We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, reasonable price too many dogs.”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #29 of 128 Restaurants in Exmouth
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Grove is a Traditional Pub with a large garden on the Seafront in Exmouth. Welcoming, Families and Dogs in all areas of the pub.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, reasonable price too many dogs.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went in for a meal with friends, and could barely make conversation over the 6 dogs barking indoors. Outside, I'd expect it, but really ruined the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n8udd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    147
    72
    42
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went in a family party and ordered moules mariniere for £10.95. The quantity was mean - I'd say about 1/4 kilo - and the mussels had been overcooked and left somewhere for a long time. The chips were terrible, as if they'd been done in very old fat. A Coke at the bar from one of those hose devices was £2.60. Other members of the party had differing but also unpleasant experiences. The person clearing away asked if everything had been all right and seemed astonished to hear that it hadn't and did nothing.

The garden is nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly pub”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good points: Newly refurbished - lovely light, bright decor
good selection of food and wines on the menu, helpful staff
Cons: Ordered white bait. Possibly just a mishap but it tasted really bad and was concerned it may be off. Staff were very helpful and gave me an alternative. Thanks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Summerbreeze345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fab refurbishment !”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Grove is one of our favourite places to drink and eat in Exmouth. It's a great venue for an evening drink as a couple but also very pleasant and relaxing with the children too. We were delighted to discover when walking in last Friday that following a refurbishment, the place has a fresh new look which has given it a lighter, more modern atmosphere. Scott the manager remains as cheerful and helpful as ever and the food was even better than previously. The upper deck offers lovely sea views and is ideal for large family gatherings. Thank you to the Grove staff for transforming one of our favourite haunts. Strongly recommend it. We will see you at the weekend. Regards Ruth & Phil

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent, food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have had a meal here, this time was for Sunday Lunch. I had the pork loin, other members in my party had the roast beef; the chicken and the fish pie from the normal menu. There were no complaints from anyone, the best dish served was the fish pie. The prices were normal for a meal in this type of establishment.
We will be back the next time we are in Exmouth, hopefully when it is nice and sunny and we can enjoy a meal outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_John_1-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
Exmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing