We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in an Idyllic setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem in an Idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The perfect place to stay for a romantic weekend away! Particularly good if you like scenic country walks and don't mind the lack of a phone signal! The accommodation was fabulous and well deserving of its 5* rating. We found the staff to be incredibly welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and I can't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JayAyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    60
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
147
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Inn is set in the most wonderful countryside, and well worth a visit after a lovely walk around the Tarr Steps area. The service was good and he food delicious. There were plenty of tables outside as it was a sunny day, and very pleasant watching the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our second visit to Tarr Farm. We adore the tranquility and isolation of this stunning place which is a welcome break from our busy and hectic lives. The quality of the food is excellent and the Valentine's sharing menu went down a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel-Willetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a treat! I never realised Beef Gruyere Ciabatta Roll accompanied by the chips could taste so good. It was just about the most delicious lunch I've eaten washed down by a pint of local ale. Previously I've only ever stopped for a pint in the garden. This is a delight too as even your less common birds hop to the tables to be treated (but don't bother you if you don't). I just wish I'd eaten here before.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a gem ,we called at Tarr Farm for lunch on 10th Jan .The lady on duty at bar
was very hospitable We were very surprised by the road sign telling you not to go past CAR PARK on way down . You can go down ,there is a car park.We will be back to have moor of
the wonderfull food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Have returned from a visit to Tar Steps. A beautiful tourist attraction on Exmoor in Devon..while there we stopped at the Tarr farm inn...lovely cosy cottage type of inn ..with an open fire..friendly service and a lovely lunch..would love to return..bit of a walk from the car park tho. .if you are unsteady on your feet on a bit older..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hellrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This pub and hotel is in a fabulous location right next to the Tarr Steps however I feel that it takes advantage of that fact by feeling that the staff do not have to be as hospitable as you might expect.

We arrived at 11.00 am on a cold but sunny day and thought we'd grab some breakfast. We were soon advised that they didn't do breakfast and then given the lunch menu to look at. My friends didn't fancy lunch that early but I was starving so I asked for the winterberry crumble and custard. I was then told that this was on the lunch menu and they weren't serving lunch yet!

Surprised I pointed out that the sign outside said lunches served from 11.00 am but the manageress (I assume) said they didn't and I could have a tea cake I I wanted. I didn't really want to pay £2.50 for a tea cake but did so anyway but I really can't see why a BT of microwaved crumble would have been a problem.

My friend then also had a weird run in with ease same lady when asking for the wi-fi code, first it was apparently not working, then we were given the code and t did work.
Went for walk came back and had very average lunch, pannini's etc (tiny). Actually whilst I am writing this I think it deserves a less than average score overall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Property: Tarr Farm Inn
Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing