We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room with great views”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed December 27, 2010

One night stopover and got the last room available.We were expecting a cupboard, but scored a huge room with amazing water views.The bathroom was well appointed with a large bath and nice thick towels.We had dinner downstairs in the restaurant which was delicious and efficient despite most of Exmouth having their Xmas parties there that night.Breakfast was OK with cereals toast and hot English breakfast if desired. Although the street is very slightly out of town it has the most amazing and elevated view,and down the road are the houses of famous historical figures (poor Mrs Byron and her daughter to name one). A good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emeritus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights for a wedding and the reception was also held there. I've never done that before & it does make for an easy trip to bed!
The hotel was built in 1820 & has been tastefully modernised. I'd describe it as quirky & characterful, with period furnishings & memorablilia. Our room was spotless with a brand new bathroom. The rooms vary - the nicest are to the front & side & have lovely views of the beach, which is an easy walk down the hill. I'd be less keen on the rear facing rooms. Access to these is a bit up & down & my elderly mother in law struggled a bit on the stairs.
The town centre is nearby as is the marina. There is a very small car park at the back which fills quickly. Otherwise you have to take pot luck in the surrounding streets.
There is a lift but its so small its strictly for immediate family only!
There is a restaurant on the ground floor, Fennels, that serves excellent food. There is also an Italian restaurant in the basement that is permanently full - booking is essential.
I couldn't fault the reception - held in a large function room to the rear - the food, wine, service & ambiance were all excellent. There is even a private lounge beneath if the post reception disco gets too much!
All in we loved it & are looking forward to a repeat visit. My only criticism is that the cooked breakfast isn't up to the same standard & could be improved. Don't let that put you off though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidneycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights in July. Hotel is in a great position with super views.
The Reception staff were excellent, though for a three star we were not shown to our rooms or offerred help with luggage. however every request was dealt with quickly and efficently by reception.
The rooms were clean and of good size and the beds were comfortable.
The barman was superb as was the night porter and the bar snacks served in the bar during the evening were very good and excellent value. We did not try either of the restaurants. Wi-fi was free.
The breakfast was disapointing, very limited cold buffet, tasteless sausages and mushrooms ( i think they were tinned) and the breakfast staff seemed rushed and were very abrupt - as if they wanted you to know they were busy.

We would stay again for the position, cleanliness and ambience and friendliness of most of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is an elegant hotel that exudes charm and history. The staff are highly professional and yet I was given a warm and friendly welcome. The car park was full, but on street parking directly in front of the hotel was available . My third floor room was spacious and spotless, with breathtaking views of the sea and estuary. I also had a large en-suite which again, like the rest of the hotel, was spotless.Breakfast is served in the ground floor restaurant, with lovely views of the sea. My hot breakfast was excellent and substantial. Dinner is also served in the Italian restaurant, where the ambience, service and food are again excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Beacon Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

They have oviously spent quite a lot of money on the hotel since we last stayed here - especially on the downstairs areas - some bedrooms must obviously still be on the update list but ours was very good with great views
The restaurant in the hotel offers excellent food and VERY good service - didn't eat downstairs in the seperate Italian one

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank BristolBigRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed for one night whilst on a business trip to the area...the position was excellent with seaviews from the main hotel and close enough to walk to the beach if on holiday....our room was in the new courtyard at the rear of the hotel......the room was large and furnished to a satisfactory standard....the bed was comfortable.....the window looked out onto a street which was quiet noisy in the morning...presumably with local people going to work....the seagulls were also VERY vocal quite early.......plenty of storage....could have done with a couple of easy chairs to watch tv rather than having to sit on the bed or one of the two high back chairs....the bathroom was very big.....but the shower was a very small corner shower when there was plenty of room for a bigger one which would have been much better....also could have done with a seperate table or something to put all your toiletries on.....had to balance them on the cistern.....there was more than enough room for this.....the staff were very friendly....the breakfast was great....had a meal in the Italian restaurant in the evening....we felt that that was just Ok......overall not a bad hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Royal Beacon Hotel for three nights in May. The hotel is situated on a hill in the centre of Exmouth, a Devon seaside town, with views overlooking the estuary of the River Exe, across to Dawlish Warren and the red-cliff coastline to Lyme Bay. (Exmouth is about eight miles from the Devon capital of Exeter).

The hotel was built two centuries ago and great lengths have been taken to maintain the elegance and comfort enjoyed by the aristocracy of yesteryear (such as deep-seated sofas and chairs in the hotel's main bar).

Owned and operated by the Nightingale family, who are ever present on-site to ensure the operation is maintained to their high standard, we found the staff to be courteous and obliging, the rooms comfortable and welcoming. For us, the highlight of our stay was the wonderful food served in the two hotel restaurants - Fennels, which overlooks the sea, and Donato's an Italian-influenced eatery located in a renovated wine cellar downstairs, which has an extensive menu and superb selection of wines. Fresh fish and local produce are brought in daily. Mmmmmm!

The hotel is only about a five minute walk to the two kilometer-long sand beach, or the centre of town. There are some great cliff walks to be had along Devon's Jurassic coast, or for those who enjoy a challenging hike, the bleak beauty of Dartmoor is but an hour's drive away.

We left the hotel with much regret to continue our tour, but have promised ourselves to return before too long. The Royal Beacon really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellyMuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $56 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing