We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, comfortable Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #3 of 18 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Well run, comfortable Guesthouse”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Exmouth.
This place is homely, clean and comfortable with caring and friendly staff.
It's also close to the seafront and to the centre/restaurants. We would highly recommend a relatively new place -The Chronicle in Chapel Hill for skilfully balanced, well prepared locally sourced food.
If/when we return to Exmouth, we will be more than happy to return to The Swallows.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Beautiful Edwardian house with stunning spring garden - lovingly looked after by owner.

The rooms were homely. Not uber-fashionable, but certainly very clean and comfortable. Location ideal for those wanting to explore the Jurassic Coast - very close to sea-front and plenty of places locally to eat.

Breakfast was served in the breakfast room which has great views out to the beautiful garden. Cooked breakfast was great with all the usual offerings of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc.

Check out was good and the owner was very patient with me even when I had a complete mind-blank, trying to remember my pin number!

My only one, tiny little niggle would be that the tea on the hospitality tray wasn't very tasty at all so worth taking a couple of your own.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for New Years Eve and the long weekend and from the moment we arrived to the time we left the service was second to none and exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, tidy and the bed was firm and comfy, wasn't expecting it to be changed and made for us each day and the bathroom cleaned. Breakfast was top notch, as much as you could eat and the owner is a very lovely kind man who will go out of his way to make you feel welcome. My partner and I can recommend this as one of the best B&B's and one to use if you need a comfy friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody-som
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

we stayed at the swallows in october for a long weekend the room was excelent the best we have stayed in the food was good and very hot we would recomend this gem to anyone Dave and Pat west yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmulvey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed for two nights. Not having travelled with a car, we were pleased that the Swallows was within a short walk from the train station and the bus stop for connections for the X53 bus to visit other areas of the coast was a short 2 minute walk away. It is situated close to the coast, less than 5 minutes walk, and a good base from which to explore the beautiful red cliffs and see Sandy Bay, Orcombe Point and the Geoneedle. The owner Filippo was very nice and on the day we arrived he even rang with an offer to pick us up from the train station. Any emails we sent before we arrived were promptly answered. We also received booking documents and some useful information in the post two days after we had booked. The food was good and there was always a variety available - juice, yoghurts, various cereals, full breakfast - in a beautiful dining room. I would summarise our stay in the Swallows as follows: You could tell that every effort had been made to ensure that we had a good stay. The rooms were nice and every day we had sachets of coffee and tea available, as well as bottled water (a nice touch, thank you Filippo). The other guests that I spoke to were equally unanimous in their praise and every day at breakfast there was such a nice atmosphere emanating from the Swallows being a nice guest house as well as the care of the owner. After I chanced upon the one of the reviews above ('Disappointing') I thought "I bet that has been written by a rival guest house or something like that". Don't believe that review - it does not paint an accurate picture of the place or owner. There was also a variety of leaflets made available and as such we were never stuck for things to do. We didn't use the WIFI but it was available. All in all the Swallows was very good and we would stay there if we are ever in Exmouth again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Swallows for two nights while visiting friends in Exmouth on our way to Cornwall. It is situated in a quiet part of town, 10 minutes walk from both the sea front and the town centre. Off road car parking is available. The public areas were clean and well-maintained as was our bedroom which although quite small was big enough for two nights and had a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The room had an en-suite shower and toilet. The breakfast, cooked to order by the friendly proprietor, was very good indeed as was the service by the young waitress. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemenceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed at the Swallows for just the one night. Had three rooms for our party. Our host was immediately very attentive with help for the luggage and parking the car. Excellent rooms with the little touches that make the difference,like the fresh flowers. Very clean throughout, help with finding a local eating place,and a superb personally served breakfast the next morning.Very impressed for a one night stay,and at a very reasonable price. Would certainly reccommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Property: The Swallows Guest House
Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing