We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion, but in a nice way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Started our break in room 112 which has no view (it was the only room available for our first night) but moved to 115 on the second night which has a breathtaking sea view. Great reception staff and the excellent standards were maintained across all the staff. Breakfast and evening meals were very nice with plenty of options. The hotel is from a bygone era when British seaside resort hotels were “the place to stay” it’s a little faded now but still worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 865 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is not a 4 star quality hotel. Decor is tired and shabby. We had a room with with a stunning view.totally let down by a bathroom where the shower was useless. Had tinned fruit on breakfast buffet! Cooked breakfast was so salty we had to leave it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked 2 rooms here to stay with friends. I booked one suite and one double room, but upgraded to 2 suites on arrival. I was very impressed by the size of the suites. We had one with a seaview, a large double bedroom, lounge and TWO bathrooms! We were only there for a weekend, but there was plenty of room to spread out if you were staying for week. The décor was a bit tired buy the cleanliness and space more than made up for that.

Breakfast was freshly cooked, not congealed on a buffet and Sunday evening carvery was both delicious and filling! The weather was warm enough to take advantage of the open air swimming pool which was quiet enough to relax around after a day out.

Only 5 mins walk to the beach through the gardens, this was a great place to spend a couple of days with friends. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a suite with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin-P500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Devoncourt. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Our room was very spacious & comfortable. However the decor was looking tired/dated. The television was a very old crt type with a separate Freeview box which we couldn't get to work. However, when this was mentioned to reception it was fixed very quickly. It transpired that a previous guest had been playing about with the cables. Cord pull for the bathroom light was a bit temperamental. I kept forgetting to tell reception though.
The rest of the hotel was also from a different age. However, I don't think restyling to bring it up to date would be a good idea. All it needs is a bit of redecoration.
The indoor pool was excellent. I didn't get around to using the gym or outdoor pool but they both looked pretty good. The gym did seem to have all the latest kit though.
The grounds were impressive. How many places you stay at have a tennis court, putting green, croquet lawn & outdoor pool?
Location is great, walk through the grounds then a short walk & you are on the promenade. Then it is only a 10 to 15 minute walk into town.
The bar is well stocked & there is real ale for sale. Bar food was high quality.
Restaurant was good too. Not a massive selection in the menu though. Quality was excellent. One reviewer had complained of soggy vegetables. We cetainly didn't experience that.
No complaints about breakfast either. Good quality, well cooked & tasty. I hate having to make my own toast though.
Overall, a great place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't take any notice of other reviewers saying this hotel is dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only had one night in this hotel and it was really quaint but rather tired. We had a suite comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen area and a balcony overlooking the lovely gardens which is great for children. There were leisure facilities and you could walk down to the beach (5minutes) through the garden and across the sand dunes. The staff were really friendly and helpful but the one thing that let it down in my opinion, was the breakfast. The selection of jams/ marmalade was poor, the porridge wasn't great, the toast was thin sliced bread. My sister had a cooked breakfast and to be fair she said it was ok.

I feel that it is a hidden treasure if only someone would update it a little and improve the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

recently spent a wonderful long weekend at the hotel for a wedding with all the family. All our rooms were spacious and clean, staff very friendly. Made use of the gorgeous heated outdoor pool and croquet lawn and the gardens were well kept. The lovely sandy beach very accessable from the hotel gardens, a 5mins. walk.Had wedding reception in the sun lounge and patio, comfortable and spacious with lovely views of the sea. Didn't have time to use the indoor sports facilities, but I'd definitely go back there for a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenllanidloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Yes the rooms are dated but are perfectly clean and large because of the age of the hotel and thank goodness for it. This hotel has not been updated so you get a big room and big bathroom unlike these horrid modernised hotels that try to cram two rooms into one. The whole aim of this hotel is to keep with old fashioned values of politeness, so if it was updated in it's appearance it would loose the whole theme of what it is trying to achieve. The staff strive to do everything they can to make their clients stay a happy one and nothing is too much trouble and it is done with genuine politeness and friendliness not the plastic smiles found on so many faces in the industry now a days.
I did not eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was good on one morning and not so great on the second morning.
The views over the sea were super and uninterrupted by other buildings and it is within easy reach of the beach.
The facilities were good although I only tried the outdoor pool which was warm and clean. The gardens were lovely and well cared for.

I loved this place because I could see beyond the exterior and found a perfectly run family business with the emphasis on the guest and not the cosmetic appearance. I could see that it may not appeal to guests who may be used to impersonal hotels that are part of chains where no one really cares about the guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must, very quiet, fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delgirl1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $58 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing