We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caravan park I have ever been to in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best caravan park I have ever been to in the UK”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked a four night stay via the sun holidays. After upgrading to luxury plus this cost my the 3 of us including passes about £120.

When we arrived we were greeted by the great security staff who were maning the barriers into and out of the park. We checked in with no waiting around but were told we couldn't go into our caravan 'till 3pm.

The luxury plus caravan was great, however I wouldn't want to stay in a lower standard caravan. It was super clean, we were really impressed. It had a double bedroom and 2 twin rooms. It also had a secondary toilet. We brought our own linen so once we had the caravan set up we went exploring.

For eating at the park there are a number of places The South Beach Cafe, this is a bit expensive and you really need to like seafood, we ate here once, it was nice but not my cup of tea. Then there is the mash and barrel this sells food a bit like harvester but also has specials on each night, we ate there twice and really enjoyed it. In the arcade area this was a papa johns and a burger king. Just outside of the arcade is a Starbucks and a spar. The is a big tescos about 5 mins from the park and I hear there is also a hungry horse but we didn't go.

As for the entertainment they have a great pool, truly great fun. We were so impressed. My son just loved the slides. You have lots of other activities put on by the park, some are free, some are not. You get a great booklet detailing all the times and cost. There is the arcade, I'm a sucker for a teddy machine but I never won once so they haven't got them set up to pay out very often. They have 2 entertainment clubs. One is ordinate for kids and the other for adults but kids are allowed in both. From the booklet the entertainment sounded great for both clubs but as our son couldn't hack staying up later than 7pm we didn't see any. We did see some shows in the day and played music bingo, I must say that the entertainment staff were great.

We went to lots of places outside of the park. Paignton Zoo was superb. There was a fun park on the sea front where you bought 50p tokens. We also went to a few other smaller places but I can't remember the names. If you go to the tescos there are literally hundred of leaflets there just have a google.

The beach was awesome, it was all sandy and was really long. I think only park guests could go there. We didn't get to go there much as weather wasn't great.

While we were there the park texted us offering us to stay the weekend for just £100, had it been great weather we would have as for a weeks holiday we would have only paid £220.

Now for the bad points, I only have 2. The first is the commando training center which was right next to the park and beach. You could hear gunshots and commands being shouted, it was a shame but do not let this put you off. The second was the park was hilly. We were situated close to the complex so that was OK but we had to drive down to the beach as too far to push pram, plus we are a tad lazy on the walking front.

So overall I would highly recommend this park to friends and we will be going back with the next sun holiday! Can't wait as my son should be talking by then and we can even more fun stuff with him.

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agsnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    910
    377
    183
    193
See reviews for
2,172
278
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

An excellent site, the staff on reception were knowledgeable and the site was Great.
A large site which is not suitable for the infirm as there were lots of hills and banks to walk to get to and from the main entertainment area and to the beach. There were a number of places to eat which were all good value for money. There were some great evening entertainment activities for the kids and the adults too.
I would definitely recommend it for families and I would like to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmasters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed on a Sun Promotion, upgraded to a "Luxury plus" caravan, unfortunatley the caravan was very old, freezing cold as it only had a gas fire in the lounge and the only thing luxury about it was the fact it was an extra 2 foot wide! The site is in a beautiful location by the sea, but is ruined by being next to a military base, we were awoken by gunshots at 8:30am in the morning and this on some days went on until 11pm!! We went away to have a relaxing time and was very disappointed to be freezing cold at night and disturbed throughout the day by the sound of gunfire from the Military base. I recommend you go somewhere else if you are looking for a comfortable peaceful holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good initial impression, the staff on reception were friendly and knowledgable.
The caravan overlooked the sea and was very modern and clean. The whole site was clean and litter free and had a good variety of indoor and outdoor facilities.
We ate in the Mash & Barrel every night and the food was very good and well presented. The bar and restaurant staff were excellent and at no time did we wait for more than a minute to be served at the bar, and the food arrived very quickly -even at busy times. The staff here seem highly trained and motivated.
It is definitley the best site we have ever stayed on in the UK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed last year and loved it so went back this year. Devon cliffs did not disappoint. Last year we stayed in the deluxe caravan but this year went prestige and felt that the upgrade was well worth it. This was the nicest caravan we have stayed in.
The beach is beautiful and the food in the mash and barrel was tasty with quick friendly service.

We will return again next year!

Room Tip: Caravans on palm avenue or Hawthorne mount generally have great views over the sea and park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have just returned from my 4th visit to Devon Cliffs and it is the best UK campsite of this kind that I have had the pleasure of being at.
The facilities for all ages are brilliant, with a wide range of activities for children, hosted by extremely nice people, good restaurants for all, and a clean well maintained environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at Devon Cliffs with a sun holiday, upgraded and wasn't let down. Parked the car right outside caravan, amazing view off the sea from our windows. Not very far from main complex, which was great. Have a 12 and a 4 year old who enjoyed every min. Great food on site tried nearly every food place there. Costa coffee was a blessing, pool was great for all ages. Highly reccomend and will defo go back. Only one thing if I had to moan,would be a beautiful beach but a steep hill to push a buggy up.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateyp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
404 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,213 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing