We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
337
66
33
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
337
66
33
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michael caines gidleigh park exe estuary wine flight petit fours amuse bouche turbot new venture dining rooms michelin star estuary suite fire pit valet parking homemade biscuits faultless service master suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 444 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

At last our dream of visiting Michael Caine’s new hotel and restaurant has been fulfilled and it met all our expectations.

We had a wonderful room with balcony AND garden with an outside bath . Wonderful view of the Exe estuary. Superbly comfortable bed.

Grounds of hotel lovely with interesting artwork.

And then the tasting menu ... :))))))

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Travellingukman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Travellingukman

So pleased to hear we have met your high expectations, we are indeed very lucky to have such beautiful surroundings and a fabulous vista which is all the more special if the weather is good.

Glad to read you enjoyed the gardens and our sculptures and it looks like you very much enjoyed the Tasting menu which is great news.

Kindest regards Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We came here with family to celebrate the 50th birthdays for both myself & my wife. We had the 4 course menu. The location and service was impeccable- what a view over the estuary. I had 2 fish courses - gurnard and skate and they were cooked perfectly. Desserts were incredible - souffle for most and the others looked great too. Lots of thought in the menu and hospitality. Only disappointment was despite it being advised beforehand there was no acknowledgement of the special occasion. I’m not after a huge fanfare but even a coffee on the house would have been nice bearing in mind the occasion and amount spent - hey ho it didn’t detract from the experience mind. Wonderful food!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 367richardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 367richardw

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and let us know all about your visit to Lympstone Manor.

We are thrilled to read you enjoyed the four course lunch menu with us to mark such a special birthday, my apologies the team did not make an acknowledgement of the special reason for your visit, they are normally so good at this.
It is always nice to be chosen as a venue to celebrate, especially with our views and surroundings

Michael and the team will be over the moon you enjoyed the souffle and the other desserts, you will have to come back and try some of his other dishes, perfected over many years of experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

This hotel was everything I would expect from a first class establishment. The service was excellent, the food was exceptional and the accommodation was comfortable with everything you could ask for. We had two days that we will remember for ever.

Room tip: Everything you would expect and more in a really comfortable room.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank LesB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear LesB1955

We are over the moon to read your very kind words, and are so pleased to hear we helped make memories.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do hope to welcome you back soon

Kindest Regards Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Had a wonderful Afternoon Tea in the garden overlooking the Exe estuary, lovely food & top quality friendly staff, a perfect way to spend some time on a sunny summers day.
So much choice with a selection of finger sandwiches & amazing patisserie + fresh baked scones with cream & jam, yummy.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank KazM161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear KazM161

It sounds like you had the perfect afternoon, thank you so much for your kind words, the whole team will be thrilled to read you enjoyed Afternoon Tea with us on a nice sunny day taking in our glorious views.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kindest regards Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

The food was unbelievably good. Each course a delight.
We did not sleep well.
We had a Master Suite (Avocet) which was spacious and well appointed. The trouble is that it had no windows. The only natural light they get is through the glass door. There is no air-conditioning. At half past two in the morning I was sitting outside trying to cool down. Also the motion sensitive light kept switching on and off half the night.
We will definitely be going back because the food was so good, but we will choose a different room next time.

Room tip: Master Suites have no windows
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fertang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear fertang

We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed Michael's cuisine, the kitchen brigade will be very proud.

I am sorry to hear you were a little hot during your stay, we have enjoyed some fine weather, i have taken a look at the sensor lights so apologies if they were a little over sensitive.

We do hope to welcome you back and would be happy to discuss some other room options that you may prefer.

Kindest regards

Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews