We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a 5 day Shearing break staying at this hotel. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant. Our room was kept very clean by Henry and we had good meals, especially the breakfasts, served by the excellent waiting staff. It would have been nice to have had a little more toast offered in the mornings and in fact I did ask for some on one of the days. We had a couple of trips out but unfortunately the weather wasn't very good on the Tuesday and we got very wet visiting Tavistock and Dartmoor. It would have been nice to have a bit longer at Exeter - but you can't please everyone. We did enjoy Exmouth it was our first visit there and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Pleased to hear you had a nice break here at the Grand and are thinking of coming back to visit us again, you say the weather was not so good, it can be very nice late September early Octobe
just a thought when you book again, once again thank you for your very positive review and i will let Henry know you mentioned him, see you again soon.
Kenny Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 493 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel generally fine, public places clean and decorating OK. Bedroom needed decorating but generally clean and everything worked. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Michelle our waitress was really nice and very efficient. Breakfast very good. Main meal generally good with some choice but meat on a couple of days was a little sparse or tough. On five day package, coach was modern, comfortable and loads of leg room. Unfortunately problem with coach heating on outward journey (much too hot). Driver said they would be repairing it but never did so very uncomfortable journey home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank webntweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Good to hear you found us good value for money and you enjoyed your stay, i will let Michaela know you mentioned her in your review, along with the rest of the team she is excellant in her job and a great team player, sorry to hear about the heating on the way home and hope to see you again soon.
Kenny
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

a great winter break and very good value for the money we paid.Hotel staff very helpful.
Entertainment no problem with far end of hotel some people just have to find fault.
Thanks for a very nice time

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. When put into perspective, we feel that what we provide is good value for money. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

bath to small.rubber shower attachment did not fit.asked reception about washing hair?Gave us and our friends plastic glass.entertainment not well publicised,Takes place at end of hotel.So people in the ajoining three rooms cannot see or hear a thing.Needs head office to get there finger out,and get what is potencially a nice hotel,up to speed.Perhaps listening to customers might help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulT12-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy all aspects of your holiday. The Drakes Entertainment suite has been recently refurbished and we have had very positive comments on it. There is an ongoing plan of refurbishment in place. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Regards Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Being of the older generation! We like to be made a fuss of.This hotel and it's staff made us feel at home. Shearings holidays are well supported, and as a result are quite busy. And as with other (Well some!) Found this to be a very good break. Not a lot more to say really, so would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPSHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you received a very warm welcome on arrival, we have a fantastic team here at the grand who always try their best to make the guests feel welcome and ensure they have a very nice stay with us.
I will pass your comments on to the team and look foreward to seeing you again in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from the Grand Hotel Exmouth.On our arrival we felt the warm welcome from the staff,The meals, the entertainment everything about it made our holiday.I would advise anyone looking for a short break to try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We was in a twin room (room 61) low floor but wasn't really big enough for a couple or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank valsmith14248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us, and you were given a very warm welcome and found everything to your liking, i will pass your comments on to the rest of the team who like to hear what guests are saying about their holiday, and can see by your review that the effort they put in is paying off, thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you some time in the future.
K Sharp.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for new year break as self drive .Room 69 clearly not yet refurbished mould round bath and tiles,Broken bath panel,rucked up carpet trip hazard,Cracked paint and mould on windows,damaged bedside shelf/headboard.New year entertainment waste of time as could not see due to venue cramped area in non resident bar space,Food not special ,portions small,could count beans on breakfast plate.Chef and waitress need to communicate and read menu ,some items appeared to lack sauce described on menu.
Obviously working down to a price dictated by Shearing bay hotels group.
Bar short and not stocking described items on own list.
Staff very good and helpful shame about the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 803Stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay, i have looked at the photos you took and feel that if you had reported this to us at reception we could have rectified them straightaway, the room you stayed in has been refurbished in the last couple of years and we have very little complaints from these rooms, we do have a ongoing refurbishment programme and are making great progress in this area.
K Sharp.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing