We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it going back for a fourth trip”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“loved it going back for a fourth trip”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

this hotel / area is shearings best with unspoilt sea front all amenities are at the other end of the sea front making walking a safe thing to do at anytime of day .the hotel has great food and top bar open all day the tours were really good and would recommend the fleet air arm tour to any one its a must /the country life park well worthy of a trip out and the optionals well worth doing plus we had a great driver in graeme

Room Tip: pay the extra for seaview well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel and I will be letting Graeme know he was mentioned in your review. The location of the hotel is perfect to appreciate the beauty of the sea front here at Exmouth, we do have many guests who return year after year and hope you will be one of them.
Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    186
    114
    31
    23
See reviews for
43
300
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

First class service, top class food, delightful staff. What more do you want? Okay, the rooms are dated somewhat, but you don't go to stay on the seafront to sit and look at an ancient waterstain on the ceiling all day . . . . . do you?? Have used many Bay Hotels over the years and this one comes top of the League. The Free High Speed internet was at their sister hotel just round the corner, but by the time you go, they should have their own. Can't see how you won't enjoy your stay. We'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments, which have been passed on to our team. We do pride ourselves in good customer service. Refurbishment and maintenance is an ongoing process within the hotel, thank you for your understanding. I’m sure your next stay will be just as enjoyable.
Kind regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Grand Hotel Exmouth on several occassions including two new year eve celebratons,Exmouth is one of the better seaside resorts no trashy seaside shops beautiful sandy beach boat trips up the river exe calling at Exeter Keys.
The hotel itself an excellent shearings hotel run by a very friendly efficient staff who will go out their way to help.Accomodation clean anad comfotable food is very good also the entertainment.I would recomend Exmouth and the Grand Hotel to any one who reads this review,Devon has some really beautiful country side and places of interest bearing in mind Exeter is only 25 minutes on the bus which runs every 15 minutes. Try it anad see for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theadmiralAxminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Exmouth is a beautiful place, with easy access to other places of interest around the area. We are very lucky to live in such a wonderful location, and it is obvious from your many visits to the Grand that you feel the same. We thank you for your nice comments and for your recommendation. We look fore-ward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Good location on the sea front at Exmouth.Pay Shearings a little extra to book a first floor sea view room.There is a very small lift at the Hotel which is on it's last legs and I'm sure some older people will have difficulty operating it,so you have been warned.The public rooms are fine, however the dining room and a good concert room are located on the lower ground floor.The staff were first class and the food was good and plentiful.Our bedroom on the first floor was small with twin beds and the bathroom was hardly big enough to swing a cat round in,ie, no bath just the smallest of shower units, but we managed.We had a couple of local coach trips during our stay which we enjoyed ,so all in all it was good value for money.

Room Tip: The lift is a hazard, so take care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank niltrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickersley wonderer
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Travelled with Shearings. Bill - our driver was delightful. Hotel well positioned on sea-front. Typical 2-3star, but the rooms, lounge and dining area absolutely spotless clean. Hotel staff all very attentive - nothing too much trouble. Good selection of food at each meal time. Excursions to Tavistock and Exeter very pleasant. Extremely enjoyable five day break and good value for money. Would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepsicola_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Excellent hotel. Reception staff, bar staff and housekeepers were excellent. Our driver, Cliff, was excellent and the Entertainment was first class.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mswigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

went to the grand hotel exmouth food was okand plenty of it.. the bedroom was a decent size with a bathroom with a bath. short walk into exmouth town centre. the only thing wrong with the grand is all inclusive bar is on the lower ground which is the entainment room if you wanted a quiet drink i had to used the lift to take the drink to the ground floor were their was 3 tables.other shearings hotels i have stay at the quiet area is on the same floor as the bar with some having a quiet room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing