We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Barn at Exmouth”
Review of Barn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Beautiful listed building in superb grounds overlooking the sea. If you are looking for a modern hotel this is not for you, but if you are looking for character and charm then it is. Plenty of choice for breakfast, including "full English". Large comfortable room with furniture to match the character of the building but "mod cons" included. Very large bed. Very welcoming and helpful owners, Cheryl and Chris, Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Select a "superior" room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Barn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed staying in our room at the top of the hotel with its lovely sea views. The room was comfortable & had all that we needed. The bathroom was adequate, but old fashioned. It was great to be able to bring our dog. The garden appeared somewhat neglected & the pool, we were told, not usable (what a shame in this lovely weather). Breakfast was fine, the usual Full English with variations. Staff were friendly & polite.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room with its great sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice house with lovely gardens . An Arts and Crafts House unusually shaped , very lovely although not Arts and Crafts stye internally still nicely done. Rooms and garden had views of the sea and just a short walk to the beach.. Nice swimming pool (Although small) which was very welcome in the heat (so good to be able to write that) . Good breakfast , I thought of it more like an up market bed and breakfast than a hotel as there was no evening meal or room service and the bar was an honesty bar ( very relaxed). Would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great find, fab quirky building, great location, comfy bed, friendly staff and great breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others - but agree feels more like an upmarket B&B xxx Amazing views across the estuary, a really ealxing stay - I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at The Barn for the sixth time this week, if you ar looking for a B&B in Exmouth area this will fit your bill. Clean, excellent surroundings, good breakfasts.Diffierent rooms with great views. Well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Number six would be the one,even though we missed out this time!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROY C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in January 2012 (despite what it says below) and we chose this hotel due to its great location and large room and it did not disappoint. The hotel and grounds are very quirky which adds to its character, the room we had was large with a sofa and overlooked the garden. It was quiet and we found the staff very welcoming and friendly. They recommended the restaurant Les Saveurs to eat at and it was amazing so I recommend also. The beech is a 5 minute walk away and the town a quick taxi ride. The breakfast is basic but good all the same and yes a little tlc would help but it shouldn't put you off staying there as it was well we equipped and clean. I recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checked01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The building and gardens are lovely but all is in need of some TLC. The pool was clean and recently re-lined, but the path and gardens were covered in weeds which was such a shame as the garden could really be amazing!
The room was named superior, but the bathroom was VERY disappointing. The corner of our bath panel was cracked and the tile near the sink/pipes was broken. I can tell the new owners are attempting to do it up, but for the £129 per night it's not cutting it yet.
The 1 hour window for breakfast between 8 and 9 is a huge disappointment and smacks of B & B not hotel. The staff were all very friendly and the waitress was lovely but she was clearly rushed off her feet to serve all tables in the hour.
I think this hotel will be the best in Exmouth one day, but for now... view it as a 3 star B & B with lovely staff and the potential to be amazing.
PS The crisp white bedlinen was spotless, as were the towels.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrygal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
459 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing