We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice indeed”

Hungry Horse - Farmhouse
Ranked #48 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hungry Horse - Farmhouse is a family-friendly pub located in Exmouth. We are famous for big value pub food and a well stocked bar with a great choice of drinks, beers and wine.
Exmouth, DEVON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice food nice staff nice family pub great menu good portions sizes good prices good deals - NICE JOB

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ICTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    76
    33
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, big plate food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited with family for Mother's Day. Service was a bit slow, but food all arrived piping hot and was very good. Excellent value for the size of the meals. Good atmosphere. Drinks reasonable too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pager_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment.. again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've visited the farmhouse 3 or 4 times within the last few months and every time I visit I seem to have a problem. First time, food took 50 minutes to arrive with no explanation (not even told when ordering food), 2nd time, my steak came out rare after ordering it to be medium (again, food took well over 40 minutes to arrive) and tonight, food took 45 minutes to arrive (again not told at time of ordering). My partners food had obviously been sat under a hot light whilst mine was still cooking so sausage too hard to even cut, bread had gone hard and food not particularly hot.
My partner had to watch me eat whilst waiting for another plate of food to arrive, for me to then finish before his had came out.

Was pleased with how management dealt with the situation after they found out. Offered free desserts or the food off the bill.

Don't know if I'll be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rjhammond91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BRIL VALUE CURRY + A PINT £4.99!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went with sister and neice at the last minute to grab a bite to eat and had a super curry (choice of 3) which included a drink, and was an absolute bargain, and very tasty too.

We ate Pilau rice with chicken Tikka Masala, 2 Poppadoms, mini salad and pickle - great value, with Naan bread as an extra. The waiter was lovely (table 7) and the place was really buzzing.

Good food @ a great price!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LAROSA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value ,Friendly,and Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Who would have thought that a National chain (Hungry Horse ) could be such a gem, a local hostelry with such willing frindly staff in all areas, fodd nicely presented and such value.We have become regulars!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Horse - Farmhouse also viewed

 
Lympstone, Exmouth
 

Been to Hungry Horse - Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing