We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub with great atmosphere.”
Review of The Clipper - CLOSED

The Clipper
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice pub with great atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice pub with good seating and good atmosphere. Had a great cocktail then went back the next morning for a good breakfast.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    16
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bargain night out”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very cheap night out sharing a bottle of wine. No trouble, friendly staff. But please sort out the toilets. Especially the stain on the ceiling above the seating area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JasExmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouth devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Improvement on last visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Clipper do seemto be trying harder, it was fairly quiet when we went in and we did get good service
Fair play to our bar man who freely admited he had only started an hour before and was still learning, he was very polite
Food was as you would expect from a chain pub but good value, childrens meals was also good value and nice to see items on offer that are not just chips and beans!
Only downside is the steps upto the family area which can be difficult with a buggy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ate here whilst staying at Devon Cliffs with my husband and children, we all enjoyed the meals whish didn't take long to arrive and were good portions and very tasty. Will go again when we come back to Devon next year :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunkyCMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“filthy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we regularly pop into this pub for meals when visiting family, normally the owner is there and service is good, food simple but reasonably priced and its a nice family eatery.today............ we sat down at our table to find ripped seat covers a half chewed lollipop on one, baby vomit on the floor and disgusting sticky stuff everywhere needless to say until they sort their hygiene issues out we wont be eating there and wouldnt recommend anyone to :-(

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clipper also viewed

 
Lympstone, Exmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing