We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuart Line Bird Watching Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart Line Cruises

Stuart Line Cruises
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: So much of Devon is available by road but what about the stunning scenery and wildlife only visible by boat? Ensure you don’t miss out, take a trip with Stuart Line Cruises, Exmouth. Throughout the year you can sail on the River Exe, home to thousands of migrating winter birds and year round residents. During the Summer you can sail the Jurassic Coast Line viewing 250 million years of history or leave the car behind and sail to a local resort such as Torquay or Brixham. There’s no excuse not to discover the history, beauty and wildlife of Devon!
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stuart Line Bird Watching Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a very nice trip out and about the River Exe. I was surprised at how far up the River we actually went while looking for birds. The bonus of this trip was an on boat commentary as to what bird was what and this trip is very good if your an experienced watcher or learner like me. If you want to sit on the upper deck then warm clothing is a must. We choose to sit down stairs and had heating to keep us warm. We were out for three hours and booking is advisable as these trips are very popular.

Marks out of ten 10

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MOULDOLDOUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    69
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bird watching trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

had a fantastic trip bird watching this is our second visit the commentary was excellent would advise dressing up warmly, although down below deck there is heating and a cafe/bar so you can nip down for a quick warm then back up top there are blankets avialable .the boat travels very slowly and remains quite steady even though it was quite windy at times .if you enjoy bird watching then you will love this trip ,you get to see lots of winter visitors

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank m0sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bird Watching on the River Exe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our Cruise up the Exe to Topsham was on Sunday 27th January. We shouldn't have worried about the weather affecting the trip. Although the wind was blowing hard when we got on board, once we were in the estuary it was more protected and the boat was very steady with no rocking at all. Downstairs it was very cosy and warm. Blankets were handed out to those who were determined to stay outside.
We are not experienced Bird Watchers so the commentary was excellent pinpointing exactly where to look for the winter visitors, and the commentator's obvious enthusiasm was infectious. The trip was very good value and the refreshments were very reasonably priced considering we were a captive audience. The sun shone for the whole trip and we had an extremely enjoyable day which we hope to repeat later in the year. All the staff we encountered on land and on board were very helpful and considerate.
I would recommend this cruise to anyone interested in nature generally.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank harryeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A great way to see the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We did the Jurraisic coast trip and it was very good.

you need to wrap up warm as it can get quite blowy but you can always go inside and shelter if it getsd too much.

The commentary was very good .. but for real detail you also need a guide book on the geology.

Recommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The highlight of our Christmas day"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are new to the area and had heard about the great tradition of the famous Christmas Day swim in Exmouth. We decided we should go down to see what it's all about. We had heard brilliant reviews about Stuart Line Cruises and found out that they run a trip on Christmas Day. We booked ourselves on the trip and couldn't be more thrilled to have spent our Christmas morning in this way! On boarding the boat we recieved a warm welcome from friendly and helpful staff - my husband and I are not used to boats, but felt very reassured by their evident expertise. The water was extremely calm and we were very comfortable sitting downstairs in the heated saloon, sipping our hot mulled wine and eating warm mince pies which the staff brought round to us - very festive! The skipper, Ian, positioned the boat in the best possible place for seeing the vast crowds running into the water. It was an exciting experience and certainly the best way to view the swim. After the swim we took a short cruise up the River Exe with an informative live commentary about the surrounding area. At just £7, including a mince pie and glass of mulled wine, it was brilliant value for money.
I would thoroughly recommend Stuart Line Cruises and we will certainly be booking ourselves in for another trip in the new year. Thanks to all the staff for such a great boat trip!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuart Line Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Stuart Line Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing