We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year stay”
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Beacon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed with friends for new year food was of a very high standard as was the restaurant manager enjoyed are stay in the court yard rooms as my wife is disabled , bit of fun going from one lift to another we will go back again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 485 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent New Year here with friends. Had a fabulous time. The food is amazing and exceptional value- restaurant staff are lovely.
Our only issue was that our room was not serviced on the 2nd day ... A little disappointing but we can cope - everyone makes mistakes.
The view from our room was superb ... Even in the rain !
Fabulous way to spend New Year - Exmouth is terrific - fireworks on the beach- lovely !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time time to review our hotel, the feedback we receive from all our guests is very important to us.

I'd also like to thank you for choosing to see in the New Year with us, we hope you had a wonderful time.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the housekeeping. I can assure you this is an isolated incident and has been taken up with the department to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

just got back from a 3 day break over the new year with friends, had a really good time, the hotel had good sized room & bathroom comfortable bed & the full english breakfast was fabulous lots to choose from on breakfast menu.
Had a 5 coarse dinner new years eve really good did't have dinner in the restaurant but i would presume it would on par with our new years food.
Can recommend this hotel good bar service etc.

Room Tip: choose a sea view above 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemarg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Upon arriving, I was very surprised by the Hotel itself. A well laid out hotel reception to include its own car park, Warm friendly staff. Even an Italian restaurant within the hotel. The room was warm and cosy, everything you could ask for. The bar near reception was well laid out and inviting. The barman friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We Fancied a night away by the Sea within easy walking to pubs/clubs/shops, but far enough so as to get away and recover in peace. This Hotel has it all.Excellent comfy easy going Bar and good Breakfast to Help one recover and start the day off well..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been visiting the Beacon on and off for the last ten years and it has hosted family occasions for us in the past. We love the views from the front of the hotel and consequently always book a seaview room. This hotel has a charm about it and coupled with the fact that it is in a lovely part of the country, makes it a hotel that we love to visit.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good - we often eat in the bar which offers a good alternative if you don't want a full meal in the restaurant.

However, certain changes are now happening and it is beginning to show. The loss of some of the lovely and interesting pictures from the walls and certain antiques have removed some of the character. It is obvious that some cosmetic changes have been made in the bedrooms, or at least the one we occupied - a new white bathroom suit has been put in (even though it is obviously a very cheap one to tied them over) and the bathoom carpet has been replaced by lino. However, the room, as always was very clean and tidy, but the bed was not comfortable and the light duvet was not really adequate for these cold nights, especially when the heating was off at night.

There was a wedding party in the hotel on Saturday night. Unfortunately a lot of the guests were obviously smokers and chose to congregate outside the hotel until quite late. The noise from this was very disturbing and not really fair to people who had paid the premium rate for the rooms at the front.

But having said all this, this hotel has so much going for it and we sincerely hope that a new owner will eventually be found who is sympathetic to the Beacon and turns in once again into the rather unique hotel it used to be.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front to take avantage of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

comfortable beds /nice and tidy and a big breakfast with all he works and to be fair good value for money. it is not far from the beach and me and my wife liked to watch the squirrels playing in he pk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing