We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a war zone than a holiday park- AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More like a war zone than a holiday park- AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed on a Sun Promotion, upgraded to a "Luxury plus" caravan, unfortunatley the caravan was very old, freezing cold as it only had a gas fire in the lounge and the only thing luxury about it was the fact it was an extra 2 foot wide! The site is in a beautiful location by the sea, but is ruined by being next to a military base, we were awoken by gunshots at 8:30am in the morning and this on some days went on until 11pm!! We went away to have a relaxing time and was very disappointed to be freezing cold at night and disturbed throughout the day by the sound of gunfire from the Military base. I recommend you go somewhere else if you are looking for a comfortable peaceful holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    887
    370
    177
    187
See reviews for
2,112
272
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good initial impression, the staff on reception were friendly and knowledgable.
The caravan overlooked the sea and was very modern and clean. The whole site was clean and litter free and had a good variety of indoor and outdoor facilities.
We ate in the Mash & Barrel every night and the food was very good and well presented. The bar and restaurant staff were excellent and at no time did we wait for more than a minute to be served at the bar, and the food arrived very quickly -even at busy times. The staff here seem highly trained and motivated.
It is definitley the best site we have ever stayed on in the UK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed last year and loved it so went back this year. Devon cliffs did not disappoint. Last year we stayed in the deluxe caravan but this year went prestige and felt that the upgrade was well worth it. This was the nicest caravan we have stayed in.
The beach is beautiful and the food in the mash and barrel was tasty with quick friendly service.

We will return again next year!

Room Tip: Caravans on palm avenue or Hawthorne mount generally have great views over the sea and park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have just returned from my 4th visit to Devon Cliffs and it is the best UK campsite of this kind that I have had the pleasure of being at.
The facilities for all ages are brilliant, with a wide range of activities for children, hosted by extremely nice people, good restaurants for all, and a clean well maintained environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at Devon Cliffs with a sun holiday, upgraded and wasn't let down. Parked the car right outside caravan, amazing view off the sea from our windows. Not very far from main complex, which was great. Have a 12 and a 4 year old who enjoyed every min. Great food on site tried nearly every food place there. Costa coffee was a blessing, pool was great for all ages. Highly reccomend and will defo go back. Only one thing if I had to moan,would be a beautiful beach but a steep hill to push a buggy up.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateyp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent park and location as not only does the park have plenty to do on site, exmouth itself has loads for kids, ie fun park 50p a token, 7 tokens for water walking which is nearly half price to what you pay at Devon cliffs. The Devon cliffs is very clean and tidy, only complaint is the extra charges for activities are way too high £8 for water jets and don't know how family's of 2 or more kids can afford this per day? £4 is more realistic. You have a large tescos 5 min drive up,the road and a hungry horse restaurant which is up the road about 7min in a car where a family of 4 can eat for less than £20 and the portions are large. To keep costs down. The beach on the park is lovely a nice little cove which stretches for quite a while with lovel cares but again very expensive lollies are nearly £2 each again you are looking at £10 for a family of 5. W had a standard 3 bed caravan which wasn't very clean but they are cleaned by young teenagers so what do you expect, w had to go out and buy disinfectant to clean all floors. We also had ants but we called reception and they were dealt with quickly. Would definitely come back here again on a sun holiday offer as dont understand anyone paying big money to holiday here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plocke1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week May 4th to 11th In a Private rental Caravan through Newmans Holidays. The caravan was awesome, real luxury with a fantastic position front row view of the Beach.
The South Beach Terrace and Cafe were our favourite areas having a gorgeous restaurant and play area for the kids.The meal we ate here on our last night was exceptional, a little expensive but you get what you pay for.We also ate on the terrace at the Mash and Barrell a few times and started most days at Starbucks for a wifi fix.
I visited The Spa for a treatment while we were there and it was really top notch. Beautiful facilities.
Although we bought passes, the entertainment scene simply wasnt us and the pool although looking newly renovated had a really bad odour. So whilst we would absolutely visit here again, we wouldnt bother with the passes.
The only other negative was the Royal Marines Target Shooting Range adjacent to the hoiday park which started at 9am and one night they were still shooting at 10.30 pm!
We visited the colourful exclusive Exmouth Marina via the site open top bus and went on the stuart line cruiser boat, all really good. The kids loved the Kents caves in Torquay and the Beach which part of the Holiday park is wonderful, the kids had a ball.
We will return but will rent the same caravan and won't bother with the passes.

Room Tip: Rent a private caravan via Newmans and you get to see lots of photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,761 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
13.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing