We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Franklins

Franklins
Ranked #38 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited here a couple of times, it is always buzzing and good food is always served. Very popular with the locals!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GuinivereCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A great coffee shop/restaurant situated on The Strand at Exmouth. We enjoyed our visit and lovd the atmosphere. Daily newspapers were on the table to enjoy with your coffee and snack. There was no pressure to vacate the table and we will be going back again soon. Give it a try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank walkingwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

They open early, and most of the customers are locals, which says a lot about a place. It's clean, the food is always good (at least breakfast is) and my husband says the coffee is good and strong too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank essdobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“long long wait and general poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

took over an hour for our food to arrive, waitress told us that it was our fault as each of us ordered different dishes and it was hard for the kitchen to co ordinate.
Aside from our party, there was one couple in the place - they were not busy, in fact during our wait we clearly heard staff in the kitchen arguing and shouting at each other.

Food was average- reasonable value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places I have ever been”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Franklins is a very busy cafe and restauran tin Exmouth, it is very busy but the level of service is excellent, my friends and I were treated as if we were the only people there.

The layout of the interior is very pleasent and eye catching, there are comfy seats and sofas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MecAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklins also viewed

 

Been to Franklins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing