We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Fantastic hotel in this great sea side town. The room was wonderfully clean and the staff could not be more accomodating. We arrived late to a friendly welcome and shown to our bedroom. The beds had only been replaced last year and the linen this year so our night was very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and well cooked and most importantly to a hungry visitor, pleantiful.

Finally, the hotels is located 5 minutes from both the town centre and the sea front with a great number of pubs near by (we thoroughly recommend the Beach!!!) so is ideal for both holiday and business.

We totally agree with the last reviewer but the first review on this hotel must have been very confused especially as our night only cost £30 ph!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Galleg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 282 of 282 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

What a great place. Clean and tidy with a warm and frendly atmoshere.
In this present finacial climate this hotel gave great value for money as well as a top class service.
The rooms (we had two) were of good proportions, well decorated, and very clean with nice bathrooms.
The full English breakfeasts were great (not your usual greasey stuff) and there was plenty of fresh fruit too.
The Dolphin Hotel helped to make our stay in Exmouth one of the best holidays we have had in a long time.

Thankyou so much

Paul Holding

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Transit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

The hotel web site gives the impression of luxury and opulence. Unfortunately, the only concessions to this in our room were some extra cushions on the bed. The room was dimly lit by a single bulb, and there were two bed-side lamps, one of which didn’t work. The carpet had a number of nasty looking stains on it.

The room was cold with no control over the heating. When I questioned this, I was told we would have to “wait for the heating to come on”. The radiator duly warmed up at around 6pm for just a couple of hours and then went off again until a brief period in the morning. Not long enough to warm the room properly, nor to dry the towels. And just to make sure the room stayed cold, the windows were opened during the day when the room was cleaned, and left open until our return in the evening.

The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, and definitely not up to hotel quality. The springs twanged and the headboard creaked loudly every time I moved. A good night’s sleep was impossible - it was probably the worst bed I have ever tried to sleep in.

The en-suite was a cubicle built inside the room in one corner. The facilities were basic and included a short-length bath with a shower fitting. There were no toiletries provided, just some towels and a small bar of soap. No shower gel, no shampoo, no hair drier, no heated towel rail. And the toilet was the loudest to re-fill I have ever heard. I’m sure I woke the entire hotel every time I used the toilet in the night.

Finally, just to head off any possible complaints at check-out time, they require payment in full, for the entire length of the stay, at the time you check in.

Breakfast was nice. But I wouldn’t go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PabloWolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing