We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“XMAS EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“XMAS EXPERIENCE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for three nights upto 241212,the experience was not as advertised.There were only two guests in the hotel the other guest was the hotel electrician.There was no meals availible except breakfast and on my day of departure the staff were in a hurry for me to leave so they could close the hotel.I found it a very poor experience the receptionist was also the cook and i will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
93
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

stayed here after being recommended by the Tourism Board and from the moment i check in till time I left this was a fantastic hotel.Soon as I walked in was greeted with a smiling face and felt like I was really welcome. I booked a single but kindly given a double room at no extra cost.
The room was decorated with warm colours & absolutely spotless with everything from the plush curtains to a superb comfy bed.
The staff couldnt do enough for me and wouldn't hesitate for any of my family and friends to stay here.
I had to dept early so was glad to see breakfast started at 7.30 which was served up with a smile and very tasty. Wish I could cook poached eggs like that. !
I worked in a family owned Travel Agent for over 12 yrs as a Manager so travelled alot but this hotel is in my top 5 of best stays.
This is a jewel and wish could go back tomorrow. Everyone at The Dolphin Hotel should be very proud of the service they offer .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siskinmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Dolphin hotel for a girls birthday weekend away The location is just perfect, a couple of mins walk to the beach and the town centre with plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from.
We arrived to a very helpful receptionist who managed to arrange parking, show us to our rooms and she even helped with all our bags which was great after traveling .
The rooms were bright and modern and very clean with plenty of room for our group to relax and enjoy our weekend away.
Couldn't fault the huge choice at breakfast as a few of us are fussy eaters, so that was a nice surprise
We all really enjoyed our stay as it was a welcoming place to stay and have already booked another girls trip for the summer, when the sun is shining hopefully !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at The Dolphin and found it to be great on every level. Staff were friendly and professional, breakfast was great and the room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. Also, only a very short walk to the beach! Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have just spent three nights at this great little hotel in Exmouth, Devon. The room was modern, exceptionally clean and well appointed as was the en-suite. Most importantly, I found the staff very friendly and willing to make my stay all the better and the breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel for a long time.

Most importantly too was the location...I walked down to the sea front in less than 5 minutes and then on to Exmouth in even less. Exmouth, perhaps not the most exciting place but easy to find good places to eat and plenty of bars.

Overall a huge and very pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeCort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnate, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in January. The room and the bed looked alright. The second night I had suspicions that my mattress had been changed because I could feel all the springs moving under my back as a collapsed mattress would do.

The bathroom mirror light was not working, no towel rail or anywhere else to hang a towel, the shower had hardly any pressure, one morning it even took 3 to 4 minutes for any water to come out at all - maybe due to many people having a shower at the same time? The shower area was so small you couldn't move without the plastic curtain sticking to your body. I thought the condition was due to me bargaining the price down for my stay but this should not be an excuses for such a condition.

After my complaint the mattress was changed, the light bulb replaced although though still nowhere to hang my towel. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

I've been in the hotel trade for many years and in different countries, my stay at the Dolphin Hotel was a very disappointing experience. The next time I come to Exmouth I will certainly avoid the Dolphin. I only paid £160 for the 6 nights but it wasn't even worth that much.

It's my opinion that whenever a guest arrives at any hotel the room should be checked before-hand so that the customer doesn't have to complain.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ernesto_Vignoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

On arrival I was made to feel extremely welcome, room was lovely big and quite (I had booked a singel room and was upgraded FOC to a large double) it was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was lovely and hot. The management and receptionist went out of thier way to ensure I enjoyed my stay, they even lent me a phone charger when i realized I had forgot to bring mine, Breakfast was made using fresh tasty ingredients and the dining room was lovely and clean, there is a very nice bar and lounge area with WIFI access and my T mobile dongle and 02 blackberry internet services worked fine in my room. The location is geat, only a couple of mins walk to the beach and shops.
The price I paid represented great value and i have paid double the price for a lot worse.

Overall, great stay and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: I was in room 27, top floor, lovely and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Property: The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing