We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and over-rated.”
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The furnishings of the room were attractive and the bathroom was a good size. The outlook terrific as the hotel is in a beautiful setting. However, for such a highly rated hotel, we have to say that the room was small and tired. There was mould in the shower cubicle and the bathrrom fan didn't work. The paintwork on the outside of a very picturesque building was flaking and uncared for.
The most disappointing thing was that the food in the Oak Restaurant was not good value. It was very ordinary and over-priced, although the wine list was first class.
It is over-rated.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Failentra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in February to celebrate a special birthday and to just unwind, and Tarr Farm proved to be the perfect location for us. An extremely warm and welcoming atmosphere - almost as if we were family rather than guests - and a very easy-going approach made our stay exactly what we were hoping for. The food was first-class in every respect from the 'smart' dinners, through the straightforward lunches to the very hearty breakfasts. When it looked like were would be snowed in for an extra day or two Judy did not bat an eyelid, but took everything in her stride. Yes, it is a little expensive and perhaps not for an everyday trip, but you get your money's worth and it made a special occasion perfect for us. My advice? If you are thinking of going, do!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the very welcoming proprietors, Judy & Richard and all the staff. The rooms were lovely and all en-suite with all the usual facilities, TV, fridge and tea making facilities, a nice touch was the fresh milk and home-made cookies. We stayed on valentine weekend and they had left a card and chocolates in our rooms for the occasion which was lovely. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was lovely and warm at all times of the day with lovely lavender Avalon organic toiletries. The restaurant and pub were fantastic with an exceptional menu of locally sourced food, including such delights as beef carpaccio, scallops, saddle of lamb and fillet of beef. You will be tempted by their desserts including banana & toffee souffle, Trio of rhubarb and chocolate mouse. For the weekend they had a special 3 course Valentine menu at £25 which was great value and included some of the dishes on their main menu. The wine list of laid out extremely well so it was easy to judge the type of wine, great if you not a wine buff like us and need some help to find a wine you like.

All throughout stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They allow dogs in the rooms and cater for shooting parties in the season as all the rooms has gun cabinets. Breakfast was also very good with of course the 'full english', smoked salmon & scrambled egg, kippers, porridge and greek yoghurt & compote to name just a few. The location is stunning with the magnificent Tarr steps on your doorstep. It's an amazing place and would make a good base for walking & cycling as you are in the heart of Exmoor. We loved are stay and think is was worth every penny. We are already planning our next trip back with the dog.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pea-Worzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at Tarr fram as part of a shooting party. An excellent time was had by all. The best things about Tarr Farm are:

1) Location - truely beautiful
2) Food - delicious
3) 'Little extras' people have referred to, Including a gun safe in each room, this is big time shooting country!
4) Cosy atmoshere

Bedrooms were OK, ours was a little small and decor with a dressing table slightly dated as was the bathroom, I probably wouldn't mention this but I though it was rather expensive (dinner, b&b for each couple was 235).

I guess its supply and demand and this place does style itself as a 'shooting lodge'. I'd think of it more as an excellent country restaurant in a glorious setting with rooms.

Dinner was good though!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We held our wedding reception here and it was absolutely perfect. I am not sure that I can put into words how we feel about our day here.
From the word go, the staff at Tarr Farm Inn made us feel very special and they were very organised.
The location is idyllic. Every time I stepped out of the Inn, I was hit by the beauty of the surroundings. Inside, the Inn is extremely quaint, but tastefully decorated.
The food at the reception was amazing. I can not believe how big the portions were and it was good food. The fact that they managed to cook for fifty people and the food was so scrummy speaks volumes.
We stayed over night at the Inn and the rooms were lovely. I especially recommend the homemade biscuits and the real milk in the fridge!
So I can not wait till our next visit there! I totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night and loved the long picturesque drive down to Tarr Steps. Tarr Farm is a real country retreat an emersion into country life - a hunting shooting and fishing sort of place, and an excellent venue to relax and unwind. The room was lovely, clean and had super views, was well equipped with wifi in the room. The bathroom had lovely toiletries and had a handy basket of "things we might have forgotten to bring". The staff and owner were very friendly and we felt very relaxed and at home. In the evening we ate at the Inn - the food was superb, with a good choice on the wine list, as was the breakfast the next morning. The smoked haddock and poached eggs were spot on! The next day we did the walk through the woods from Tarr Steps. The Inn does lunches and cream teas and my only regret is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkMandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Tarr Farm for a birthday celebration and from the moment we drove through the river (only in a jeep) to the moment we left we had the most wonderful time.

The staff were so friendly and made us feel like it was our own home. This hotel is a gem in the middle of the moors, and hopefully wont be spoilt.

With only 9 superb rooms you really can get away from it all and enjoy.... in piece and quiet with the sounds of the birds and the river in the back ground. The bed was out of this world cumffy.

Ouu room was beautiful with everything in it that you could possibly ever need! views over the fields, sheep just out side the window, lush toiletries...... it really is a home from home with a bit of shique thrown in for good measure.

The food was wonderful, have the stake it was like velvet, the breakfast was amazing too and all locally sourced produce to boot.

A must would be to take the walks, just follow the paths you wont get lost on any of them the views are out of this world, even to watch the bad weather roll in. Look forward to the tea, sconnes & clotted cream.

You will have a great time.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrsOconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
10.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
742 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
626 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
148 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range: $189 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing