We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't come much better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't come much better than this”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night on 22 July 2013. Big mistake. Should have stayed a lot longer.
Lovely, welcoming people, lovely clean, smart and pristine house with the added
benefit of parking at the rear. When, not if, we return to Exmouth we will certainly
stay at The Swallows again. Very convenient for the beach and the town itself.
10 out of 10 and well deserved.

Room Tip: Can only say that room 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Like a previous review we stayed at the Swallows after having attended a funeral. Long trip so decided to make a weekend of it. The Swallows is a very comfortable guest house located just far enough from town to ensure a good quiet nights sleep. Great breakfast all freshly cooked to order. No hesitation in recommending 100%

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at The Swallows for two nights. Sadly it was because we were attending a funeral. This is an extremely welcoming guest house. Pleasant room, albeit it would have been on the small side for a longer stay. Excellent breakfast - scrambled eggs cooked properly not in a microwave - and high quality bacon and sausages. Landlady could not have been more helpful lending us umbrellas and not phased that we returned about 11am to change for the ceremony after a walk along the sea front. Plenty of restaurants nearby for an evening meal. Secure parking which is a bonus in Exmouth. We recommended The Swallows to Exmouth residents as a pleasant place for their friends to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked the Swallows for a 3 day quick break. It was exactly what you'd expect from a well run guest house. Nice and pretty room. Lovely breakfast. Lovely lady in charge. Really helpful and fun and friendly. 3 minutes walk to the beach. Finally if you want a great nights sleep and a stroll into town or to the beach you will not find a better place. Really good value.

Room Tip: Get a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night in April as a stopover on the way to Cornwall for boot camp- in preparation for 3 days of punishing exercises I filled up on a fantastic breakfast in the morning!
My single room was small (as warned) but it was clean, cosy and had everything I needed. The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. The biscuits with the tea and coffee tray were very good quality (always a priority for me!). As another (very unfair) review states, the bathroom is on another floor, but come on, it's hardly miles away- and at least it is your own and not a shared one. It was clean and had a good shower.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, I would recommend The Swallows to anyone. Location is also great- a short walk to the beach and not too far back from town. There is parking in a little lane down the side of the building, which is very convenient. All in all, I would say this is a very good quality B&B in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had one night at The Swallows after attending a wedding at the nearby Royal Beacon hotel. As the wedding was at 1pm we asked if we could arrive a little early to drop off our belongings and change, they very kindly made sure our room was ready and even complimented us on our transformation from travellers into wedding guests! The rooms are looking a little "tired" but our room was clean and comfortable, perfect after a long but happy day! Well located for the beaches and town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briz norton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

On arrivel the host was warm welcoming the room for a single was clean and so was the off sweet bathroom i injoyed my stay here . breakfast was fantastic i was mad to feel welcome verry verry good i would sat agian that you swallow .

ps had good nite sleep brill

Room Tip: for a sing room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Property: The Swallows Guest House
Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing