We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reality Check”
Review of Bumble and Bee

Bumble and Bee
Ranked #6 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in the tranquil setting of Manor Gardens, Exmouth the Bumble and Bee provides a relaxing environment to enjoy hot drinks, fresh coffee, award winning cream teas, home made cakes and delicious sandwiches and platters.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Reality Check”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After reading such enthusiastic reviews I was looking forward to my visit to Bumble and Bee Exmouth unfortunately I found the reality was rather different to what I had read. The location in Manor Gardens is pleasant. The food & drink I had were disappointing. The scone was just average & the coffee had instant coffee sprinkled on it. Maybe you like instant coffee sprinkled over yours but I don't & I was not given the choice. Food & drink can make up for a lot if the environment is comfortable. Unfortunately the tearoom/restaurant does not fulfil that requirement. I fully agree with recycling but I leave you to make your own decisions as to the comfort of the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonAdorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    62
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local food in chilled location”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I had the posh ploughmans with 3 local cheeses. Good value and well presented. My Lola, aged 5, had a fresh sandwich with a frothy children's hot chocolate. Excellent value and lovely staff. Definitely going back next time in Manor Gardens.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Readley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exmouth's hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Bumble and Bee is a delightful, stylish, local and independent licensed cafe bar, with a warming atmosphere and a mouth watering menu.

Set within the pretty Manor Garden's of Exmouth, Bumble and Bee is a welcoming asset to Exmouth and certainly a place to visit!

I visited the cafe bar for a coffee earlier today, relaxed in the tranquil surrounding and people watched for a while. A delightful mix of age and social groups, you could easily visit for meetings, coffee and cakes, lunch or even a evening meal (when open late) and of course a glass of wine or local cider.

I will be certainly visiting again and next time taking friends, family (from children to grandparents) or just myself for a spot of lunch and to finish some work as free wifi is also available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Sauced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, stylish and deelish”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stumbled across this fab cafe by chance , had a lovely coffee and returned for breakfast. My goodness, the eggs florentine were amazing! Loved the look and feel of the place, the staff were fantastic..highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home made & delicious”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Popped in on Bumble & Bees opening day& would (& have) highly recommend it.
It's great to have somewhere that you can sit in the sunshine, watch the kids play, take the dog & enjoy great coffee or a glass of wine or chilled local cider.
Inside the cafe it is modern & quirky in style & very welcoming, so even if the sun doesn't shine it would cheer you up on a cold wet day (&we get plenty of those).
We tried lots of different home made cakes all of which were delicious.
Should be a great place to spend Exmouth Festival.
We will defiantly be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nellie2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumble and Bee also viewed

 

Been to Bumble and Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing