We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
$366
$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
118
210
125
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
210
125
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontshearings coach holidaysea viewself drivenational holidayssister hotelpremier roomshearings hotelsweekend breakenjoyable breaksingle roomwaitress servicethree coursescoach driverthe ground floortown centreentertainment room
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 507 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Just returned from a 5 days all inclusive, we were a party of 4 adults, my partner and I had room 48, The room was in a very poor state, desperately in need of decorating , there was a stain in the ceiling where there has been a leak, the carpet in the room was very dirty , the net curtains needed a wash they were tatty and dirty, as for the bathroom , there was no shower and it was hard to get in and out of the bath as we were both over 66yrs old, we had a faulty toilet that would not flush unless you had to keep flushing a number of times, and we were concerned if it would disturb the people in the next room by flushing it so many times during the middle of the night., as for the window frame in the bathroom it was covered in black mould and the net curtains were too short and to be honest they were in a terrible state , and the corridors stairs and some parts of the lounge areas were in need of fresh paint of there were stains were they had been leaks in the past and left. in fact the table were we were sitting in the dinning room we could see the wall paper was falling off and flapping with the draught when anyone walked through the door. the meals were lovely, good choices and the service from our waitress Mischa was excellent.The staff all around were a credit to the establishment, they were very friendly and pleasant, and the entertainment was very enjoyable It is such a shame that they let this lovely hotel go in such a state, as it is in a very pleasant location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonsterchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Just got back from the Grand at Exmouth and like the title says its not so Grand. We have been to the Grand twice before when it was owned By Wallace Arnold so was looking forward to having a pleasant time. Well we did but and its a big but please, please, please Bay hotel owners get this place redecorated immediately. Not just the rooms but the corridors , staircases and some of the lounge areas as i as a decorator have never seen as many ceilings that were stained and walls with paper hanging [ yes hanging ] from the walls. Our room and bathroom looks like it as`nt been decorated in 20 years. The bathroom needed urgent attention as the toilet had to be flushed at least 3 times before it would work . This was brought to the managers attention who politely told us he was aware of it and had been for 4 weeks.
Other than the redecorations the food was very good the waitressing staff and bar staff was also very good.
As for the entertainment some off the best weve come accross on this type of vacation.
Hope this will help others to book or not book at this hotel
From Tonster of Chester

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just got back from Exmouth Grand Hotel on a 5 day break with Shearings, firstly I must say this hotel is badly in need of redecoration, It was an old Wallace Arnold Hotel and is just across the road from Shearings other hotel The Imperial.

From the outside it looks ok, is on a mews with other hotels and houses and you have to be careful when leaving or entering the hotel as people tend to tear past in their cars.

Inside the hotel the place is spotlessly clean all the lounges clean and tidy and a nice reception area, but if you look up you will see brown stains on the ceiling where there have been leaks.

Our room although very clean and an adequate size was in desperate need of redecorating marks on the skirting boards etc and the bathroom well what can I say, absolutely Freezing!! no heating whatsoever only had a shower once during the stay as it was too cold, also the radiators in the bedroom were only luke warm but an extra free standing heater was in the room and we used that but did not reach bathroom as cable was too short, also wood work around sink was held together with black duck tape!. The water was far too hot and you needed a good amount of cold to be able to wash in it.
The room was at the back of the hotel but it was on the ground floor as we had requested a low floor room.

Having said that though you could not fault the staff at the hotel everyone was friendly, willing to assist you if you had a problem and very efficient, this was all staff, management, chamber maids and dining room staff and bar staff alike.

The food was very good always hot, good choices and served with speed and efficiency by restuarant manager Claire and her team.

The trips out were ok with a day to Tavistock, Princetown and the House of Marbles, a half day to Exeter and an optional half day round the bay finishing at Teignmouth, we chose not to go on the two half day trips and instead did our own thing, went to Paignton on the train one day and on a cruise up the river Exe with Stuartline cruises the other day Stuartline are an excellant company and would recommend them if visiting Exmouth.

The shearings driver was a good driver but told you nothing about the local area etc just got you from A to B and told you what time to be back although he was pleasent and approachable.

Also must say this hotel is not too good for people with mobility problems, steps up to hotel and dining room/ bar down a flight of stairs although there is a lift.

All in all a good holiday but don't think I would go again, if I did not to that hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheckoutChick37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely 8day trip with shearings and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.My partner and I are in our early 50s and booked last minute for this holiday,had never heard anything about Exmouth before and didnt know quite what to expect,so it was a real treat to be so well looked after in every way.
The food was excellent,lots of choice and very well cooked.Decent portions,even for my other half who is a builder and has the appetite to match!
Each night apart from sunday,there was entertainment in the ballroom but we found the actual venue to be too warm and didnt stay in there for the whole evening.The hotel lounges were very pleasant places to chat to other guests however and as we were on the seafront,it was lovely to take a stroll before turning in for the night and we both slept well,ready for our well organised excursions the following day.If you want a good relaxing holiday,I would thoroughly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Have just returned from a week with Shearings to the Grand Hotel. The main rooms were very well decorated and spotless, however the ceiling in the reception area was badly stained which did not give good first impression. We had room 82 which wasn't too bad even though it was at the back of the hotel. It did have a new bathroom too. Only thing was no where at all to put toiletries. The one thing that really impressed us was the staff they were friendly, helpful and professional. Our waiter Carl was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for him. The hotel is in a lovely position nd the town centre is a pleasant stroll away. The entertainment was ok but didn't really suit us as it was mainly geared for ballroom type dancing, Would not really suit anyone with mobility problems either.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nncarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews