We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great family holiday”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

just got back from a fantastic weeks holiday at devon cliffs.check in took 2 minutes and off we went to find our caravan. we were delighted with it.very clean, all mod cons and added benefit of huge balcony with great sea view. We stayed on Karo Place which was a 2 minute walk to all the amenities. we ate in the mash& barrell most days and found the food to be very good.the park is very clean and well cared for. the spar shop on site is very reasonably priced and has everything you need.the only down side for me is that we had to out by around 5pm every night in order to get a table for the kids entertainment which,in my opinion, started too early. all in all we had a great time and would defo go back

Room Tip: very hilly site but would recommend karo place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi steve w,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Devon Cliffs. Its great to hear you had a lovely holiday and you found your caravan to be in a suitable location with a few added extras.

We recieve many comments about the food venues on park, and we are pleased to hear you had a plesant experience, we will certainly pass this on.

Entertainment starts from 6pm - especially the childrens entertainment as we know that not all children are up late. Its advisable to get to the venue prior to this if you want to sit down as venues can become busy during peak times.

Thank you once again for your review and for recommending us - we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    885
    369
    176
    186
See reviews for
2,104
270
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from what was a great holiday, yes it was very busy but then again where isnt this time of year so not sure why people would complain about that. Because the weather was good, you didnt really notice how busy as there was so much to do so people were very spread out however on the one day we did have rain, everyone aimed for the swimming pool so it was manic but like I say, you cant blame the park for that other than maybe more indoor activities that don't involve spending your mortgage in the arcades. Would of gave a 5 however 3 points, 1: our double bed wasn't great as had to add a duvet to stop the springs in our back, 2: the outside of our caravan wasn't the cleanest with cigarette ends all over the place, broken paving stones and even plates under the van 3: security around the 10p drop machines could be better as several kids lingering to try and pinch peoples winnings. These 3 things were not the end of the world and we had a great week and would go back but something Haven could think about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Scott P,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you had a great holiday.

Its great to hear you had such nice weather for your holiday apart from the one day of rain, a typical British Summer thats for sure.

Thank you for your feedback about how we can imporve things in the future, we will certainly use this going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Devon Cliffs in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

we really enjoyed our time in devon cliffs the site is very well looked after very very clean the staff really good with any queries you may have we had a prestige caravan which was privately owend also to a high standard sea veiw ,varanda of which our two year old made full use of ,very good having two entertainment rooms so one more for kids other more for adults as thats is not always the case ,there was defo an added bonous ov southbeach cafe at bottom of site wich again was to a very high standard.I have stayed in a few of haven sites and by far this is the best one and i will defo be returning as my two year old loved the sea side squad also the the outdoor pools

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi nicola n,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your caravan with a lovely view and added benefit of a veranda.

Its great to hear you experienced alot of the facilities on offer. The South Beach is a fantastic asset to our site, and ideally situated by the beach with amazing views.

We will certianly let the entertainment team know your 2 year old has loved the Seaside Squad and we look forward to your visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We book Devon Cliff last minute based upon the excellent reviews. Upon arrival the reception staff were very friendly and gave us a very informative welcome pack. We were also given our fun passes which were needed at all times for security and accessing the various activities and buildings. These were colour coded cards that were easily lost in pockets, bags and a bit of a pain to keep making sure we had. Suggestion - do what they do in Europe. Give people a colour coded wristband. That way you always have it with you!

The first caravan we were placed in was absolutely filthy and stank! We had booked a Deluxe caravan but regardless of standard basic cleanliness and hygiene should be expected. The toilet was dirty, the TV had no reception, the sofa covered in dried on food and the kitchen utensils still covered in food debris. The positive. As soon as we went back to reception and said we were unhappy we were moved. Second caravan was privately owned and very clean. Location was close but not too close to reception and the activity centre. View over the site and the sea was really lovely.

Accommodation was very comfortable and well laid out. The beds were surprisingly firm. My only suggestions would be hooks on the back of the doors as storage was minimal. Pillows were like wafers. Either provide better pillows or give everyone two instead of one. The kitchen utensils were minimal. No sharp knives or scissors and only 6 sets of cutlery for a 8 berth caravan. Could do with one more ovenproof dish.

The site is huge and is very well maintained. Every day we saw staff out cleaning and tending the lawns and flowers. The staff in general are very friendly and happy to help. Only one grumpy guy taking bookings for the activities. He could have been having a bad days though.

The facilities are excellent. The pools very well maintained and the changing areas kept clean which was impressive considering the sheer numbers of guests using the pools. Pools were rather crowded but it is high season so this was to be expected. One comment would be why are only one of the two outdoor pools ( there are 3 but the third is attached to the spa) heated? This would have alleviated the crowding in the one heated pool.

Our boys did the archery as an extra paid activity and it was fun if a little over subscribed which meant they didn't get as many turns as we would have expected for the price.

We did not go to any of the restaurants on site or the evening entertainment as we preferred to explore the area and eat out.

Finally. The beach. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was and easy to access from the site. It's down a very steep slope so not for the less sure of foot. Beach was sandy with lovely rock pools to explore when the tide was out.

As a family we have done many caravan holidays in the UK and Europe and this site is one of the best we have stayed at. I would definitely recommend Devon Cliff and would go back for a weeks family holiday again.

Room Tip: We stayed on Hawthorn Mount which had a bit more space between the caravans. It was quieter than els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampshirewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi hampshirewillows,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you had a great time away with your family, and thank you for your suggestions and comments to help us improve things going forward.

We are sorry to hear your initial caravan was not clean on arrival - this certainly shouldn’t have been the case. We are pleased to hear this was quickly rectified once you had made us aware and you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay.

We are pleased to hear your comments about the site and grounds being clean and presentable, our grounds team are very passionate about our site, and will be happy to hear your feedback.

We will be more than happy to look at any requests regarding the location of your caravan in future and we will try our best to meet your needs. It’s great to hear you say you will come back, we thank you again for recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in a private caravan which was a Platinum. We booked with Newmans and paid £134 extra for the Haven passes. The caravan was great and we had a view over the bay.

The site is lovely, very clean and tidy. It's very hilly but we knew that before we arrived. We used the pool twice, the restaurant daily and the entertainment every evening.

My children loved the entertaiment. We watched for three hours every evening. You have to get there early to get a seat so we ate in the Mash and Barrel about 4pm. OR THE ASH AND BARREL as the M was missing from the sign! (if you eat before 5pm you get 25% off food). It was £3.40 a pint of Carlsberg. The soft drinks were quite expensive (£1.75 for a Capri Sun).
My only gripe with the Mash and Barrell was the queues for the Carvery and breakfast. They have a silly system where you queue up for 20 minutes to pay (you are given your hot drinks when you pay) then have to queue for another 20 minutes to get your food. When you get back to your table your tea is cold. I wasn't joining the queue again so didn't have a drink with breakfast. They need to have a help yourself drinks station like they do at Butlins. The queue to pay is so long because the staff have to make all the drinks.
We had the carvery on Sunday and the queue was a good 30 minutes long. It's not an eat as much as you like carvery so why you have to queue is puzzling. While we were in the queue the food for my two daughters arrived and they had to sit an eat alone (they are only 6 and 8) so I thought that this was bad.
My girls enjoyed the character breakfast although they missed meeting the characters with us there as we were queing.
Other stuff:
The Adventure golf is £12 for four people. The trampolines are £5 for three minutes. The bumper boats are £4 for three minutes.
Managed to get a 3G signal on the beach!
The Spar shop sell lovely soft rolls for a picnic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Jocomp,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our facilities here at Devon Cliffs. We are pleased to hear overall you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments about the team and the cleanliness of the park.

We have taken you feedback regarding the queuing system in the Mash & Barrel and passed onto the Complex Manager to review any new improvements or processes for this in the future. We are always looking for ways to imporve our systems and processes and apprecate your help with this.

We look forward to seeing you back here next year!

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a prestige caravan which was fabulous lovely veranda and spotless clean. Park is lovely along with the indoor pool and the beach.
Only problem was the evening entertainment was rubbish. Had to get there an hour early to get a table only for the kids to constantly be told to shhhhhhhh because of the bingo. If you go in the other club the kids entertainment wasnt the best either. Butlins is way better. However the wrestling show was great and the lady doing the commentry was hilarious.
Dont waste your money in the arcade you wont win a teddy unless its the little ones of the carousel machine.
Overall its a lovely park but improve the entertainment to make it worth the thousand pound i paid!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi amy I

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are pleased to hear you loved your caravan, you certainly were very lucky to have one with a Veranda, as these are generally Platinums. We love it that you loved our beach aswell. Somewhere that appeals to alot of us here, especially when the weather is as lovely as it has been.

We are sorry the Entertainment didnt live up to your expectations. During peak times the venues will be very busy, and there is only limited seating available. We are very lucky here offer 2 venues which helps to balance out the volume of guests in them. The entertainments programme is constructed using the expertise of our central team. We will certainly pass your comments onto them for any future improvements.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What started well ended brilliantly. First of all we were placed in a privately owned caravan which are always nicer, and ours was only 12 months old. Whilst we only payed for Deluxe this caravan was clearly top of the range, and we were delighted with our upgrade

We have stayed at a number of Haven parks over the years but this beats them all. It's more like a theme park than a holiday park, not just because of the facilities but because of the cleanliness. There are people CONSTANTLY cleaning both inside and out. Genuinely my first ever faultless experience

To be constructive I will just post some observations, otherwise this will just look like a love letter!

It's VERY hilly in places. The word cliffs is in the name for a reason. If you have someone using a wheelchair then advise staff at booking.

It's VERY busy in August. Get to the showbars early or you will never get a table, even after bingo.

4 nights isn't enough in the sunshine! Be prepared to visit again next year

THANKS TO THE STAFF AND BOURNE LEISURE FOR A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiodanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Radiodanno,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed a courtesy upgraded caravan.

We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing with other guests who maybe deciding to book, yes we are a hilly park and steeper in some places more than others, so guest with mobility issues would be advised to call the park and discuss specific requirements. During peak times we do advise guests to go to the venues early if they prefer to sit as seating is limited but we are fortunate to have 2 entertainment venues both offering a wide range of shows and acts.

If 4 nights isnt enough maybe a week next time? lets hope we get the same nice weather as we have been fortunate to have here so far. We are really glad you had a great holiday, and its our absolute privilege to be your holidaymakers!

See you soon!

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
471 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing