We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no dance floor”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from a new year break , good food staff pleasant, and clean.
But the main dance floor was closed and was told it had been for 7 months now as we were not informed of this, so check first befor you book if you like your dancing .
we had to have a small space which was a walk way which was very small for dancing.
we do like to have a dance especially at new year as well
l mcardle 4th jan 2013

Room Tip: do not have room 67 a very very tiny bathroom indeed
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda_mcardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, although I'm sorry to hear you were not happy with the closure of the Ballroom, this was a decision that was not taken lightly, and I feel the refurbishment of the Drakes entertainment suite gives it a much more modern look and so far the feedback is very positive.
Kenny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Bay Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on a Sheerings Coach Holiday , the room which we upgraded to so that we had a seaview , was very good , apart from poor performance from electric shower in Bathroom , food was good , and the staff are friendly and try to please at all times

Room Tip: We upgraded and found the room was excellent apart from poor pressure on electric shower , the room...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Stay and you were able to upgrade to one of our front facing sea view rooms, which have recently been refurbished. The team here at the Grand are very friendly and welcoming, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kenny.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a good time food ok staff very nice and helpful.
ONLY DOWN SIDE THEY WANT TO CHARGE £5 A DAY PARKING NOW at bay hotels so will be looking for another company now after 12 years with shearings for our xmas break

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for review.
Glad to here you had a good time, but also sorry to hear you are unhappy with the parking charges, this is something that has been in place since May and offers guests peace of mind when booking knowing they are able to park in a reserved space on arrival, we think the overall cost of the breaks including the parking are still very good value for the money.
Kenny General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

bay grand what a great hotel food verry good staf pleasent room verry clean ad four days theire would go back only down fall no entertainment on sunday verry poor other wise u could of ad five stars well done shearings best hotel

Room Tip: room 21 sea view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review
I am pleased you found us great value for money and really enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again here at the Grand, and once again thank you for a very positive review, i will passing your comments on to the Team.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Grand Hotel lives up to it's name. It's the best Shearings Hotel we have ever stayed in. We have just had a two night stay along with some work colleages.
We had a seaview room (No 15) which was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean , great bathroom, well stocked hospitality tray and wonderful views.
There was a good choice of food which was well cooked and nicely presented. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient.
The only negative in our break was that the evening entertainment's music was Very loud and as one of our party has a hearing problem we struggled to find anywhere to sit away from it.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel and we will certainly be using it again.

Room Tip: Choose an upgraded seaview room. It will be worth every penny.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review
Its great to hear you and your friends had a fantastic time here at the grand and found everything to your liking, I do hope the sound level of the music in the entertainment room did not bother you too much, i will mention this to the Agency that books all our entertainment who in turn will speak to all our Entertainers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and i visited this hotel on a shearings coach trip 26th to 30th november, No complaints at all ,nice refurbishment ,in lounges and entertainment bar ,special mention of Steve Davis,entertainer on thursday a very competent multi instrumentalist. Nice location on the sea front,with lovely views across the estuary.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianandchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

I am pleased that you found the holiday very good value for money. We have a fantastic location overlooking the beach in what is a very unspoilt part of Devon.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the future, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kenny.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend and just wanted to say how much we enjoyed it. Room, food cleanliness and entertainment were very good and it was excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly

Room Tip: choose a sea view room its well worth it.Room 50 is fab.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustynail7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Its great to hear you had a nice weekend with us, and we thank you for writing a positive review. Shearings are good value for money and are located in some wondeful parts of the UK. We hope to see you again here at the Grand Hotel.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $105 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing