We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spend some money”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed January 31, 2013

bath to small.rubber shower attachment did not fit.asked reception about washing hair?Gave us and our friends plastic glass.entertainment not well publicised,Takes place at end of hotel.So people in the ajoining three rooms cannot see or hear a thing.Needs head office to get there finger out,and get what is potencially a nice hotel,up to speed.Perhaps listening to customers might help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulT12-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy all aspects of your holiday. The Drakes Entertainment suite has been recently refurbished and we have had very positive comments on it. There is an ongoing plan of refurbishment in place. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Regards Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Bay Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Being of the older generation! We like to be made a fuss of.This hotel and it's staff made us feel at home. Shearings holidays are well supported, and as a result are quite busy. And as with other (Well some!) Found this to be a very good break. Not a lot more to say really, so would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPSHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you received a very warm welcome on arrival, we have a fantastic team here at the grand who always try their best to make the guests feel welcome and ensure they have a very nice stay with us.
I will pass your comments on to the team and look foreward to seeing you again in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from the Grand Hotel Exmouth.On our arrival we felt the warm welcome from the staff,The meals, the entertainment everything about it made our holiday.I would advise anyone looking for a short break to try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We was in a twin room (room 61) low floor but wasn't really big enough for a couple or twin.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank valsmith14248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us, and you were given a very warm welcome and found everything to your liking, i will pass your comments on to the rest of the team who like to hear what guests are saying about their holiday, and can see by your review that the effort they put in is paying off, thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you some time in the future.
K Sharp.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for new year break as self drive .Room 69 clearly not yet refurbished mould round bath and tiles,Broken bath panel,rucked up carpet trip hazard,Cracked paint and mould on windows,damaged bedside shelf/headboard.New year entertainment waste of time as could not see due to venue cramped area in non resident bar space,Food not special ,portions small,could count beans on breakfast plate.Chef and waitress need to communicate and read menu ,some items appeared to lack sauce described on menu.
Obviously working down to a price dictated by Shearing bay hotels group.
Bar short and not stocking described items on own list.
Staff very good and helpful shame about the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 803Stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay, i have looked at the photos you took and feel that if you had reported this to us at reception we could have rectified them straightaway, the room you stayed in has been refurbished in the last couple of years and we have very little complaints from these rooms, we do have a ongoing refurbishment programme and are making great progress in this area.
K Sharp.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we spent Christmas here with a coach party. The reception staff were efficient and quickly booked us all in after a long journey made worse with traffic jams. We received the ground floor room we requested, but unfortunately there was a bath and no shower. With mobility problems, we asked at reception for a shower attachment. Unfortunately this wasn't possible, but David the deputy manager went out of his way to find us another room with shower. He gave us the option of changing rooms or keeping the keys to the second room and simply use the shower. We were very pleased with this arrangement. The food was plentiful, well cooked and well presented. The staff were quick, efficient and friendly. The entertainment was good, but there is a bit of a problem in the seating area in that not everyone can see the performers. All in all a very enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: request a room with shower if you have this need.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babs74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you had a great Christmas with us and we managed to sort out the problem with the Shower, i will pass on your great comments to the rest of the team, and we look foreward to seeing you again in the future.
Kenny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Macdonald/Malone party
We booked for New Year so that we would be able to enjoy a party with everyone. We found no ballroom [it was closed] so we were all squashed in the bar area and the entertainment finished at 11.30. There was no atmosphere for the New Year so we went out onto the seafront to enjoy the fun!
We had no shower in our room and we were told we should have booked one but were not told this when booking. We felt the food was very poor compared to other Shearing hotels we have visited and the price we paid should have been reflected in food quality.
We returned to the Grand because of the great time we had on a previous new year [ in 2009] but can only say that this year was sadly lacking. We feel that there was one cut too many and has spoilt the Grand for us. Oh dear!

Room Tip: Room 49 has corner bath and no shower.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review.
This is the first year we have used the Drakes Entertainment Suite for New Year and the feedback we have had has been very positive.
I am sorry you felt it was not to your liking, But the decision to stop using the Ballroom was not taken very lightly, we did see in the new year and the entertainment did continue well after that with music which the guest really enjoyed.
kenny.
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked this hotel for our new years holiday on the basis of the large dance floor shown on Shearings web site. When we got there we found it had been closed for months but they had conveniently forgotten to remove it from their site. The new years eve entertainment was provided by a guitarist who finished his session at 11.30pm. Stayed in room 91 which has clearly not been refurbished. Damp patches and cracks in the ceiling, no shower in the bathroom. Could not fault the staff or the food but the entertainment was very poor considering it was a new years holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review.
The decision to close the Ballroom was not taken lightly.I feel the refurbishment we have carried out in our Drakes Entertainment suite is getting a lot of very positive comments from our guests,
this is the first year we have held Xmas and New Year in the Drakes Entertainment suite and the feedback was very good.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $106 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing