We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
trowbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent three nights last weekend at this hotel, having previously visited some 15 Shearings hotels. Fortunately we booked a superior room with a bay and sea view, no complaints here but did notice some of the other rooms are like rabbit hutches. The hotel overall is very bland, the furnishings being drab and lacking colour and vibrancy. Turning to meals, breakfast was fine but the evening meals were to say the least just awful i.e. overcooked vegetables, poor presentation and on two nights really meagre portions. Coupled with this our waiter seemed to be constantly in a tremendous rush and on occasions our plates were removed before we had finished eating. Was this due to the fact that he wanted to get away early!

Dining was not a great experience especially as the dining room itself was in the basement and somewhat claustrophobic. The hotel itself was clean, although in many places due further refurbishment, but of concern was the fact that nowhere throughout the hotel was there any bacterial hand gel essential if noro virus is to be controlled, this hotel having experienced such an outbreak in its recent history.

We were fortunate that the weather was really nice and we enjoyed our break in Exmouth.

Room Tip: always pay the extra cost and book a superior room,or go to the sister hotel opposite ie THE IMPERIA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review, it is always beneficial to receive feedback from customers. I am pleased you enjoyed your superior room and felt it worth the upgrade, although I must say many of our standard seaview rooms have also been refurbished and most are of a good size with the usual fantastic views.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us and I shall investigate your comments, however perhaps you would enjoy the approach used in our Coast & country hotels, whereby one is able to set a time and therefore avoid a large influx into the dining room at once which can create a very busy period for the staff.
Regarding the comment on hand gel, we do have hand sanitizers at reception which are always available and antibacterial handwashes are generally used in the public toilets.
Thankyou again for taking the time to write a review.
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    178
    109
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
288
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have just returned from 3 night break. Thought it was excellent value for money especially in August. Food was good with large portions and friendly staff. The hotel is in a good position as you can walk along the sea front also in to town, a lovely park and to the dock area which has changed so much since previous visit, Exmouth is a lovely resort..

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view well worth the extra. Staff excellent and food good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you found your break such good value for money, and were happy with absolutely everything. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and chef. As you say upgrading to a seaview room is an excellent option allowing full appreciation of the wonderfull views we have from this hotel. Thankyou once again and hope to see you again.

Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night holiday staying at The Grand. This was our first visit to Exmouth and we have had a good holiday with wonderful weather. We paid extra for a front sea-view and were impressed with the newly 're-furbished' room and bathroom.We had requested to have a shower cubicle and this was provided. The view was wonderful and well worth the money.
The meals, generally, were such that breakfast was always acceptable and should you require yogurts or anything else all you have to do is ask. Try the ham and egg on toast. The evening meal was acceptable at times but was also only fair at others. The soups were dreadful, watery and tasteless. The high spots were the Coq. St Jaques, the beef and the turkey escalope. Needs improvement I think. Excellent staff, especially Zoltan and Margaretta.
The lift is amazingly ancient and in this day and age must be changed. Some residents found it difficult to open and shut the two doors.
The bar is expensive but the new furnishings, the staff and the outlook over the bay, made up for it. Lots of people were sitting around but very few seemed to have drinks in front of them. There are nights when there is no entertainment and background music could make it more sociable.
We travelled with Shearings and our driver, Tony, was very safe and courteous at all times and immaculately turned out. The trip to Sandy Bay, apart from the museum of 'days gone bye', was more suitable for families. Pecorama, whilst having beautiful floral garden displays was on a steep site with steps but there were slopes alongside for those who have difficulty walking. There was a large exhibition of model trains maybe some would enjoy. Great 'Cream teas' in the renovated train carriage. A miniature open air train was included for a ride around the site. The other trips were enjoyable and showed you the area. The extra trip was to Widdicombe in the Moor, over Dartmoor, was very good.
The situation of the Hotel was in an excellent situation for the beach, boat trips which we enjoyed, a beautiful local park with entertainment at weekends and only five minutes into the centre of town.
Overall, a value- for- money trip with excellent facilities and staff who go out of their way to help you have a good holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thankyou so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed nearly all aspects of your holiday. Our staff do try very hard to please and it is nice to hear that this is appreciated. Exmouth is a wonderfull location and is extra special when the weather is as good as it has been recently. We do have fantastic views from our front facing rooms which as you say are refurbished to a good standard. I do agree the lift is a little hard to handle for some people but reception staff are always on hand to help when necessary. Thankyou again for taking then time to post a review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kenny
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is a Shearings Hotel and therefore caters for a great many coach trips of generally older clients. My husband and I stayed 3 nights for a friend's local wedding in July and were 2 of the youngest at 58 and 59. Nothing wrong in that but the hotel caters accordingly, e.g 4 bingo nights a week!
The hotel has had an upgrade of furniture in the main areas but the carpets and walls are poor and don't make for a good first impression and continues in the rest of the building.
We were very surprised that the lift has not been replaced as it is very small ( 2 people) and has the 2 doors to pull across ( quite difficult). It is noisy and shudders to a halt. You must remember to close both doors after you. Rooms 27 and 28 are opposite this.
We stayed in The Premier Room which has a very good sea view.
The costs for this for a couple were £401.88 for 3 nights in July on a breakfast and dinner basis, you can't just book BnB.This includes a supplement of £99 for the premier room and £42 for the sea view for 2 people.
You can pre book a parking spot for £5 a day although they can't guarantee it. Our advice is to ring when you have a definite arrival time on the day and they will try to hold it for you.
Hotel phone no is 01395 263278 and it is better to book direct with them as they can answer all your questions and Shearings can't!
There are 2 disabled bays opposite the entrance which has a lot of steps.
Our Premier room had been upgraded and has a new bathroom. This includes a walk in shower ( you have to step up into it through a narrow opening) and a bath. Water pressure is average.There is no fixed shower head which I preferred. The toiletries are basic, shampoo and bath or shower sachets. They need to think about supplying tissues and decent toilet paper! However the bathroom is quite nicely done.
The main room has a modern 4 poster bed which if you just sit down to try it out you will be sitting on the wooden frame! Ouch! The bed was uncomfortable but the view is great. The hotel is like most hotels of this era, noisy with creeking boards and uneven floors and the good old fire doors that can't be shut quietly!
There is a settee and single chair in the room with tv and tea and coffee ( and Horlicks).
The restaurant is on a lower floor so you will need to use the stairs or brave the lift!
This is very constrained by time, 1 hour for breakfast( 8-9 or 8.30-9.30). Evening meal is 6.30 to 7.45 so is very rushed. The overall impression is one of penny pinching! You have limited choices and no help yourself buffet. The cereal is served in a bowl and looks like it's been stacked in a pile. There was no yoghurt available but our kind Spanish waitress went and bought some for our next 2 mornings. With a limited choice the hotel should at least try and have all the items available.
The food was poor, soup clearly not home made. There is 1 vegetarian choice for each evening but I couldn't eat it. We arranged for the chef to make us mushroom omelettes the following evening and these were lovely!
My husband ordered chicken and bacon on a bed of creamed leeks for our first meal but there were no leeks or bacon! They had run out! Then we knew why everyone in the bar were watching the time and" legged it" as soon as the clock hit 6.30 p.m!
Desserts tasted synthetic and had squirty cream on!
The service in the restaurant was very speedy. Your waitress would take your plates out of one door and come straight out the " out" door with your next course!
We ate out on our last evening. Breakfasts are definitely better than evening meals.
I'm afraid we wouldn't stay here again but I would like to compliment ALL staff as they were all friendly, helpful and polite. Management has done a good job in hiring the staff they have.
This hotel will suit some people but is not for us I'm afraid .The location and sea view are excellent.

Room Tip: We booked the premier room ( with lovely sea view) This has a new bathroom with a walk in shower( m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visualdimensions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for your detailed review, although I do feel that the title is inappropriate and could be seen as offensive towards our respected guests. We do cater for many age ranges and in recent weeks we have had several families staying with us. We have a variety of entertainment throughout the week; this does include a fun game of bingo (I’ve even seen a few 58/59 year olds playing!) This is then followed by our talented acts.

Glad you enjoyed our Premier room and its wonderful views over Exmouth sea front. This is a good sized bedroom with a bay window boosting a fantastic vista.

Sorry that the food was not to your liking, but pleased to hear you enjoyed chef’s omelette. When issues are brought to our attention we do our best to rectify them.

As you state our parking is chargeable at £5 per day which can be pre-booked so you either have a space at the front of our hotel or at our sister hotel The Imperial which is situated across the road from us. We have 15 spaces at the front and 2 disabled bays then 10 spaces at The Imperial Hotel. What we cannot guarantee is that the space will be at the front of our hotel, we work it on a first come first served basis.

Our waiting staff are very efficient at their jobs, they are speedy in their service but we don’t want you to feel rushed. You are more than welcome to sit and relax in the dining room for as long as you wish.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and thank you for your appreciation of their hard work. We feel that what we provide for the price of the holiday is good value for money.

Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved Exmouth on our first so my husband and I booked another holiday with Shearings returning to the same hotel for another 5 days break. We had much better weather this time but unfortunately we were a bit disappointed with the meals and the waitress who struggled to get things right. The soup was like coloured water and the vegetable portions quite meagre. Breakfasts were OK though. This visit was not as good as our visit there in February. Had the kitchen staff changed?
One of our trips was to Tavistock and we were also supposed to go to the House of Marbles but this was left out. That was disappointing as I was looking forward to going there again.
I think you need to look at what the chef is dishing up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that your felt your holiday was not as enjoyable as your previous stay. Our experienced chefs, who have been here for many years, are the same as your previous visit. With 130 meals to serve each evening our staff take pride in the service they give and we do take on board any comments that are made.
Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

spent a week at the grand early july so excellent weather we upgraded to a room with sea view well worth the money for panoramic coastal views my husband loved it he could have sat there all day lovely friendly staff from the manager ,waitresses,chamber maid all could not do enough for the guests I agree that the food could be better but hey it was adequate and from where we were sitting people seemed to be enjoying it they didn't leave much anyway .perhaps shearings could invest in some extra comfortable chairs for the garden area those wooden benches aint half hard after a while all in all a good week and we certainly would come back sometime in the future

Room Tip: upgrade it is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for writing a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your week with us and that the weather was on your side. As you suggest its worth upgrading to a sea view room to admire the wonderful Exmouth sea front. Thank you for your comments about the garden furniture this is something that we could look at.
We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Shearing Bay hotels have the same daily menu throughout their hotels, the chef at the Grand certainly knew how to spoil everything. How can you have 3 different styles of potato on one plate?
Moved to Bay hotel at Bournemouth, same menu but obviously prepared by a trained chef, presented perfect.
Waken up The Grand and get a new chef.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Sorry to hear you were not happy with the food during your stay, you don

I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the presentation of the food during your stay, you do not mention in your review if you reported this to the Management at the time, if you had we would have had the chance to look at this for you.
We have had many fantastic reviews for this hotel, we offer excellant value for money and have many guests returning year after year.
The charge per night averages between £35-£45 per night for Dinner Bed and Breakfast.
I feel your comment regarding the Chef is not a true reflection of the many reviews we have received.

Kenny
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing