We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic food”
Review of Spice Lounge

Spice Lounge
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great authentic food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I called in for an early evening meal.The staff were welcoming. I love Biryani and this was the best one that I have had. I choose this type of meal as I don't like too much sauce and the vegetable sauce is served seperately allowing me to choose the amount that I add but the Biryani was cooked to perfection and very moist that I didn't need the sauce . Looking forward to going again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redbrickwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    71
    11
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The restaurant is large comfortable and very clean the staff made us feel very welcome and the food was delicious - very tasty .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

4 of us went here mid-week, it was a bit quiet with only about a dozen of us in there so we didn't know what to expect...we needn't have worried ..the food was really good, we all ordered different things and each meal was a completely different taste, not the same sauce with a twist as we got at Denleys in Topsham recently (won't be going back there)!!...the Biriani was superb......the rice's and breads were really good.......we will be back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spice l, Manager at Spice Lounge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last week my friend and I took our wives to the Spice Lounge Exmouth. Having parked in the large car park to the rear of the site we entered the restaurant. We were welcomed by a smartly dressed gent who took our names and then escorted us to our table, which had been set up for us. At the table the wine waiter took our order and we looked through the varied menu. What a good choice of meals. Our waiter took our orders and asked if we required further refreshment. Another round of drinks were ordered.
The food arrived (three different choices) together. All well presented and I must say the volume was rather a lot for me. Due to the size of the portions, it did enable us to try each others meals.
All very tasty and enjoyable.
The service, atmosphere and music made for a good evening.
Overall a pleasant surprise for us all. Thankyou.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff551673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went here with 8 of us and we all ordered the "buffet" meal - NB this isn't a help yourself buffet, it's starter, main, bread, rice, side. It works out excellent value.

The food is really lovely and there are plenty of dishes to choose from - some a little more unusual than your standard Indian Restaurant so great for people who like something different - loads of fish dishes too :-) Portions are a reasonable size and the breads are lovely and fresh.

The restaurant was very quiet when we went, but it was late afternoon on a Sunday; the waiter said they are very full on a Saturday. It would be good to see some steadier custom so the restaurant can really make a go of things.

I'll definitely be going back and would highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing