We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They think of everything”
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a couple of nights on Exmoor and this is a great spot away from it all - the same could be said of Exmoor come to think of it!
Yes the furniture and decor is a tad dated but the room was perfect for our needs - and probably everyone else's too as they think of everything with pain relief and condoms stashed away in bathroom cupboards!
The bar and restaurant etc. are very good and the cooked breakfast seriously good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inmyview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 328 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband, our 7yr old son and I booked a table for lunch before enjoying Tarr Steps. The inn is situated right next to Tarr Steps which is great. My husband ordered the battered fish and chips, I ordered the burger and chips and our son had beans, sausage and chips. The food wasn't over priced. I paid about £35 for our meal and drink each. The burger was lovely and the meals were nicely presented. The staff were very friendly and accommodated us well. Our son's meal came out quickly as priority which is what we asked for. We couldn't fault our experience and will definitely be returning one evening just the two of us for an evening meal. We also saw an amazing cream tea being served so that will be tried soon. It looked fab!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank suziewoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Having been here various times in the past just to see the Tarr Steps and have a bit or drink it was time to stay overnight now.
We had the room with the Gothic style bed and it's a nice room, good bed, good bathroom, all with plenty space. The only little minus point is the noise level, you hear your neighbours and such unfortunately. Lovely with the window open to hear the river though.
Restaurant, the food was good and of a high standard, not cheap but worth the money I think.
Go for a walk in the area, there are several following the river and such. Enjoy the Tarr Steps, it's a great monument shrouded in mystery.

Room Tip: Gothic bed room, lovely bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was visiting from Australia to see the Tarr Steps. The Tarr Farm Inn is nestled in the hills right next to the Steps. The location is idyllic, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Tarr Farm Inn to anyone seeking a genuine country experience, far from the hustle and bustle of the city. I cannot recommend it highly enough..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynT988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Having visited this Inn on Sunday with friends & family , we had a nice meal.But the whole experience was spoiled when we were told we were too late for sweets. My young daughter was very upset. She only wanted ice cream but was told the chef had gone home.This is very bad practice & I suggest in future you make the party aware of this. Surely any member of staff could have scooped an ice cream !!! If you take an order for a meal please have the decency to allow us to finish it.!!! shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank carolineselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Absolutely GORGEOUS food and a really lovely relaxing vibe! A new favourite :) The rooms are really comfortable to stay in plus the pub is dog friendly, with scenic surroundings for walking :) On top of all that, the staff are great fun and very welcoming hosts. Can't wait to go back soon!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked Tarr Farm Inn on a whim as we wanted to visit Exmoor. Wow, we got lucky with this find and we will be back.

The moment we arrived we knew we had picked a great place, the staff were very friendly and showed us to our rooms in a separate block. The rooms were lovely with homemade cookies, local spring water, fresh milk as well as tea and coffee. The bathroom had local organic products in it and the duel aspect windows gave great views.

We had a drink at the bar and enjoyed great wine from the extensive wine list and then ate an amazing meal in the next room next to an open fire. The presentation and quality of the food was first class. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous as well with a wide selection.

The hotel is right on the doorstep of Tarr Steps and some circular walks, the views from the beer garden are lovely as well.

Overall a fabulous place to stay and worthy of 5*s. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which offered great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pl99ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
10.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
3.9 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range: $176 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing