We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent a few nights here recently and tend to agree with both the positive and negative comments here. It certainly is an old rabbit warren of a place and the décor in the rooms and corridors leaves a lot to be desired. (who chose that awful striped wallpaper ?) The staff were indeed very helpful and friendly. The food was OK(ish) and the Brasserie service excellent at all times but the Continental breakfast buffet layout was dismal. The only pastries/bread on show were a few plain croissants and sliced bread for toasting - not even any bread rolls. Fruit was just a few bowls of tinned fruit - no fresh. The location is excellent and you can imagine that at one time the gardens must have been magnificent but are badly in need of some TLC. The people here who have been complimentary maybe never strayed far from the terraces. For instance the rose garden at the lower level was so overgrown with weeds I felt like jumping in and trying to sort it out myself and the lawns were very weedy too. Overall though it was good value for money including for food and drinks and we would stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Travellight236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 865 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Devoncourt for one night in July. I guess marketing people would say there is a 'timeless' quality to the place...I would probably say 'dated'. Now I don't necessarily find that a bad thing - staff were friendly when we saw them, the grounds were well kept and you could tell there were a number of regular guests who have stayed before and love this place. It offered an indoor and outdoor swimming pool (we had a dip in both) as well as a jacuzzi and sauna. There's also this crazy foot massaging machine in the gym which is well worth a go!

I think my problem was that what we arrived to was a little unexpected. We'd booked through lastminute.com and from looking at the pictures it appeared to be a bit more boutique and the rooms certainly appeared a bit more modern. We're a couple in our 20s and when we entered our room I did get the giggles - kitchenette looked like something in my nanna's house and chairs that must be older than I am. As I said, that's not a negative comment per se (they were perfectly comfortable) but just be aware if you're booking expecting a 4* modern affair you're not heading to the right place!

I could imagine people who've been going there for years this would be nostalgic and lovely. We'll probably look elsewhere :-) xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmooey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a short break here in June with my husband. One of our favorite hotels which we visit regularly, summer and winter. Gardens are spacious and beautiful and contain an an outdoor swimming pool (summer use), tennis court, putting green and croquet lawn. Around Christmas gardens are lit up with hundreds of fairy lights and illuminated plastic figures - nativity, snow-white etc - spectacular and wonderful for kids of all ages. Indoor leisure centre is excellent with indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam-room, sauna and gym. Entertainment and restaurant are good. Location is excellent - Exmouth promenade and beach in easy walking distance. Hundreds of attractions in the locality. We like catching the bus to Budleigh Salterton then walking back on the coastal path. Hotel terrace looks out over gardens to the sea - spectacular. Manager and staff are friendly and always very helpful - will go out of their way to solve any problems. Home from home atmosphere. Rooms are comfortable and functional. Two minor problems that don't bother us but might not suit everyone. First, the furnishings are a little tired and dated. Second, hotel car-parking can be difficult at peak times.The upper car park is small, irregular in shape and can be difficult to manoeuvre around. Access to the lower car park is round a bend under an archway. However, parking on the street outside the hotel is an alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were pleased to enjoy a week at the Devoncourt this June, and to find it as good as ever in most ways and better in some. Restaurant and bar meals are varied and of high quality, served by friendly and energetic staff. Reception, porters and room staff were similarly well motivated and helpful.

It is good that optional day and evening activities are still arranged and that indoor and outdoor facilities continue to be above average and are well maintained. Where else are there so many things to do?

As regular visitors over the years we have been used to meeting old an new friends in Exmouth. One of our favourite old friends is the Devoncourt Hotel

Room Tip: Best with a view of the sea, The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 907Dai_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We holidayed at the Devoncourt 35 years ago with our children and decided we would like to have a sentimental trip. Although we were a bit apprehensive about our visit, as things are seldom the same as we remember,we were absolutely over the moon when we arrived. So much so that we booked another week. The hotel has changed little, admittedly it needs some upgrading but the grounds are magnificent and outdoor and indoor facilities are great.
Our accommodation comprises a studio with a wonderful view over the gardens and down to the sea. Just a dream! We can have nice meals in our own studio which is extremely well equipped.
The hotel restaurant has a varied menu and pleasant surroundings. Wonderful holiday!!

Room Tip: Amelia Suite Room305
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful which made the stay more enjoyable. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and confortable. The hotel really made an effort to plan entertainment for the guests so if you were there for a week, I think there would be plenty to do, especially if its raining. The gardens were beautiful, well tended and had a view of the sea. The only slightly annoying thing is the car park. It has not been well marked out and is difficult to manoeuvre around. Good family holiday hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed two days here over weekend, It was well run all staff friendly and room was good. facilities and garden brilliant. a truly relaxing escape. that provides for couples and families. We found the restaurant had a good and varied menu with staff helpful. The room had ample storage space with kitchen and jacuzzi bath. The leisure facility was well equipped, pool with view over garden, steam room, sauna, exercise equipment. a lovely terrace pool outside and much more.

Room Tip: room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillroberts191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Resort & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Resort & Apartments

Address: 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth EX8 2EX, England (Formerly Devoncourt Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $58 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncourt Resort & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and well situated Guest Accommodation with a range of rooms, many with sea views, balcony, kitchenette. All have en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and access to the 'Lifestyle' Leisure Club which is on site. Has a well thought of Restaurant and Bar operation, 'Brasserie16', serving first rate quality meals - renowned for it's excellent carvey's served on 3 days of the week. Beautiful Gardens overlooking the beaches of Lyme Bay in the vibrant town of Exmouth,on the mouth of the River Exe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncourt Resort & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Hotel Exmouth
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing