We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Haven' Devon Cliffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've been a caravan owner at this site for 4 years now. On our first visit we went in a touring caravan and took our children. We had visited many sites as you do in a tourer but as soon as we arrived here the older two of our children went out to investigate and loved it! I think this was due to lots of other teens around their age. Being a tourer I thought we would be on a pitch miles away from everything but you are literally right in the centre where everything is going on. The toilets,showers,etc were clean. It was a hard standing that we could connect everything to, such as water feed,etc. The children loved it here so after having a look at a static we decided to buy one.

They were a good sales team at that time the team don't seem to stay in the job long and all the team that sold us our van are long gone but the girls at the owners reception are always friendly and help out in any way they can. We had a choice of pitches and have always been happy with our pitch and the sea view. Our older children have grown up but still will come to the caravan as its a family site that entertains any age. Our younger children obviously still love it but I guess take it for granted as its now not a holiday just somewhere we go wk ends. There are lots of benefits if you are a owner and the owners pool and spa is just one of them.When I was on holiday here I thought the site was too big and I said I couldn't handle a relaxing wk end with so many people on the site but we have had the owners pool to ourselves many,many times and it doesn't seem as big when you know the site so well.The security are great when I've seen lost children,they are immediately on their radios but must say they rarely check our passes ! When you spend lots of time here sometimes you need to relax in the owners lounge being looked after with tea and coffee, reading your papers or on the lap top in peace with out the madness of holiday makers. As an owner you have a discount on everything on site, even if you bought a pint of milk from the shop. The site has two clubs, one is aimed more at younger children with families.
Both clubs will get busy as all clubs do on any good caravan site. The site is really clean and help is always available at reception. The guys on the gate are friendly and helpful if you are new. Activities can get expensive if you have busy little children but if you are on holiday I think you expect this but if the sun is out then the beach is great for crabbing in the rock pools, it has life guards all day, as do all the pools on site. Different times of year it will get lots of sea weed but this obviously depends on the sea.It is scooped up with a tractor when its really bad.The beach bar is great to chill out and look at the sea with a glass of wine and the children love the sand park. We have dogs that come away with us and there are some great walks but you do need to be ready for some hills. They can go on the beach from september.You can go on lots of trips along Jurassic coastline if you have a car. I can't comment on the caravans to rent as I've never rented one. The one thing I'd love here is an owners bar so owners can meet, get to know each other and have somewhere quieter to drink if you preferred.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristol98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,382 - 2,388 of 3,234 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well we booked a last minute weekend away here! Having never stayed at a Haven site we were unsure what to expect! We absolutely loved it as did our 2 children - ages 3 and 5!

There is so much to do on the camp site, views of the sea are lovely! The swimming pools are excellent, lots of fun to be had for all ages!

There are also lots of activities that do not cost any extra, my children enjoyed mini archery and fencing. We had not realised that we needed to book, however we were very kindly fitted in! There are a few activities that you need to pay extra, we were able to limit the times we used these and so it worked well for us.

The staff were all lovely and very willing to help, through to the lads organizing the sports activities, waiters and waitresses, shop staff!

The caravan was lovely and clean and a good size, especially considering the cost was very reasonable.

The only down staff was our caravan was very close to the entertainment, which was great during the day, but a little noisy at night! However this didn't ruin our break and we would just request a caravan a little more tucked away next time!

All in all a fab holiday and one we would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi Yvonne P,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are so pleased to hear about your time and that you had a lovely weekend. We really hope your children went home with some fond memories to share with their friends.

We appreciate you comments about the team being helpful. We look forward to sharing your review.

We are sorry your caravan wasnt situated in the best location to meet your needs. Please feel free to contact the team at the park dorect on any future bookings and we will be more than happy to request a quiet location for you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back here at Devon Cliffs in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 3 night break in a prestige caravan booked through haven. The caravan was really nice and clean. The park its had plenty of things to keep our 2 year old busy. Found the spar on site quite expensive. The park is quite hilly in parts but we didn't mind that as it ment nice views of the sea from the caravan. Kids entertainment was great but did feel that meeting and having the pictures with characters was bit rushed. But overall park is great and will be going again :).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay-dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Jay-Dee J

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It’s great to hear you had a nice weekend.

We really appreciate your comments about your caravan being nice and clean. Sounds like you may have had a nice view as well. The upside to the park being hilly is that the majority of caravans have a view. Something which helps guest’s a lot.

We have passed your comments regarding the meet and greet onto the entertainments team for review and they are grateful for your feedback.

We hope to see you back here at Devon Cliffs in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a 4 day break with relatives from Mon-Fri. The park was nice although as its name suggests its on a cliff so steep hills. We upgraded to platinum caravan and asked for a sea view. On arrival we were greeted by Charlene at the welcome desk. She showed us on the map where our caravan was, it was a good location but not a clear sea view. She kindly moved us to another caravan with a fantastic view. She also managed to get my brothers family near our caravan after he upgraded. We explained the holiday was a reunion after my brother returned from Afghanistan. We asked if they offered forces discount but sadly they didn't move on price.

The caravan was modern and clean, down points were that no toilet roll provided and no hand towels. The main bedroom had an extra loo even though it was like a broom cupboard! The caravan also had decking which was great.

The beech was ok but lots of seaweed, preferred driving down to Exmouth beech which was nice. We were lucky and had great weather and it wasn't too packed as the kids were back at school.

Beech cafe was nice on site and loved the seafood, family dinner was very expensive though.

We ate in the food hall area a few nights, prices are higher than normal but I guess they have a captive audience. The fish and chips were awful and we paid £23 for 3 portions plus drinks :(

The spa was fairly priced and had lots of products, I even got a sewing kit from there.

The swimming pool was ok especially for kids. The changing area was a bit dirty but staff were trying to clean the floors. It was a shame they shut the outdoor pool especially as the weather was so good. I think to get a nice swim as an adult you would need to book the spa.

Evening entertainment was the usual cheesy stuff, the rooms were not very nice and smelt, sticky tables and chairs.

Overall the break was nice and good value for money, I don't think I would go during school holidays though as it would be packed and I don't think it would be as nice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pollyanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Pollyanna72

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We have passed your review onto the reception team, in specific Sharlene and her Manager who remember your booking well. They are really pleased to have been able to accommodate you in caravans near each other so you could enjoy your reunion. Despite a discount not being able on an upgrade price, your brother was placed into Platinum complimentary for the price of an upgrade to a Prestige. We are pleased you were able to be so close and enjoy your stay.

Different caravans have different layouts. Second toilets in caravans are normally hard to come by and are definitely a sought after requirement of many bookings. We are sorry there were no toilet roll or hand towels. Being a self catering holiday home you will need to provide this yourself. There is a question and answers section on Haven.com which covers anything you may need to bring. We are sorry if you missed this.

The seaweed during certain sea conditions and times of the year can leave a lot on the beach. We have a special tractor used in the mornings to clear which is used daily, but it can be washed in again when the tide changes. Exmouth beach is absolutely lovely and ideal for an evening walk if preferred as its all flat.

We are sorry if the changing rooms at the pool were not quite up to the high standards of cleanliness they normally present. Our teams are constantly cleaning throughout the day to keep on top of this. Sadly the outdoor pool closes on the 2nd September as this is the end of our peak programme. Although the weather has been lovely, it’s based on the time of year rather than the weather.

We are pleased to hear that overall you had a lovely stay, and we hope that you will visit us again in the future where we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am not deluded to think that it wasnt going to be crowded and noisy but you do expect it to be clean. We paid a small fortune to go during the school holidays. We have 4 children under the age of 12. We paid extra for a Deluxe plus, what we got i dont think was a deluxe plus. A list of things that were wrong with the holiday:

Couldn't use the shower or water at peak times, so if you want to shower do it at 3 pm in the afternoon. Apparently 2000 caravans using the water in the morning causes lack of water pressure.
Dirty caravan, we even found a used sanitry towel in the lounge area, and could write my name in the dust on various shelves in the lounge.
DVD player, chucked in for a deluxe plus, (literally chucked in)
Swimming pool was like human soup as so crowded, and dirty changing rooms.
entertainment area full in the evenings and a few nights we had to stand all night to watch the entertainment. Expensive wine, 6.75 for a glass of wine!
wish we had paid a little extra and gone abroad!

The good:
Staff were brilliant, especially the entertainment, activities and Mash and Barrell staff.
Lots of activities for the kids
good beach
Lovely little farm just off site.

I have written a letter of complaint. They are looking into it............

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireGeorge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi BerkshireGeorge01,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience and that we failed to meet your expectations.

We are pleased to hear that you have contacted our Guest Relations team regarding your concerns to allow us the opportunity to liaise with you direct and look into your complaints.

We will be in touch with you soon.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This has to be my 14th time here over the years - from a nipper to being 29 - Complex has changed alot over the years. Chaos used to be the best entertainment here - no idea why they took it away. Never the less, Ive just come home from a two week break. I take my motorbike down purely for the roads and pop into the complex in the evenings. Friendly barstaff - so much so within 3 nights they knew what I drank & pretty much had my drink in front of me as I was finishing another. The beach cafe has improved emmensly - to the point it looks stunning. Popped to the beach once, the path has been re-done to a smoother access, however its not ideal for people in wheelchaires as its pretty steep. Drinks are average £3.40 a pint, with or without lime (where as before they charged for lime/blackcurrent) Entertainment is pretty much the same, one week rota in Capones - some Funstars have proper 'uplift' where as others saw it as a chore. I will be going back, lovely drive there - plenty to see. Spar is resonable priced. The Photo is my own from the bottom of the ramp, looking over to the rest of the beach... Beach is lovely - if there is no seaweed - Which isnt the camps fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Louise S

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us here at Devon Cliffs. We are pleased to hear of your loyal custom and how you continue to come back year after year.
Its always pleasing to hear some feedback from customers who have seen the park undergo many changes over the years.

The branding of Haven over the years has changed some of the facilities. Chaos was an adult’s only venue, and as our market is family holidays we require the need to base our facilities and services on this. We hope that you still found something to keep you entertained.

It’s lovely to hear that you and the team here made a connection. It’s pleasing to know that the team identified you and were able to deliver service to a different level. We appreciate your comments.

We hope that you will be back with us again in the near future for you 15th visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

having been to devon cliffs for a 4 nights stay 2nd september. the park i can't fault or any of the staff. but i can say the pool does need a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to what haven say itts there flag ship park. ive been to better parks within haven group ie primrose valley filey which is brill, and has a very good pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Mark K,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs.

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with our swimming pool. In 2010 and 2011 2.4 million pounds was invested into our pool area replacing all tiles around the pool, and in the pool floor. The changing rooms were all re-furbished and built. The multi lane slide was also put into place plus other elements making it the light and airy environment it is today. This was the completion of Phases 1 and 2. There is a 3rd phase planned in the future, but in comparison to other Haven parks our pool is one of the most modern and up to date facility.

Primrose valley recently had a whole new pool complex built, so on comparison it will be different to Devon Cliffs.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
484 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing