconvenience my family in terms of packing and unpacking & why they would have a family delux caravan situated that close to the range is beyond me! My last issue was the cleanliness of the caravan, although the main surfaces were clean the shelves were covered in dust & the window sils had other people's hair & cups marks on, which again is abit of a let down, you don't want to go on holiday and spend the first few hours cleaning!!
This park is a lovely park with good facilities & wonderful views but unfortunately it's let down on the customer service side and cleanliness!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liashelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Liashelper,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs, we are pleased to hear your feedback, and we are sorry that you feel disappointed.

As a park rule we are unable to remove beds from caravans to accommodate travel cots. This is due to us not being able to store the high number of beds that are requested for removal for this reason. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused on arrival but we did make you aware in advance that this isn’t something we are able to do to allow you to make arrangements prior to arriving. The sufficient place for travel cots in caravans is in the lounge area which is clearly explained in the Haven brochure and website as caravans are not designed to accommodate travel cots in the bedrooms.

The minimum hours that reception is open are between 9am and 6pm, however on arrival days due to the high volume of arrivals our office does not close any later than 7.30pm. Any one left to check in after this time is left with the security team at the gate house on the entrance to the park, and on your initial call to the park this is something the team should have made you aware of. The gatehouse is manned 24 hours a day, and it’s very uncommon to hear no one was around on your arrival. We can assure you that this may have been down to the team having to leave the gate for a short period and we are sorry that the check in for you wasn’t as quick as it should have been.

When caravans are allocated we do not purposely allocate guests without dogs near the dog walking area. Unless there is a request made on your holiday prior to arrival the allocation of your caravan is made by an automatic computer system which places you in any available caravan on the park to the equivalent grade that you have booked. If you require a quiet area and wish to be allocated away from the dog walking areas please notify the park prior to arrival so we can look at this request for you.

We are very sorry to hear your accommodation was not cleaned to a very high standard on your arrival. Cleanliness is of paramount importance as this reflects on us as a company and this is something we take very seriously. We do hope that you reported this to our park team who were able to rectify the issues for you.

We thank you once again for your feedback, and we will use this to help us make improvements in the future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to Devon Cliffs as part of a National newspaper promotion as did hundreds of others on this week.

Check in was straight forward once you found somewhere to park, however one problem we had was the fact the staff at original booking time don't relay information to the staff checking you in. We had paid for and ordered, 3 entertainment passes, however a genius member of staff PRESUMED one was for our 6 month old daughter and left it out the welcome pack as she doesn't need one when in fact it was for my adult sister and the stink the member of staff kicked up about giving us something we had already paid for was unreal! She then proceeded to try and charge us £24 for another one..... Begrudgingly she gave in and gave us another one. This wouldn't have been so bad but the passes WERE NEVER CHECKED ONCE!!!!

Our Caravan (In the 'Elms') was super. Beds came with linen and were made even though this wasn't on our request so that was an added bonus and came with a superb view of the sea.
Clean and very tidy, comfortable and fully equipped so no complaints there at all.
The site is stupidly hilly though and not for anyone who can't comfortably walk a fair distance with hill climbing experience!! When we had the pushchair, we HAD to drive even to the on site shop because of the elevations!!

Arcades were fun and well priced, club was huge but entertainment was the usual shocking cabaret of exceptionally poor singing, played over loud and very very cheesy..
Too many tables crammed in to too small a space creates havoc for a family with a pushchair!
On site Pizza company, Burger King and Chippy were reasonably priced for a holiday park and they actually served decent food.

However there is another slight niggle when it comes to the Bars, especially the Sports Bar...
They need to have a set time for closing and stick to it!!
The times vary so much you don't know where you are and you can't plan an evening ending with a pint or two! It's not hard to do!!!! One night was 11.30 then 10.15, then 10.40, then 11.00.... Sort it out, especially when I was told by a member of staff it wouldn't be any earlier than 11.00 on ANY evening. One plus point was it was decently priced.

Swimming Pool was spot on, well staffed, warm and clean and never over full....

The 'Private' Beach is an added bonus but the South Beach Store shuts at 12.00 which I found quite odd.. South Beach Cafe is scarily expensive but seemed quality... Plenty of time was spent on the beach, more often than not with the sound of the Royal Marines SA-80's firing in the background from the close Rifle Range.

On site shop perfectly adequate, adventure golf was ace, playgrounds clean and safe.

All in all, Devon Cliffs is a super site and I would happily go back, if they sorted out previously mentioned niggles....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn_Lewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Glyn_Lewins,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you had a overall nice time, and thank you for your feedback, which we have noted.

We are sorry for any confusion regarding the passes on check in at the park. We managed to find you booking, and can confirm that your passes came to a total cost of £20.00 which is for 2 adults. The price for the 3rd adult was not paid, therefore the team member was correct to charge for an additional person if the pass was not purchased in advance. Passes purchased on arrival are also more expensive if not paid for in advance, so an extra adult pass is at £24.00. If you would like us to go into more detail regarding this then you can contact us direct at devoncliffstripadvisor@haven.com and we will be happy to explain this to you. We are pleased that you were given a pass as goodwill to enable you to continue using the facilities.

Devon Cliffs is a hilly caravan park, and we make our customers aware of this prior to booking in our Haven brochure and the website. We are sorry if this is something you were unaware of.

During low season opening times of different venues may be reduced, and in some instances will be relied upon the number of customers using them. This is noted in our what’s on guide in the event of any changes.

We hope despite your concerns which we appreciate your feedback on that you will return to Devon Cliffs again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently went to Devon cliffs for a 4 day holiday and words cannot describe how happy I was when I got there . The park is just super there is so much to do you have the leisure complex which has everything u need . Arcade food pub kids play aera usual stuff but done very well so many food choices lots and lots of arcade deal or no deal machines and plenty of entertainment ! We were never bored and enjoyed all the different options of food . The whole place and caravan was so clean I cannot fault it at all I really could not believe how well the park is maintained .
We are cretinally returning again next year to this great park I have been to many of holiday parks and this tops it .
Well done guys and thank you for a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon :) .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi matthew B

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you had an amazing stay and found lots to do to keep you entertained.

We appreciate feedback, and thank you for commenting about the cleanliness of the site. Something that is one of the top priorities for us.

We love to hear that you would re visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Devon Cliffs in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I and my wife have just returned from a 5 day break here and I will write my review in list format
1. Check in- Check in was simple and easy and the staff seemed very helpful my only gripe would be that we had been on a very long journey and was given the keys to our caravan at 1.30pm but we could not use the caravan until 4pm even though our van had been cleaned as we had a noisy in the window, we where told if we wanted to enter before 4pm we would have to pay a charge of £20??? What for the caravan was ready? This I feel is just exploiting people to make a fast buck!
2. The Caravan- The Caravan was basic and clean (Not to the highest standard but clean) Again the only gripe I have is we had a phone call from Haven on the Sunday before our holiday to say we had no heating in the bedrooms and for £40 we could upgrade we declined the offer as we had decided to take our electric blanket. However the caravan DID have bedroom heaters and it makes one wonder if the £40 “upgrade” charge is just another way of making a few extra pounds of unsuspecting holiday makers?
3. The Site- The site is absolutely stunning the sea views from the cliffs take your breath away. It is a hilly site as expected located on top of cliffs so be prepared for steep climbs.
4. The Entertainment- I and wife just wanted a quite few days away so didn’t spend much time in the entertainment complex we did however go out one night and the staff seemed to work hard to make sure holiday makers of all ages where having a good time. What else can I say it is what it is a holiday complex with holiday style entertainment, Bingo,Dancing,Singing etc.
All in all it’s one of the best caravan holidays we have been on but we don’t usually do caravan holidays but would return here if just for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Neil1978,

Thank you for your review, and for bringing some matters to our attention which we are happy to provide some feedback on. We are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay.

We operate a key release system from 12pm, meaning you can collect your keys from then, but your van will be guaranteed to be ready from your official check in time. Some vans are ready early and if you wanted to get into a van before this time that was guaranteed and confirmed with the reception team was ready then we do offer this facility from £20.00. Some vans will be cleaned slightly earlier to their check in time, and the red and green card system is something extra in the vans but is not relied upon as in some cases the card may accidently not have been flipped. If you come across your van clean and ready prior to your check in time and you are happy with the cleanliness then you are free to go in. We don’t charge for this as there’s no guarantee. But if you paid for an earlier check in then we would move you to a caravan that is guaranteed and ready to go.

The only grades of caravans that come with heating throughout are Deluxe plus and upwards. Without being able to look at your booking information if you were in a grade below this then you were very lucky to have the heating facility. Something that again is not guaranteed. and the call from the team prior to arrival would of been for you to guarantee this feature should you need it. You were very fortunate on your visit to have a caravan that had this, but on future trips please bear in mind this may not be the case.

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the views from the site, and on your visit to entertainment you enjoyed what you saw.

We certainly hope you will return to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Devon Cliffs in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
176 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing