We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in name only”
Review of Barn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed in hotels and B+Bs so I know the difference. I don't mind staying in either of these types of accomodation but let's call a spade a spade: the 'Barn Hotel' is a B+B! Anywhere that makes all the guests come down for breakfast between 8-9am (full, noisy room with everyone waiting to be served at the same time) is operating on B+B principles of 'you will eat when we tell you'. This was not a particularly welcome feature after getting to bed after 1am (attending a formal function) and felt very controlling. The full english breakfast was tasty though but it took two extra requests before the toast arrived after 20 minutes.
We had a large, spacious room with great views of the garden and sea. The room was clean but no heating made it feel rather cold in the evening and again in the morning, especially in the bathroom; it may be June but nobody has told the weather! The duvet was really thin (I had no idea they came that thin) and cant imagine what Tog rating it was but it felt inadequate for the external temperature and I was cold. The bathroom was very tired with a drizzle of a shower and an incredibly noisy fan that went on for some time after the light was turned off. The owners really need to invest in refurbishing the bathrooms as a first port of call. There's an honesty bar downstairs which is a good idea but the fridge did not work for cold drinks (although they were able to provide some ice).
The Barn has a great location and friendly staff (who hide away in another part of the building) but we would probably stay elsewhere if we visited Exmouth again, as we really wanted a hotel for these prices not a B+B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAGDEVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Really lovely 'hotel' although posh b&b would be a better description. Lovely room. Bathroom very dull considering the room was so nice. Gardens and pool lovely in the gorgeous weather we had. Matthew seems to do absolutely everything there and very well. Extremely helpful and efficient. We did not see any other staff at all. Breakfast was as huge as you wanted it. If I had to be pinickity, I would like hot milk with the coffee. But otherwise, spot on. Definitely worth a revisit!

Room Tip: We had room 5, our friends room 3. Our room was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booked on the day for this hotel which meant they did not receive the information we were arriving and so despite check in being from 1500 to 1900 no one was at the hotel when we arrived we tried phoning and could hear the phone inside ringing after twenty mins another guest returned and we were able to enter the lobby where another number for the duty manager was displayed who had just popped out bless her she rushed back and checked us in maybe the duty manager number should be displayed outside to avoid this happening to anyone else as it did feel like we had arrived at a ghost hotel having said this it is a beautiful country house clean and nicely decorated lovely sunny breakfast room (full english and a choice of cereals,fruit and yogurts) and patio area the pool was still closed but being made ready i think as someone was working on it the morning we left room 12 was large and had beautiful sea views across the exe river and out to sea very comfortable beds and lovely large towels for the bath the two members of staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly so overall we were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Barn. It is very well located with outstanding views of the sea and the Exe estuary. We stayed (again) in room 9 which is extremely quiet with splendid views. The bed is large and comfortable and the room clean and tidy with a tea making facility. Parking is plentiful and it is a short walk to the seafront and beach though somewhat further to the town centre.
There is a TV in the room with Freeview (although reception on BBC 1 & 2 is weak-an Exmouth problem apparently). Breakfast is very good but is sadly served only between 8-9 am even on weekends which is a little antisocial when on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRM2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mathew G and other recent reviewers describe the Barn, and our experiences and impressions very well. In summary: more like a B &B than a hotel, definitely not a 4 star, tired and in need of a freshening up, over priced. But in a good location with an excellent view of the sea. The only bar refrigerator was broken, but no one on the staff seemed to care, so after a long hot day's driving, our options were warm drinks or no drinks. This could be a great B & B with a little serious effort and some investment a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flexecutives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Made to feel very welcome on arrival and the staff could not do enough for you. Lovely breakfast after a comfortable sleep in a very clean spacious room. Fantastic views and just a short walk from the beach. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beautiful exterior and views.

However, as per the negative comments below, the interior decor, facilities and standard of cleanliness was very poor and not reflective of the 4* star label or the price commanded per night. We found animal hair on the baby high chair. In our room light bulbs were blown, the curtain track was hanging down and the bathroom extractor sounded like a generator. Bins remained unemptied during our stay which was not great when travelling with a baby.

The owners / managers seemed very disinterested in guests or the upkeep of the hotel. The saving grace was the very polite and friendly young man serving breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saseasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
502 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $80 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing