We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!”

World of Country Life
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Devon's multi-award-winning all-weather day out for the whole family! You can ride on the deer train or take a goat for a walk! Get up close to the animals in the pet centre or burn off some energy in one of the three different soft play areas, Pirate Ship Adventure or outdoor adventure playground. There's also a museum of farming and an indoor Victorian Street, featuring a dairy, cottage & pub! The vintage & classic car collection features vehicles that have appeared in Downton Abbey, Mr Selfridge & Parade's End. Then there's the steam engines and Reg Imray motorcycle collection. To top it all off there are daily ferret, lamb or duck racing shows and the excellent Hawkridge Bird of Prey flying display. Refuel at Farmer Lee's Food Barn restaurant or grab some local food to go from the Pasty Shack! With so much to see, come rain or shine, can you do it all in a day?!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is fantastic! Cannot rate highly enough! Educational to start with which is great and all undercover too which was good as we were waiting for the rain to clear then the park is lovely. Two soft play areas, a huge undercover bouncy castle, trampolines and other play equipment. My 3 year old was in his element! Loved the fact you could go into the pens to feed and pet some of the animals- husband was chased by a goat which was highly amusing!
Tractor ride is a must. The llamas and deer come right up to you to be fed.
We are from Hertfordshire and there is a similar attraction close to us- this however is so much better and a fraction of the price! They want to take a leaf out of your book! Under 3s are free and then I am pretty sure the adult entry is under £10 each per person! If you are near the area and wondering what to do with the kids.... This is the place to go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguswocl, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for this super review. We're so pleased you had a great visit and explored much of what the park has to offer. We have tried very hard in recent years to improve the customer experience and its always wonderful when our guests give us such positive feedback. Hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    181
    55
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fab place! Nice for a few hours out with kids. Deer train was fab as was the goat walking and the goats pen where the kids can go in. Was so nice to encounter the tame deer who is recuperating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguswocl, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with Eva, our orphaned baby deer. The Pet Centre is a lovely place to get in with the farm animals and see them up close. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place to take your children. Friendly staff and so much to do hands on with most animals. Tractor ride was great too!! Great value for money and ideal in any kind of weather....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguswocl, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
What a super review - many thanks. We're so glad you enjoyed the deer train ride too. Hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“favourite day out with grandsons”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

all the family have now bought passes as so much to do in all weathers, will miss it when it closes for the winter. younger grandson adores appy angus, could you have more t,shirts etc to buy ? all the staff are really nice and friendly, especially deer train driver & ferret racing team. keep up the good work, now what to do with grandsons in winter !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguswocl, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. Thanks also for mentioning the team - they do try very hard to make our guests feel really welcome. Ill pass on your message to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Son first wildlife encounter!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited World of Country Life during a holiday to Dawlish Warren. Was about a 40min car journey but was well worth it!!! As soon as you go in the door there is stuff for you to see. The Museum they have is lovely to walk through and see different periods of time in one room.

We went onto the Deer train and my 18month old LOVED it. We bought some feed from the shop on the way in but that wasn't enough. My son had to get more from the train driver as he was loving it so much. Every time a deer poked its head in the carriage my son wanted to cuddle it. lol.

The animals were my sons favorite part and he petted as many as he could. We all enjoyed the Falconry display and the Eagle Owl was a huge hit.

Cafe was lovely and prices were reasonable!! Next time we are in Exmouth again i will definitely be paying you another visit!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguswocl, Manager at World of Country Life, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It always make our day when we can give someone a special memory to take away from a visit to our park. We're all so glad you had a wonderful time, and that your little boy enjoyed his animal encounters so much. Thanks for taking the time to write up your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World of Country Life also viewed

 

Been to World of Country Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing